We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - staff were extremely helpful, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lyall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #91 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, NSW
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent - staff were extremely helpful, great location”
Reviewed April 16, 2010

My husband went for business and my son (6) and I tagged along. We have generally stayed in the heart of Melbourne in 5 Star rated hotels but this time decided to stay at the Lyall. It was lovely, great location, close to shops and restaurants. We had drinks at the Lyall and then went to a local italian restaurant recommended by the hotel which was excellent. The hotel is currently replacing carpet but if you would like an excellent, quite boutique hotel then the Lyall is the one.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttmj1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    84
    27
    12
    7
See reviews for
50
163
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

We were scheduled to stay 3 or 4 nights at this property but checked out & moved to the Park Hyatt after 1 night.

It's location in a residential area prohibits you from having any view whatsoever. Although we could have lived w the living area in our 1 bedroom suite, the most important areas: bedroom & bathroom, were unacceptable for 2 fully grown adults. The shower was so small, I caution any woman from refraining to attempt shaving her legs in it.

The only positives of this property were its fantastic bellman & front desk staff. These gentlemen were so warm & wonderful, I was actually sad when we told them we'd be leaving the next morning. After our smart move & subsequent great stay at the Park Hyatt, I was tempted to go back to the great guys at the Lyall & tell them that they should all do themselves a favor & go apply for a job at the Park Hyatt! I fought hard to convince my boyfriend on The Lyall & it was a true disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AirMilesLuvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon and the staff simply could not do enough for us - particularly Lee the concierge whose attention to detail was exemplary. Our room (a suite) was brilliantly furnished with full cooking facilities (not that we did any cooking) and extremely comfortable. Ten minutes in a cab to St Kilda, 20 minutes on a tram to the city and a really nice stroll away from the boutique shops and restaurants of South Yarra. Probably one of (if the not the) best boutique hotel we have stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy_Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

We were welcomed by the check in staff and also by the owner on arrival. Our suite was just perfect with every small detail we could have needed during our stay. Even the car was collected from the public carpark for us and parked for us by them. The shower was fabulous after a very hot day! The location was within walking distance of the park which had designated path for a morning walk or jog. It was close to shopping & retaurants. Internet access was available in room and also in a business suite with a printer. All staff were friendly & efficient. It was a wonderful place to stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

My Daughter and I stayed at the Lyall for a couple of nights at the end of a family holiday. The Lyall proved perfect for our needs, spotlessly clean, extremely comfortable and close to some fantastic shopping.

The staff were friendly and helpful, actually that is probably an understatement, the staff made this hotel. The valet parking was fast and efficient absolutely no waiting. We had the breakfast package and the quality was fantastic, the fruit was fresh and eggs as ordered, a little on the slow side coming but on holidays not a problem.

Nothing tired about this Hotel, the beds were extremely comfortable, the shower bath not a favourite of mine and definitely a little narrow, but ok. The room was sized well and the little balcony a nice touch.

All in all the perfect stay. I can't imagine wanting to stay anywhere else and probably won’t.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

By Diana & Rex from Rotorua, New Zealand.

We recently had the pleasure of spending five nights (9/14 Feb) at The Lyall Hotel & Spa, while we were mixing business with leisure in Melbourne.
The Lyall is a very well run hotel and we were very impressed with the property, the services and amenities provided and the service from staff. The location suited us very well - a quiet safe street just a little way out from the bustle of the CBD, with a good selection of restaurants nearby, and a very convenient train and tram network just around ther corner.
The rooms are very well appointed - spacious, comfortable and well serviced.
And we loved the artworks in many of the public spaces.
We particularly enjoyed the breakfast selection and would rate it up amongst the best we have experienced.
The quality of service from the hotel team was, without exception, simply superb. On all occasions we found hotel personnel to be welcoming, helpful, knowledgeable, courteous and unfazed by any request.
We will return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rex30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

I stayed for several months at this hotel in 2006 and have recently returned for a shorrter stay of one month.Unfortunately the formerly comfortable and well appointed hotel now has deterioated, the carpets are worn , the appliances don't all work (dishwasher & washing macjine/dryer in particular).. The staff in general are less attentive. It is a shame asit is well located and whilst the rooms are small it was comfortable,

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TonWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#24 of 160 in Melbourne
1,703 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,683 reviews
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#3 of 160 in Melbourne
515 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#34 of 160 in Melbourne
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyall Hotel and Spa

Property: Lyall Hotel and Spa
Address: 16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#83 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyall Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us pamper you. A true 5 Star service Boutique Hotel centrally located close to Toorak Road / Chapel Street shops and restaurants. Melbourne's only privately owned/operated luxury hotel with 40 one and two bedroom suites of contemporary oriental design. The Lyall Hotel and Spa's welcoming ambience attracts a discerning international clientele seeking genuine and professional service whether travelling for business or leisure. All suites have full length windows that open for fresh air and a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lyall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Lyall Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing