We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay in South Yarra”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lyall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #95 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delightful stay in South Yarra”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Lyall Hotel in South Yarra. As a frequent visitor to Melbourne, I chose the Lyall based on its location and easy access to the suburbs as well as to the city. Street parking was readily available. I was pleasantly surprised to stay in a beautifully appointed room with a fully and well equipped kitchenette. A stone's throw away from Chapel Street and surrounded by outstanding coffee shops and restaurants, the Lyall was a perfect choice. The service was impeccable and the staff was helpful.
I shall certainly return to the Lyall as my preferred hotel in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lydias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Lydia,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Lyall.
It was pleasing to see that you enjoyed your experience at The Lyall for its
convenient location, the service that our staff deliver and our suite style accommodation.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the The Lyall in the near future.
With kind regards,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    80
    27
    12
    7
See reviews for
49
158
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Lyall to celebrate my birthday recently and had booked a mystery hotel which turned out to be the Lyall. We were a little apprehensive having read some of the reviews but had a fantastic night in extremely comfortable surroundings. The staff were all very obliging and even though obvious we were on a budget did their upmost to make us welcome. It made a change from some hotels in Perth that say they are 5 star then treat you as if you are just a number or worse.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katiebell67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Katie,
Thank you so much for writing a review following your Birthday stay at The Lyall.
I am particularly pleased that The Lyall dispelled any apprehension you might have
had prior to your arrival.
It is our aim to provide genuine, caring service to our guests consistently so I'm glad that you
were made to feel welcome and more than just a number. The beauty of a boutique hotel is the personalised experience it can deliver
Once again, Happy Birthday and please do come and stay again.
With kind regards,
Rowina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The Lyall is situated in a quiet side street but is right near the station and number 8 tram. We were going to AAMI Park for a concert and could walk easily to the stadium as well as around Chapel St and Sth Yarra generally.

We were ‘upgraded’ to a two bedroom suite upon arrival. Given I was travelling with my wife, I was a little bemused as to why it was an upgrade. Anyway. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. The small kitchen had everything you could need for a short stay if you wanted to cook a meal in your room or self-cater generally. My only comments that are neutral about the Lyall is that the rooms are just on the cusp of needing a makeover. It’s borderline, but they are just over the use-by date I think. Scratched furniture, stains and the like. It’s really just wear and tear, but it does let the place down.

We had a breakfast in the hotel on the Sunday morning, which was extremely enjoyable. Overall the staff were very friendly efficient and friendly, the hotel was very well appointed, comfortable and, the bottom line, we’d return.

Room Tip: There was building work on the Toorak Rd side that didn’t bother us on the weekend, but it could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMG2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay.
The Lyall is in a fantastic location to walk to venues while being
in the heart of the Toorak Road and Chapel Street scene.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience at The Lyall
and noted your bemusement of a two bedroom suite upgrade,
just luck on this occasion giving you room to spread out and enjoy
two bathrooms and the second bedroom as a walk in wardrobe.
A display unit has been erected on the Toorak Road side of the hotel
which is almost complete, the noisy part which was not that noisy is all done.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lyall.

With kind regards,
Rowina Thomas
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014

After an extended stay I am delighted to write this review. I had been using the Lyall from time to time when visiting from interstate and when I moved on business to Melbourne I decided to stay on a permanent basis and agreed a weekly rental. My intention was to initially stay a month or so, but its convenience seduced me into a much longer stay. Whilst the fitout is not "this minute" it is incredibly comfortable. Its atmosphere is small and intimate. Its like staying at a friends place.Many of its guests having been using it for years and treat it as a home away from home. The staff are always helpful and are always prepared to go the extra yard. The location is a huge benefit, being close to Toorak Road and Chappel Street with their extensive retail and dinning facilities as well as proximity to both tram and rail, was something I appreciated. I enjoy walking and the nearby Botanical Gardens and Fawkner Park are wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Mr G,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a complimentary review of your experience at
The Lyall. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your long term stay with us and as you say
many guests do consider The Lyall to be their home away from home when in Melbourne.
On behalf of all the staff, we'd like to wish you well and hope and that you will call in from time
to time for a meal or a drink in The Lyall Champagne Bar or just to say Hello.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina and Peter Thomas
Hoteliers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

actually stayed there for free thanks to melbourne age.
stayed last nite 1 nite only got a 1 bedrrom groundfloor room room 105. had sep kitchen /lounge large bathroom with spa lots of good quality soaps lots of good quality towels . reasonably priced mini bar great bed very comfortable. panoramic views of carpark hey its in the suburbs. anyway also had valet parking greeted by immaculately dressed manager at reception checked in and handed keys over for car . the staff at this hotel were all very profesional and friendly. sometimes at hotels you get a lot of snooty staff . not these guys they are genuine. room has fridge/ stove 3 tvs yes 3. went out for dinner but had a drink in bar when we got home same excellent service. i especially enjoyed breakfast a la carte with italian style croissants/ pastrys/ jams on bar ordered off menu bought out swiftly even if you have to pay for it it was reasonably priced plenty of refills for tea etc and plenty of newspapers. free internet was fast
read a few reviews they mention dirty rooms chipped furniture/ surly staff i thought place was fantastic the staff ARE A CREDIT TO LYALL HOTEL and thanks to paige who organised room for me went out her way to accomadate my numerous requests . if you want a hotel in suburbs away from city this is perfect near railway/ trams chapel st dont forget southyarra has some of the most overprice restuarants in melbourne and lots of hipster dudes

Room Tip: lots of rooms on ground floor no waiting for lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbelvede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Mr Belvede,
First of all let me congratulate you on winning The Age Reader's prize.
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor,
I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your experience at
The Lyall.
Thank you for commenting on inclusions in the suites,
we have tried to cover everything, including a TV in the bathroom of
our Super Deluxe and Grand Suites.
We are proud of our staff and thank you for complimenting them for
their genuine service.
Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Lyall
on a mini break in Melbourne.
Once again, thank you for your generous review, the pleasure was ours.
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Have been dying to stay at the lyall but very disappointing. Foyers look nice, but rooms are more like a service apartment, definitely not 5 star more like 4. Internet is ridiculously slow, so much so I had to switch to my hotspot. Furniture is chipped and beds are not luxurious at all, really average. The rooms need a serious upgrade and all the furniture is old and chipped. Definitely needs a renovation and new furniture and much better beds. Beds felt old. and Pillows were very hard despite offering a pillow menu. I am not usually one to complain but I wont be back again. Very sad as the rates aren't cheap.

Room Tip: Suites aren't big for a 1 bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebes_garp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay.
I regret that you were disappointed with your experience
after looking forward to staying.
Did you comment on the wifi to our staff? It usually works
very well throughout the whole hotel.
We are in the process of upgrading our carpets and curtains
in the suites but will look into the "chipped furniture". We are
also going to replace our beds because we'd like to do that
for our guests, though it is before time and most guests love
our beds. We do have blankets instead of duvets
(duvets on request) which maybe felt a little different.
I would be happy to discuss this with you further if you
would like to contact me by phone.
Thank you and best wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014

It's a great location and very good service however the hotel rooms and facilities are far from 5 star. Suites were old full of old furniture. old and broken irons and iron boards, unsealed shower doors therefore the small bathroom will be drenched with water. top shower head does not work, dirty carpet and the list continues. balcony sliding doors do not shut properly. we were very disappointed given we paid based on 5 star accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank R0ubz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay.
I am in complete agreement with your sentiments
if this is what you experienced.
I would like to be able to follow up with the concerns
you had and as I can't trace your reservation, would you mind
contacting me by phone at the hotel to discuss
this further.
With kind regards,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 160 in Melbourne
1,693 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
2,057 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyall Hotel and Spa

Property: Lyall Hotel and Spa
Address: 16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#86 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyall Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us pamper you. A true 5 Star service Boutique Hotel centrally located close to Toorak Road / Chapel Street shops and restaurants. Melbourne's only privately owned/operated luxury hotel with 40 one and two bedroom suites of contemporary oriental design. The Lyall Hotel and Spa's welcoming ambience attracts a discerning international clientele seeking genuine and professional service whether travelling for business or leisure. All suites have full length windows that open for fresh air and a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lyall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Lyall Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing