We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Superb boutique hotel for business or leisure - top service, location, rooms.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyall Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lyall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #67 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb boutique hotel for business or leisure - top service, location, rooms.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

By Diana & Rex from Rotorua, New Zealand.

We recently had the pleasure of spending five nights (9/14 Feb) at The Lyall Hotel & Spa, while we were mixing business with leisure in Melbourne.
The Lyall is a very well run hotel and we were very impressed with the property, the services and amenities provided and the service from staff. The location suited us very well - a quiet safe street just a little way out from the bustle of the CBD, with a good selection of restaurants nearby, and a very convenient train and tram network just around ther corner.
The rooms are very well appointed - spacious, comfortable and well serviced.
And we loved the artworks in many of the public spaces.
We particularly enjoyed the breakfast selection and would rate it up amongst the best we have experienced.
The quality of service from the hotel team was, without exception, simply superb. On all occasions we found hotel personnel to be welcoming, helpful, knowledgeable, courteous and unfazed by any request.
We will return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rex30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    68
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
45
138
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

I stayed for several months at this hotel in 2006 and have recently returned for a shorrter stay of one month.Unfortunately the formerly comfortable and well appointed hotel now has deterioated, the carpets are worn , the appliances don't all work (dishwasher & washing macjine/dryer in particular).. The staff in general are less attentive. It is a shame asit is well located and whilst the rooms are small it was comfortable,

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TonWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

The Lyall is a very well designed hotel modern but very stylish and extremely friendly, the reception/bar/waiting/portering staff - they do everything are absolutely brilliant,they check you in make your breakfast or your martini, park your car nothing is too much trouble. The owner is much in evience and is also very friendly and helpful. Apartments are well designed although in some areas ready for a makeover, carpets in some places need replacing. Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2009

we had a 2 roomed suite, with both bedrooms being a good size. The main bedroom had an en-suite and the 2nd bedroom had it's own bathroom, which was excellent for a group of friends. The rest of the room facilities were excellent quality. The information provided in the room regarding nearby restaurants and shopping was extremely helpful, and the concierge was excellent.
The champagne bar was a nice place for pre or post dinner drinks but not so relaxing when it came to eating breakfast.
The hotel itself is very well placed for local shopping and restaurants, and within easy walking distance of the botanical gardens. The centre of Melbourne is just a tram ride away so also easy to get to.
The only down point of the hotel is the amount of traffic noise at night - double glazing would help.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kp-kfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

This is indeed one of the best small luxury hotels of the world. Yes the rooms are well appointed, modern and yes its a great location close to great restaurants, shops, the river and botanical gardens for walks. But it's the staff that makes this place one of the best. Sure they recommend restaurants but they also do everything from make tasty breakfasts to help you pick one of their free DVDs to getting one of the hotel bikes to borrow to ride along the river to valet parking our car every time we used it. My luggage was damaged by the airline and Lee found a place down the street to fix it AND took it there for an estimate. We stayed a week but everyone knew our names within a day. The weather was dreadful the entire week but we barely noticed because this crew was so fantastic. Internet and business computer and printer included.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

We recently returned from Melbourne Australia and our stay at the Lyall Hotel. It was the most pleasant experience from start to finish. The rooms were spacious, bright and exceptionally clean. The hotel staff and management were the nicest that we have ever experienced.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yoina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conakry, Guinea
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

We enjoyed a 3 night stay in this wonderful little boutique "home away from home". This property is stylish,comfortable and welcoming. My husband went to business meetings each day , i felt comfortable to shop and explore fabulous Melbourne in the mornings ....my afternoons were spent in the hotels library. The only problem i found the Hotel is with out a pool. The dining options near by are plenty , all in walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1307boss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#21 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Art Series - The Blackman
#17 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royce Hotel
#30 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#16 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyall Hotel and Spa

Property: Lyall Hotel and Spa
Address: 16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyall Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us pamper you. A true 5 Star service Boutique Hotel centrally located close to Toorak Road / Chapel Street shops and restaurants. Melbourne's only privately owned/operated luxury hotel with 40 one and two bedroom suites of contemporary oriental design. The Lyall Hotel and Spa's welcoming ambience attracts a discerning international clientele seeking genuine and professional service whether travelling for business or leisure. All suites have full length windows that open for fresh air and a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Lyall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Lyall Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing