We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Melbourne for romantic night away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lyall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #97 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best place in Melbourne for romantic night away!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I love this place! We have been four times and will definitely return again in the future. We have tried numerous places whenever we have the opportunity to escape the kids but this is our firm favourite. The staff are attentive without being overbearing, the spa is gorgeous and the rooms are spacious, well presented and clean. It's also in a great location close to fantastic restaurants and so easy to get into the CBD. A real treat for anyone wanting to escape for the weekend :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Alexandra B,
What a lovely review ! Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts.
It's important to have little getaways from time to time and we are
glad that you choose The Lyall for those occasions. Your comments
on the service by our staff, our convenient location and the spaciousness
and cleanliness of our suites are well received and yes, we do have
some fabulous restaurants within easy walking distance.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lyall for your next stay.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    79
    26
    12
    7
See reviews for
46
157
17
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I had the privilege of living at The Lyall Residences on two separate occasions.

When I first moved to Melbourne and when I left a year later. Both experiences were spectacular. The hotel offers everything a small boutique hotel could without sacrificing the experience, as large chains do.

I am not a fussy traveler and I spent most of my nights by the fireplace working away on my laptop or sitting at the bar enjoying a nightcap.

Love the hotel and the employees.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostInAsiaSince2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of The Lyall on TripAdvisor.
It's so nice to know that you had a memorable stay and that you enjoyed our service and
location. Once again, thank you for this positive review and we look forward to welcoming
you back.
Warmest wishes
Rowina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in January at the time of our daughter's wedding. The staff were attentive, helpful- nothing was too much trouble - and helped to make this a very memorable stay.

The location - 2 minutes from the tram into central Melbourne - is superb and its located in a quiet side street. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OZtraveller08_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your positive review of your stay in January this year.
I was pleased to see that during the time of your daughter's wedding you enjoyed
our service and your experience at The Lyall.
It certainly is a great location, close to all main attractions and easily accessed with
public transport.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Lyall in the
not too distant future.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at The Lyall Hotel and Spa while we were in Melbourne before touring further north. We could not fault the hotel or their staff. Their welcoming attitude was genuine and we felt comfortable before we were even shown to our room. The hotel is not large but has a genuine warmth about it, that can only be achieved by the smaller boutique type of hotel that this is.
We stayed in numerous hotels on our journey north and none compared to The Lyall for cleanliness, comfort or location.
Our room was more than adequate for our needs with all the amenities that we could possibly need for our stay
Our breakfast in the breakfast area was delightful and we loved relaxing beside the fireplace.
The staff were more than helpful and very knowledgeable about the surrounding area, suggesting some local restaurants within walking distance that we thoroughly enjoyed.
This boutique hotel is close to all things Melbourne and a great place to be based for shopping and sightseeing.
We have previously stayed in the CBD of Melbourne but did not enjoy the noise which comes with the territory of the city centre at night. The Lyall offers close proximity and easy transport without the noise of nightclub leavers interrupting your sleep, as happens in the CBD.
We have already recommended this Hotel and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Most rooms are far enough away from the main road to allow an enjoyable sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamryall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. It is very pleasing to hear that
you appreciate the advantages of a small hotel in personalising the stay and
providing localised information.
Thank you for recommending South Yarra's proximity to everything Melbourne,
it is such a convenient location and being in the heart of South Yarra enables
guests to live like a Melburnian.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Lyall in the near future
and once again, thank you.
Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Almost everything was perfect but unfurtunally the receptionist and bell man had to serve breakfast. Service was good but would be better if was a waitress just for that.
The location is great, great shops near by. Rooms are amazing, perfect size.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonhFersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at The Lyall.
It's great to hear that you like the size of our suites and our location
in the heart of South Yarra. In relation to our front desk staff
managing breakfast, we do usually have a waiter dedicated for breakfast
who must have been unwell that day at the last minute otherwise
there would have been a replacement. I apologise if you were
inconvenienced by this and hope that we can welcome you back
to The Lyall in the near future.
With kind regards,
Rowina Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was lovely however our room was a little tired and probably needed a new bed and a coat of paint. The main charm of the hotel is the friendly staff who instantly make you feel at home. Was a little disappointed with the champagne bar as there wasn't a lot of choice even with the French champagne. Unfortunately a small word of warning, Doug the digger started at 7 every morning even Saturday so no sleepins

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Suzanne,
Thank you for your thoughts on your recent stay at The Lyall.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our
staff and have acted upon your other comments.
I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back
to The Lyall in the near future.
With kind regards
Rowina Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
324 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is rated as a 5 star hotel, and whilst its hard to fault it, it just doesn't have that 5 star feel. The service overall was good, but I have to say the service was not consistent, some staff were really great, others just didn't seem to care. The room had every convenience expected in a 5 star hotel, just not the standard of quality you'd expect. Particularly the bed was not at a 5 star level, and I personally found it much too hard. They have a well stocked mini bar, the shower was great though is was very cramped situated over a narrow bath and you couldn't prevent water spraying over the floor. The hotel was spotlessly clean, and is in a superb location, so I believe it was good value for such a central location, but would rate it as a 4+ star property. Oh and if you like to sleep in past 7am don't get a room at the rear of the hotel as there is heavy building works happening next door, and I was woken by earth moving equipment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth2859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
We have taken into account your comments and addressed
the service that you expressed as inconsistent. We do
pride ourselves on consistency so I appreciate your thoughts.
The majority of our rooms are suites with separate living and
dining rooms and bathrooms with a bath and separate shower.
I believe you requested a twin room of which we only have a
few and they do have shower over bath. Had you advised
us of your difficulty, we would have moved you to a suitable
suite. I apologise for your inconvenience.
I hope that you will return to The Lyall and let us display
our 5 star service and suites.
With kind regards
Rowina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 159 in Melbourne
1,677 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 159 in Melbourne
2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 159 in Melbourne
2,038 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 159 in Melbourne
993 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyall Hotel and Spa

Property: Lyall Hotel and Spa
Address: 16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#87 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyall Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us pamper you. A true 5 Star service Boutique Hotel centrally located close to Toorak Road / Chapel Street shops and restaurants. Melbourne's only privately owned/operated luxury hotel with 40 one and two bedroom suites of contemporary oriental design. The Lyall Hotel and Spa's welcoming ambience attracts a discerning international clientele seeking genuine and professional service whether travelling for business or leisure. All suites have full length windows that open for fresh air and a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lyall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Lyall Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing