We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lyall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #88 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic boutique hotel”
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Having friends and family in Melbourne I've rarely had the need to stay in hotel accommodation, however my husband and I recently married in Melbourne and spent our wedding night and the following night at the Lyall Hotel. It was just great, so conveniently located and we had a lovely suite which was spacious and comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel to visitors to Melbourne for its fantastic and quiet location, its personal atmosphere and great service. The breakfasts were fantastic and we hope to celebrate an anniversary there again soon.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    77
    25
    11
    6
See reviews for
46
154
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

I agree with other reviews that the TVs in this hotel are not up to a 5 star standard. I could not adjust our picture to avoid cutting off the sides, even using each of the aspect ratio options. I don't think they were plasma. And the tv in the lounge room was simply too big. It is a very small lounge room, so the small couch is only 1.5m away from the tv, and the large screen is on top of you.

Another disappointing aspect was the fact that, although the staff kindly offered to park our car, there was no word that we would be hit with a $15 charge for the privilege! When my wife complained when paying that we did not know about that cost, there was no offer to remove the charge.

Those two complaints aside, we liked our stay. It is a very stylish hotel. Just a tiny bit dated, but the rooms are still very nice and very well equipped, and there is a definite feel that you are staying in a special, boutique place.

I think the location is great. Always something happening nearby, even on Sundays when other parts of Melbourne are dead. Some great cafes nearby.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpmoore100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Recently, my Mother and I had occasion to stay at The Lyall for three weeks.
The understated elegance of The Lyall with it's fabulous staff combined to make our stay a most enjoyable experience. We've stayed at many fine establishments around the world, and The Lyall compares with the best of them.
Each of our rooms were spacious and well equipped, and I slept like a baby every night!!
Tucked away throughout this boutique hotel there are lounge areas with fireplaces, where one can relax with a book, a drink, or a friend, in a cozy atmosphere.
The staff are very caring and attentive without ever being intrusive.
All in all, five stars from us.
We will be back.
N&N

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatoyaJDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Aust
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

The Lyall has been our home away from home for some years now. We're probably there 8-10 times a year, so we know it well. So what has it got? Well probably the best staff anywhere. Helpful, friendly, courteous and yet with a light touch. Nothing is ever too much trouble. Location? Hey, it's South Yarra. Nuff said!

Is there anything wrong with it? Well yes. Some of the plumbing needs sorting occasionally but it is sorted as soon as we mention it. But here's the odd one. The main TVs (there are of course 3 in each suite - 4 if it's a 2 bedroom) are way too big. They dominate the rooms and the picture quality is poor. Only SD which isn't good enough these days. The Lyall needs to look at this. And the coffee is a bit ordinary and Melbourne is not a place to go sub-standard on coffee. But the little bloke across the road makes superb coffee. Hire him!

We sometimes think of trying other hotels in Melbourne but why would we? We'd just be disappointed.

NLBatEBR

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NLBatEBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I was a guest at the Lyall Hotel for three months, May-July, in 2010, while working on a corporate assignment. The hotel is lovely and quaint, yet very efficient. The staff goes out of its way to provide excellent service that exceeds all expectations.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessehermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2010

This hotel is amazing.

From the moment you walk in you are greeted by staff who really enjoy working there! Service for me is the make or break, yes the hotel is aesthetically amazing, plush and very well presented but it is the staff that made our stay.

Its the little things, smiles, acknowledgement, thought fullness of the staff - far superior than other hotels where as a guest you can feel like your putting the staff out by asking questions or even by being at reception.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zactraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, NSW
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

My husband went for business and my son (6) and I tagged along. We have generally stayed in the heart of Melbourne in 5 Star rated hotels but this time decided to stay at the Lyall. It was lovely, great location, close to shops and restaurants. We had drinks at the Lyall and then went to a local italian restaurant recommended by the hotel which was excellent. The hotel is currently replacing carpet but if you would like an excellent, quite boutique hotel then the Lyall is the one.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttmj1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#26 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Royce Hotel
#33 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,338 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyall Hotel and Spa

Property: Lyall Hotel and Spa
Address: 16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#81 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyall Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us pamper you. A true 5 Star service Boutique Hotel centrally located close to Toorak Road / Chapel Street shops and restaurants. Melbourne's only privately owned/operated luxury hotel with 40 one and two bedroom suites of contemporary oriental design. The Lyall Hotel and Spa's welcoming ambience attracts a discerning international clientele seeking genuine and professional service whether travelling for business or leisure. All suites have full length windows that open for fresh air and a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lyall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Lyall Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing