We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oustanding in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lyall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #93 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Oustanding in every way”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have finally found great value for money in Melbourne, without that too often feeling of being overcharged! Everything at the Lyall is just great, from the check in to the rooms (great shower) to the coffee and the efficient and friendly staff.
The room was clean, and had a great little kitchen, if you need to self cater. The location of this hotel is great, the South Yarra area has many places to eat, and great shops too. Although the building is in a very quiet street, a short walk gets you into the action of restauarants and designer shops.
I will recommend this hotel to anyone, be they on business or just a visit to Melbourne to enjoy this great city. We had the pleasure of meeting hotelier and owner Peter Thomas, and radiates a willingness to please his customers. Well done Mr Thomas, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Lyall.
We were delighted to learn that you appreciated the value that
we represent, the facilities and service that we provide and the
fabulous location that is South Yarra.
As the only Melbourne owner / operators of a 5 star hotel we genuinely
care about our guests and work together with our team to provide
above average experiences.
Once again, thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward
to welcoming you back to The Lyall.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    76
    25
    11
    6
See reviews for
46
152
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mornington, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I took my partner here for his birthday in May and managed to get a really good deal from Wotif for the room. The rooms are very clean and cosy, however they look better in the photos than on their website. We stayed in a studio suite and it was quite basic and small, and the shower was over the bath which didn't provide very good water pressure. We could also hear through other room's walls as we walked down the hallway towards the lobby.
The service from each staff member was exceptional, and when we asked for a late check out when we arrived back to the hotel at 1am, they were more than happy to let us check out at 12pm so we could sleep in, everyone also had a very friendly smile on their face and made our stay very comfortable. I would recommend staying in a nicer room than a studio, and also take advantage of the services they offer such as massages and the breakfast downstairs. It has a great location, very close to all that Chapel street has to offer and it's lovely sitting on the balcony watching the leaves fall from the tree's.
NB: I can't rate properly currently, however value, sleep quality and the rooms are mediocre and there is no swimmin

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel Elyse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay a few months back.
The Lyall is actually an all-suite suite hotel all of the rooms except for 5 studios
are suites and we don't actually market these studios except for a few
promotions such as wotif. These rooms are a hotel style room only and
considerably smaller than our lead in suites.
We would love to welcome you back as you enjoyed our level of service
and recommend that you request a One Bedroom Suite.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Recently stayed for 7 days with daughters,The accommodation was excellent.The rooms well presented and spacious.Cleanliness was of a high standard.The staff were very attentive quickly resolving any issues which were menial.(extra pillows and tuning of one of the televisions to get the channel we wanted.Only issue was that Wi-Fi which was free was quite poor due to poor signal.Easy for public transport into the city either by tram or train.Supermarkets in easy reach for items needed to use the cooking facilities in the room which were excellent.Daughters used the free gym which although small was adequate for their needs . Very enjoyable stay highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey and lily w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Tracey and Lily,
Thank you for your recent review of your stay at The Lyall.
We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and were
able to enjoy the location and the facilities of the hotel including
the gym.
Our complimentary wifi is a popular inclusion for travellers
who resent paying huge wifi costs on top of their room rate.
I apologise for the difficulties you experienced in that area,
it was a temporary glitch which has been rectified.
I hope that we can welcome you back to The Lyall in the
near future.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Lyall after we couldn't find any accommodation in the CBD for Saturday night. Booking through Mr and Mrs Smith we got a great rate for the weekend. When we arrived our room was ready, huge with living, dining, kitchenette and bathroom plus powder room. Always helpful for couples away! Two balconies too. The ambience of the hotel was lovely. Cosy with fireplaces on all floors during a bitterly cold Melbourne weekend. Room service delivered within 15 mins. Spotless rooms, lovely helpful staff, great location 5 mins from chapel st and closer to sth Yarra train station. Really lovely hotel and nice change from big chains we usually stay at. Will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieQ68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Katie,
We are thrilled that you found us by default, South Yarra is a great location
and so central to everything especially Toorak Road and Chapel Street.
It was great to know that you liked the layout of your suite and the ambience
of the hotel with fireplaces and staff that really do care.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lyall.
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our four days in Melbourne having this cosy hotel as a base. The staff are great and on the outside it is an attractive place to meet friends. We liked our apartment room with its living space and very good bathroom. The kitchen worked well but we noted the carpet stains and had no view except the apartments opposite. We were on the north side. The layout of the bedroom meant one tiny pokie cupboard with doors that wouldn't glide properly and one door kept derailing. The living room TV was way too big and could be half the size. We also suffered a very noisy guest living above us and it sounded like they were constantly thumping around so the floors must be thin. Other than these minor things I would stay here again but find a better located room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lightw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts on your recent stay.
We have taken your points for consideration and are currently
in the process of choosing new carpets.
Please allow us suggest some different suite options for your next
stay.
We look welcoming you back.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and offers excellent service. The shared areas are very nice but our room (a two-room suite) was disappointing. It felt a little tired and in need of an overhaul. I felt as though we were staying in a nice (but basic) rental apartment. Our room didn't feel luxurious and this was disappointing as we expected more based on the research we had undertaken before choosing the lyall. The rooms felt like a very good three star. We will not be rushing back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fr0gmella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
We were pleased to learn that you like the service and location
but not so pleased at your disappointment in your two bedroom suite.
These suites are very popular with families for their two bedroom and
two bathrooms and overall facilities and space within.
We are in the process of a refresh at present in keeping with our
public spaces which have been completed recently.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back
and perhaps entice you into a more suitable category for you.
With kind regards
Rowina Thomas
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We thought we might stay in the CBD this time as we were going to the Lions game but we love The Lyall so much we just had to go back. It was really good again although unfotunately I do agree a little bit with the person who said the carpets were stained and the rooms were getting a bit tired. The staff were very friendly and helpful as usual and the breakfasts we're delicious. We really like the location, being so close to the shops and restaurants and it is only a short walk to the Botanical Gardens We will definitely stay there again on our next visit to Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoSaint51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your fondness of The Lyall.
We are thrilled that you decided to stay with us again during your last
visit and wish to assure you that we are working on a refresh at present.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
1,616 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
5,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royce Hotel
#33 of 158 in Melbourne
1,111 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
1,991 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyall Hotel and Spa

Property: Lyall Hotel and Spa
Address: 16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#83 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyall Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us pamper you. A true 5 Star service Boutique Hotel centrally located close to Toorak Road / Chapel Street shops and restaurants. Melbourne's only privately owned/operated luxury hotel with 40 one and two bedroom suites of contemporary oriental design. The Lyall Hotel and Spa's welcoming ambience attracts a discerning international clientele seeking genuine and professional service whether travelling for business or leisure. All suites have full length windows that open for fresh air and a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lyall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Lyall Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing