We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired,noisy and over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lyall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #93 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Lyall, and while the staff were efficient, friendly and professional, the hotel itself is looking tired and dated. Our room (which was upgraded) was OK, but small, and again, everything is looking run down and shabby. The carpet was badly stained and the bathrooms not what you would expect for this price point.
Also, we could hear every little noise from the room upstairs which is not ideal.
So, we wouldn't be a hurry to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Steve J,
Thank you for writing a review of your 2 night stay at The Lyall and your complimentary
comments on the efficiency and friendliness of our staff.
We have refurbished our public spaces and are in the process of selecting carpets and
curtains for the suites.
Our bathrooms are fitted with the finest fittings and marble finishes (some with TVs) and designed
to accommodate a shower and separate bath which is an international 5 star prerequisite.
Please be aware that we do have different suite categories and would be pleased to
show you these on your next visit to Melbourne.
With kind regards,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 343 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay in South Yarra - so much more satisfying than in CBD. Wonderful staff, spacious rooms, outstanding breakfast, wifi. My only complaint was being placed in the farthest room at the back of the hotel, I was subjected to some pretty outrageous construction noise from next door and while I cannot fault the hotel for a neighbor's work, it did diminish my overall experience (but they had to put someone in those rooms). I was visiting for work, so I wasn't in the room that much. When I was sleeping, the rooms were very quiet and the beds and baths were truly lovely. I didn't use the kitchenette, but can imagine it would have been a nice touch, as was a living room area to watch television (had I been there during the day) - though I suspect the construction noise would have made it uncomfortable to watch TV during the day. I would return to the Lyall in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfdann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at The Lyall.
Your comments on the size of your suite, the bed and bath are appreciated
and also the fact that we do have fully equipped kitchens should guests
choose to make something for themselves instead of dining in
our restaurant or ordering from room service. We have all bases covered.
I apologise for any inconvenience you may have incurred from building noise.
It is in the street behind our hotel and the company is working in cooperation
with us to cause minimal disruption.
I'm glad that you liked being in South Yarra over the CBD, it is a great area
and really convenient to key areas and attractions.
I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Lyall.
Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and. I stayed recently for 10 Days in Melbourne seeing and catching up with old friends.
Having spend some days downtown in another 5* star property, enduring slow service and extreme high charges for breakfast and wifi , it was refreshing to arrive at a privately managed property with all trimmings of personal und friendly service. The entire staff was always helpful and it was a pleasure to spend a week surrounded by all the high end lifestyle of Toorak Road, Compliments for such an enjoyable stay, we certainly will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citywolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear CityWolf,
Thank you for your generous words and review on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted when guests appreciate the little things that
can make a huge difference to a stay, especially the value perceived
by the guest eg: complimentary wifi, reasonably priced
food and beverage and minibar etc.
Thank you for your lovely comments about the friendly service provided
by our staff, I have shared these with them.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lyall.
Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I love this place! We have been four times and will definitely return again in the future. We have tried numerous places whenever we have the opportunity to escape the kids but this is our firm favourite. The staff are attentive without being overbearing, the spa is gorgeous and the rooms are spacious, well presented and clean. It's also in a great location close to fantastic restaurants and so easy to get into the CBD. A real treat for anyone wanting to escape for the weekend :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Alexandra B,
What a lovely review ! Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts.
It's important to have little getaways from time to time and we are
glad that you choose The Lyall for those occasions. Your comments
on the service by our staff, our convenient location and the spaciousness
and cleanliness of our suites are well received and yes, we do have
some fabulous restaurants within easy walking distance.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lyall for your next stay.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I had the privilege of living at The Lyall Residences on two separate occasions.

When I first moved to Melbourne and when I left a year later. Both experiences were spectacular. The hotel offers everything a small boutique hotel could without sacrificing the experience, as large chains do.

I am not a fussy traveler and I spent most of my nights by the fireplace working away on my laptop or sitting at the bar enjoying a nightcap.

Love the hotel and the employees.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LostInAsiaSince2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of The Lyall on TripAdvisor.
It's so nice to know that you had a memorable stay and that you enjoyed our service and
location. Once again, thank you for this positive review and we look forward to welcoming
you back.
Warmest wishes
Rowina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in January at the time of our daughter's wedding. The staff were attentive, helpful- nothing was too much trouble - and helped to make this a very memorable stay.

The location - 2 minutes from the tram into central Melbourne - is superb and its located in a quiet side street. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OZtraveller08_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your positive review of your stay in January this year.
I was pleased to see that during the time of your daughter's wedding you enjoyed
our service and your experience at The Lyall.
It certainly is a great location, close to all main attractions and easily accessed with
public transport.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Lyall in the
not too distant future.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at The Lyall Hotel and Spa while we were in Melbourne before touring further north. We could not fault the hotel or their staff. Their welcoming attitude was genuine and we felt comfortable before we were even shown to our room. The hotel is not large but has a genuine warmth about it, that can only be achieved by the smaller boutique type of hotel that this is.
We stayed in numerous hotels on our journey north and none compared to The Lyall for cleanliness, comfort or location.
Our room was more than adequate for our needs with all the amenities that we could possibly need for our stay
Our breakfast in the breakfast area was delightful and we loved relaxing beside the fireplace.
The staff were more than helpful and very knowledgeable about the surrounding area, suggesting some local restaurants within walking distance that we thoroughly enjoyed.
This boutique hotel is close to all things Melbourne and a great place to be based for shopping and sightseeing.
We have previously stayed in the CBD of Melbourne but did not enjoy the noise which comes with the territory of the city centre at night. The Lyall offers close proximity and easy transport without the noise of nightclub leavers interrupting your sleep, as happens in the CBD.
We have already recommended this Hotel and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Most rooms are far enough away from the main road to allow an enjoyable sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamryall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. It is very pleasing to hear that
you appreciate the advantages of a small hotel in personalising the stay and
providing localised information.
Thank you for recommending South Yarra's proximity to everything Melbourne,
it is such a convenient location and being in the heart of South Yarra enables
guests to live like a Melburnian.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Lyall in the near future
and once again, thank you.
Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
1,782 reviews
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,853 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Art Series - The Blackman
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyall Hotel and Spa

Address: 16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#84 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $165 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyall Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us pamper you. A true 5 Star service Boutique Hotel centrally located close to Toorak Road / Chapel Street shops and restaurants. Melbourne's only privately owned/operated luxury hotel with 40 one and two bedroom suites of contemporary oriental design. The Lyall Hotel and Spa's welcoming ambience attracts a discerning international clientele seeking genuine and professional service whether travelling for business or leisure. All suites have full length windows that open for fresh air and a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lyall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Lyall Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing