We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyall Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lyall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #83 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2008

Really nice hotel in great neighbourhood. As it is an all suite hotel you feel like having your own place in Melbourne. The staff is nice too - great breakfast for my taste.
The only slight let down was the housekeeping, but I would definetly return.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — cannot say
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank melachocolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    74
    25
    11
    4
See reviews for
45
148
16
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

I bought our 4-night stay at this hotel from a US charity auction website, knowing very little about it, but being impressed by the property's website.

While compact, the room (1br suite) was really lovely. I fell instantly in love with the heated bathroom floor and its 'night light' for those of us who make trips there in the dark.

Lots of nooks and hidden cupboards, modestly equipped kitchen, but super-comfy kind size bed, a reasonable pillow menu and two huge plasma TVs, one in the lounge area and one in the bedroom, and a DVD/VCR combo in the lounge area. I believe there are also free DVDs to borrow from the front desk.

There was a small dishwasher, a microwave, nice size fridge and freezer (stocked with ice cream!), a pull-out ironing board, and even a washing machine/dryer combo with enough powder provided for two loads.

Also very nice was the free broadband provided throughout the hotel and, if you didn't bring your own laptop, they were happy to lend you one.

The parking has to be the cheapest we've ever encountered at a hotel, anywhere in Australia - only $10 a night! If you don't have a car, or can't be bothered trying to park in Melbourne CBD, the #8 tram stops just down the road, and goes straight into the centre of town.

There was no view to speak of, as our room faced a property next door but that is pretty much the only qualm about the hotel itself.

HOWEVER, be aware that it is an older construction and has timber/wooden floors, carpeted. What this meant is that the small hyperactive child who spent two nights running back and forth in the room above ours drove us bananas (especially when it all started again early the next morning). We rang the front desk to ask for assistance, and there was eventual quiet, but this is really not the sort of property in which you'd expect an out-of-control toddler to be keeping you awake! (Best Western, yes ... Lyall, no!)

To finish, though, we had several hours to while away before it was time to head for the airport, and the hotel was happy to let us have a later checkout (noon), as well as then a few hours happily ensconsed in their library with its gas fireplace until it was time to go.

I hope definitely to be back soon.

  • Liked — Very classy, olde-worldly yet modern
  • Disliked — Small children should be banned
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank maruschka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2008

Great quiet location. Small boutique hotel. We were luckily upgraded to a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom room. It had a kitchenette and a washing machine , ironing board , 3 televisions. It is just lacking a pool and it can get very hot in Melbourne. The staff were friendly and knowledgable. The only thing we did not like was there is no breakfast buffet and the restaurant next door has much better breakfast.It is easy to get everywhere and if you like small boutique hotels you should try it. We only stay in 4 or 5 star hotels all over the world so we thought we try a small one instead of all the big names in the city centre.
It is one of the few hotels i have been to that does not have a guest questionnaire form to complete after your stay. How can they improve on peoples comments.

  • Liked — our room we were upgraded
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moomoo0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2008

We spent threee nights at the Lyall for our anniversary and found it a very relaxed and charming hotel. The suites were clean with modern decor and plenty of space, although there were a few minor issues with the airconditioning and TV remote controls not functioning properly, and wardrobe space was at a bit of a premium for anyone on an extended break.

The staff were friendly and attentive, and any room service requests were adressed promptly. Breakfast was the only meal we ate in the hotel and their menu offered a nice variety from standard hotel fare.

The complimentary umbrellas at the front door were certainly a bonus in the fickle spring weather

The location at South Yarra is excellent with plenty of dining options available within easy walking distance. We would certainly recommend France-Soir in Toorak Road for its contemporary French food and extensive wine menu, and for the Asian food fans a trip to Victoria Road at North Richmond is a must.

For those who love to shop Toorak Road and Chapel Street are right there and with the trams and trains only a couple of hundred metres from the door you can be at Bridge Road Richmond or the middle of the city within 10-15 minutes.

All in all a nice spot to stay and relax, and hopefully we will be back there before too long to do it all again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — a little expensive
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinAJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2007

As a single woman travelling to Melbourne, I found the Lyall Hotel an outstanding place to stay. Not only is the location perfect - steps from one of the best shopping and dining areas in the city - but I immediately felt at home and warmly welcomed as soon as I arrived. The suites are spacious with an incredible attention to detail. This is a well run hotel. The spa service I received was one of the best I have ever had, the dining is great and so is the wine list. I was well looked after the moment I stepped through the front doors and highly recommend this hotel whether you are travelling alone or with someone special.

  • Liked — Service and attention to detail
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank YCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2007

After reading many reviews and looking at the awards the Lyall had received a couple of years ago I had high expectations for this hotel. It is a nice hotel but regrettably didn’t meet my expectations or offer value for money. I’ve stayed in many 5* and boutique hotels and I wouldn’t class this as a 5* or very boutique. The studio apartment appealed to me but it was no different to a hotel room (apart from the fridge). No pay for view movies (which I would expect for a 5*), the remote control was held together with sellotape and the room was a little tatty in places.

On the plus side - the staff were very helpful, I had a spa treatment which was amazing, breakfasts were very good and South Yarra/Chapel Street is very cosmopolitan so lots of shops and restaurants nearby. The hotel is located in a residential area so if you want to be in the city then don’t stay at The Lyall. I would go back to the hotel, but would probably prefer to try something else next time around. For the price you pay, the Lyall should be better.

  • Liked — had a nice personal feel
  • Disliked — wasn't 5* standard
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank blondie099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the world
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2007

We recently stayed at the Lyall for a quick mini break in Melbourne. It's perfect for that - great location, and easygoing friendly athmosphere. The staff in particular were great. The only time I felt uncomfortable was when the owner of the establishment reprimanded a staff member loudly and condecendingly in front of us because said staff member forgot the little mini ice buckets that go with our champane picolos. I do understand that standarts must be upheld even though the picolos are far too small to get warm before they are drunk. The reprimand just did not have to happen in front of the guest. The staff were great - and extremely helpful.
We stayed in a 2 Bedroom apartment - which was a bit small for four people, but we were not really planning to spend any time in the room - so it was fine.

A great stay - we will be back for more mini breaks.

  • Liked — friendly staff and location
  • Disliked — cold bathroom floor
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travellot_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Series - The Blackman
#15 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Royce Hotel
#33 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyall Hotel and Spa

Property: Lyall Hotel and Spa
Address: 16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#75 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyall Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us pamper you. A true 5 Star service Boutique Hotel centrally located close to Toorak Road / Chapel Street shops and restaurants. Melbourne's only privately owned/operated luxury hotel with 40 one and two bedroom suites of contemporary oriental design. The Lyall Hotel and Spa's welcoming ambience attracts a discerning international clientele seeking genuine and professional service whether travelling for business or leisure. All suites have full length windows that open for fresh air and a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Lyall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Lyall Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing