We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyall Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lyall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #68 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
chrisCheshire, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Fresh food, efficient waiter service, lovely crisp tablecloths. A mini suite, a balcony (& we were ground floor). Glass of champagne on the terrace. Staff couldn't be more helpful. All in all a positive experience.

Room Tip: Ask the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisCheshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Chris,

We are delighted that you took the time to comment on your recent
stay at The Lyall and that you had a positive experience.
We are glad that you were able to enjoy our suites with balconies,
good food and service and champagne on the terrace.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Melbourne and
The Lyall Hotel and Spa.

With kind regards
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    69
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
45
139
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here many times as the standards never change. This could be Melbourne ritz Carlton . My only complaint is a lack of fresh air and the room service needs addressing as sometimes it can be tardy. All in all a good place to stay

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about The Lyall.

We are so happy that you feel that The Lyall it is one of Melbourne's better places to stay.

I have addressed the issue of room service as you mentioned.

In relation to the lack of fresh air, I am a little confused as we are one of the few Melbourne
hotels with opening windows and balconies. We also have indiividual climate control in each
suite so please do let us know if you have a problem working this on your next visit.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments and we look forward to welcoming
you on your next visit.

With kind regards
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I found The Lyall via a quick internet search for hotels with balconies across Melbourne CBD as to me there's nothing worse than not having fresh air. As soon as you look at The Lyall's website you know you're in for something a bit beyond the average room at a large chain hotel. And that's what I love ~ somewhere a bit different, a bit unique and more personalised. And that is exactly what we got. There is no doubt The Lyall is worth every single award it's received.

Our experience started upon email enquiry - I received a response back very quickly from Paige, who guided us throughout our experience at The Lyall. She took all the time needed to answer all of my questions (and being in the industry myself, I had a few!) and went above and beyond to ensure our stay (which was booked quite last minute) was smooth, relaxing and enjoyable.

And that is was. It is a brilliant little boutique hotel - I could not fault anything about the room, the service, the location - for us, it ticked every box. There is no doubt we have found a "home away from home" and we are looking forward to many more visits to The Lyall. Thank you once again to Paige and all of the team.

Room Tip: 1) Make sure you check out the pillow menu :) 2) If you are not a fan of street noise (not that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for writing such a glowing review and we are delighted that you were
so pleased with your choice of hotel and experience during your stay.

It is such a bonus to have a balcony in addition to your room space and of course, to be able to open your security locked balcony doors for fresh air ensures a more restful sleep.

Individualising our guest's stay is our forte, thank you for mentioniing our personalised service.
Being a small hotel (just 40 suites) means that we actually do get to know our guests and their preferences which is why our we have a high return guest ratio.

I have passed on your review to Paige and the team and thank you once again for taking the
time to share your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lyall very soon.

Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was a perfect place to stay at the end of a 2.5 week long trip. The owners & staff were amazing and the rooms have a home-like feel. They even delivered down pillows to us immediately when we found hypo-allergenic pillows on the bed. It was nice to sit on the couch and watch a movie while doing a load of laundry. The lobby and champagne bar are both great places to pass some time, unwinding. I would undoubtedly stay here again next time I am in Melbourne.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimLOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

I'd like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at The Lyall.
I agree, its nice to have some home-like comforts when traveling for a period of time.
Also glad that you liked our staff and had time to enjoy The Lyall Champagne Bar.
We really appreciate your comments and hope that we can welcome you back in the
near future.

Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed here many times over the years. I love the location and the size of the rooms (seperate bedroom and kitchenette) and the ability to open a window to avoid constant air-con as all feature at least a small balconette.

The staff are warm and couldn't do more to make you feel welcome - very much creating a sense of home from home.

My only gripe is the room service. I just wish there was either more choice from within the hotel itself or there was a system to dial in from some of the many restaurants in the area. The food available is ok - I think they manage without a full kitchen. But when you are here for work it is nice to order sonething fresh rather than from a menu that seens designed to be "prepped" rather than cooked by multi-tasking staff. Obviously if you are travelling for pleasure there are many great restaurants and cafes in the area.

That said I will be back hence my 4 stars.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Voyages27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Voyages27,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for TripAdvisor.
I agree, it is important to have fresh air when travelling and nice to be
able to enjoy the outside on a balcany.

In relation to our menu, we are in the process of updating the menu at
the moment. It is a lengthy process but I aim to have it complete in a few
weeks. Please do email me if you would like to make some suggestions.
We can and do infact order from local restaurants for guests adding
more variety during a longer stay so please don't hesitate
to ask reception once you have exhausted our new menu.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
pr@thelyall.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is may fifth or sixth stay at this hotel, I would not stay anywhere else. The moment you step into the hotel the staff are excellent. The reception staff, housekeeping and maintenance ( last time I broke their washing machine, yes washing machine ) are always pleasant, helpful and reliable.

The room has large windows, four in our room that are more like doors that open for fresh air, and access to a balcony. The room is large and clean with seperate kitchenette and lounge room., all exceptionally comfortable and well maintained. The bathroom has heated floors, the best, a separate shower and bath. My only complaint in my last visit were the pillows, if I had read the information booklet I would have seen the pillow menu, this time I have my wonderful feather pillows!

Several time we asked for a clean at a specific time and they were there in five minutes, the turn down service is as reliable. Room service arrived within 10 minutes each time we ordered it and it was simple and always fresh.

Ask for a dining location and their advise is great!

Another wonderful stay here, and I will be back for my next visit.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 209 perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Marlzi,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about The Lyall on TripAdvisor.
We are so pleased that you like the service and what we offer here at The Lyall.
Also glad that you discovered the pillow menu to personalise your sleeping
preferences.
Please do say hello on your next visit and we look forward to welcoming you
back in the near future.

Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The staff here are fantastic. From check in to check out, no request was a problem, and frequently we were treated to "over and above".

Our one night stay included a spa treatment (fabulous massage) and wonderful a la carte breakfast served in the small, but perfectly formed, bar area.

Although overall exceptionally clean, there were a couple of small "unidentified crusted substances" on the bedcover and sofa.

That said, I wouldn't hesistate to stay here again as one day had the relaxing effect of three elsewhere!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flossyfizzdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so happy that you enjoy the service at The Lyall Hotel as well as The Lyall Spa.
It's great when you can make one night feel like three in a good sense and hope that you
won't leave it too long before returning for another special weekend.

With kind regards
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#21 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Art Series - The Blackman
#17 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royce Hotel
#30 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#16 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyall Hotel and Spa

Property: Lyall Hotel and Spa
Address: 16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyall Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us pamper you. A true 5 Star service Boutique Hotel centrally located close to Toorak Road / Chapel Street shops and restaurants. Melbourne's only privately owned/operated luxury hotel with 40 one and two bedroom suites of contemporary oriental design. The Lyall Hotel and Spa's welcoming ambience attracts a discerning international clientele seeking genuine and professional service whether travelling for business or leisure. All suites have full length windows that open for fresh air and a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Lyall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Lyall Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing