We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #49 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2010

Good modern hotel, with great facilities. Stayed here for a conference. Good conference facilities. Food is good for the most part. Rooms are basically suites with two bedrooms. Bed is very comfortable. Bathrooms are well stocked but a little small. Pool is indoor and small, but thats not surprising given its Melbourne. Location is good, at the middle of the CBD. Views aren't very good due to surrounding buildings. Check In was quick and efficient. Service mostly good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sgos006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,720 - 4,726 of 4,857 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2010

although our room was extremely comfortable, with great amenties. Things in this hotel seem worn/tired. It needs a make over. The bathrobes, although clean, were very worn. The pool, one of the reasons we booked this place, was the biggest disappointment. Welcome to the 70's, this area, was cracked, worn, scum around the pool, worn towels sit on a shelf ready to be used. On entering the Ladies in the pool area, there was no shampoo, soap etc, and the smell of mould was quite bad. The staff were extremely good, and the location is great.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrixiesReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

We booked this hotel because we wanted a central location but also required a 1 bedroom apartment instead of just a studio. We even rang the hotel to confirm that it was a 1 bedroom and not a studio. Turns out that what everyone else in the world calls a studio apartment is called a 1 bedroom apartment by the Stamford Plaza. They offered to let us upgrade to a 2 bedroom for an additional $150 per night, which we declined. Not impressed. We booked and stayed for one week and will never return. Also, I've seen larger gyms in people's family rooms and with better equipment.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2009

Stayed one night on business. Hadn't stayed there for a couple of years as I normally stay elsewhere in Melbourne when on business. The hotel is comfortable, but is looking very tired and dated. The whole hotel needs a refurb, especially considering there are any number of newer and more eligantly aoppointed hotels in central Melbourne for similar money. This hotel obviously has a late 80's/early 90's style of decor.

Room was clean and was fine. I didn't eat there as I preferred to go out for dinner. Also ate out for breakfast, so I can't comment on the food at the hotel.

All in all it was comfortable and safe. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Hotel however looks dated and needs an urgent refurbishment to bring in on par with comparable hotels in the centre of Melbourne.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydneymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Would definately recommend, we paid via Wotif and got upgraded. Friendly staff and helpful with info re trams, restaurants, would definately come again!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneHall59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights. First the positives. The location is excellent, right in the centre and easy to walk to most places of interest. The service was extremely good from all. We had no problem with the decor which was traditional but good enough. The main complaint was the bedroom facilities. We had a suite with nice lounge area and a kitchenette but very cramped bedroom area and a tiny bathroom (with unimpressive jacuzzi bath and no shaving mirror - essential for those with less good eyesight and the bathroom mirror a distance away) , almost no accessible hanging space and only 3 tiny drawers so we used the kitchen shelf for clothes. We had to climb over the bed to open and close the curtains...... !! Breakfasts were quite good but I would expect made to order hot food at a 5 star rather than taking eggs that had been kept warm for some time. Business centre had 2 computers and you had to pay .Compared to far better 4 star hotels this hotel was not worth the price we paid and, as others have said, not 5 star quality overall.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We went to this hotel thinking we were checking into a five star luxury hotel. We were not. Although people at the reception and the concierge were very friendly, this hotel is simply not up to standard. Rooms definately need to have a makeover, not to mention the pool which we simply decided not to use after having seen it. Overall, the hotel just appears rather old, and we were somewhat disappointed by the standard.

However, the location of the hotel is pretty good, and almost everything is within walking distance, so the hotel might be worth for that. We booked early to get a pretty heavy discount, but otherwise compared to normal rates, I would definately call this hotel overprized.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebennike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
893 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#15 of 161 in Melbourne
2,029 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,462 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
8,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $126 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel with 282 suites and 26 brand new superior rooms. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions. The hotel is a 10-minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25-minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Guests can enjoy the pool facility featuring sleek furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, and a well equipped gym with cardiovascular and weight training equipment. Each services such as 24-hour reception, concierge and in-room dining service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing