We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect boutique hotel in heart of south yarra” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyall Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lyall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #66 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect boutique hotel in heart of south yarra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at the Lyall with friends for a long weekend in October. The hotel is located on a quiet tree lined street one block from Toorak Road, with a beautiful verandah for afternoon or evening cocktails. The rooms are a very good size, and the bedrooms can be closed off completely from the living room/kitchen area. Along with the premium location and hotel amenities, the staff are what makes the Lyall stand out from many other hotels. The personal service and attention are incomparable to any other properties I have experienced and make for a very enjoyable stay. The price to value ratio of the Lyall is excellent and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends. There are great restaurants and shops within walking distance, as well as the Royal Botanic Gardens.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koala37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your most generous review of your recent stay at The Lyall.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and appreciated the finer
details in our room sizes, balconies, level of service and our location.
Thank you also for mentioning that you felt The Lyall represents good value.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Lyall.
Warmest wishes
Rowina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    69
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
45
139
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We recently stayed at The Lyall with our friends from Canberra - our second time their first!
They were blown away by the "Homely" feel of the Hotel and the way the staff went out of their way to make our weekend extra special - The Rooms are spacious and love the fact you have french doors to open in lounge and bedroom areas and the location is perfect to make the most of shopping on Chapel Street and Toorak Road not to mention the fabulous little eateries all within walking distance as well. From dealing with Paige (Reservations Manager) to organise our booking and then during our stay being totally welcomed by all front of house staff but special mention must be made to Concierge's Alex/Craig/Edward who constantly put a smile on our faces with their fun sense of humour etc.
We will definitely be back when next in Melbourne and think we have 'converted' our friends!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiEeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Vicki,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review of The Lyall.
Thank you also for recommending it to your friends from Canberra.
We are thrilled that you had such a fun stay and enjoyed the suites, our service
and the South Yarra location which offers so much on it's doorstep.
Hopefully its not too long before we can welcome you back.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed in this gorgeous boutique hotel for two nights and we were rewarded with a two bedroom suite! What a bonus!! We loved the warm welcome upon our arrival which was maintained each time we passed by the reception. Excellent standard of training; top marks for professionalism! The Lyall offered the serenity we coveted. Being a small boutique hotel is what made us choose this hotel as well as its central location. I have stayed here twice before and have appreciated each stay, noticing that the hotel's decor is ageless; it still looks up-to-date.
Thank you for such a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Great value and location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EffiePSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
We are delighted that you like The Lyall for it's boutique style and
central location. We also appreciate that you like our timeless décor.
When designing the hotel, we chose a contemporary oriental
style which transcends fashion and exudes a sense of calm and
also appeals to both male and female.
Your comments on the friendliness and professionalism of our staff
is certainly appreciated and helps build further confidence.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lyall.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have stayed at the hotel for the past 10 years on average 3 times a year.
It is a really lovely small boutique style hotel with great warmth and personal service.
All suite accommodation with mini kitchens in all units.
Always enjoy returning to our home from home in Melbourne.
Only negatives are poor draws in bedroom cupboard and lack of hangers and floor lights in bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philip j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review of your most recent stay in June.
It is so pleasing to hear you refer to The Lyall as your Melbourne
"Home from Home" and thank you for your generous comments.
Thank you also for your other comments which we are looking
at changing.
Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights in early June .. We and 8 other guests had a 60 th birthday , we are all from interstate , and totally enjoyed the stay . We actually stayed here 20 years ago , when the pool was available.
Top service , with a smile at any and very request .
Love itvwecwill return , as its home away from home .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibb066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Lyall.
We are delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your stay and that you
had fun for the special occasion for which you came to Melbourne.
20 years ago you would have stayed at South Yarra Hill Suites which
was a collection of serviced apartments around this area, one of which
had a pool. We built and opened The Lyall Hotel and Spa in 2002 and
don't actually have a pool......yet but we do have a wonderful Day Spa!
Thanks again,
Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We are privileged to have stayed in some of the most recognised hotels around the world - and have been involved in hotel management in Australia. All hotels range in size, style, location and their services. Having stayed regularly at the Lyall Hotel in the heart of sophisticated South Yarra (a shop-a-holics heaven) since it opened just over 10 years ago it has impressed us on every visit and ticks every criterion. It is conveniently located to the city and its attractions in a well presented and smart, comfortably furnished building. The Lyall features in-house health and beauty Spa, gym and swimming pool. The excellent off-lobby Bistro and bar are open throughout the day. The privately managed Lyall's greatest attribute is its commitment to the sadly all-too often missing SERVICE from its very efficient and pleasant staff.

Room Tip: The Lyall offers 40 rooms in a range of sizes plus meeting rooms available for business meetings. St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Wow, "The Best Hotel in The World" thank you !!
10 months ago we received the coveted award by the World Travel Awards for
"Australia's Leading Boutique Hotel" which is wonderful recognition of what
we aim to offer our guests.
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and sharing your thoughts
on TripAdvisor with such generous accolade.
As a boutique hotel we are fortunate to attract some wonderful and incredibly interesting guests from around the world, many, like yourselves who return on a regular basis.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Once again, thank you,
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Outstanding property! From the moment we arrived at the Lyall Hotel I knew this was a winner. We travel extensively across the world and there is something special and magical about this gorgeous hotel. Rooms amazing, staff can't do enough, and in one of the best pockets in Melbourne - owner Peter Thomas is old school - a man who is hands on and welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. This is a little gem and I actually said when we left it's first time long time I actually wanted to stay on! The Lyall Hotel experience has reinforced my love for Melbourne and we can't wait to get back....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizziew10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We'd like to thank you so much for your positive review of The Lyall.
It is so exciting to know when a guest has enjoyed the experience
as much as you have and even more exciting to know that we have
helped to reignite your interest in Melbourne. An amazing city.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the
near future.
Once again, Thank you.
Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#21 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Art Series - The Blackman
#18 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royce Hotel
#30 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#16 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyall Hotel and Spa

Property: Lyall Hotel and Spa
Address: 16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyall Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us pamper you. A true 5 Star service Boutique Hotel centrally located close to Toorak Road / Chapel Street shops and restaurants. Melbourne's only privately owned/operated luxury hotel with 40 one and two bedroom suites of contemporary oriental design. The Lyall Hotel and Spa's welcoming ambience attracts a discerning international clientele seeking genuine and professional service whether travelling for business or leisure. All suites have full length windows that open for fresh air and a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Lyall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Lyall Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing