We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there on a Friday night and was blown away from very friendly staff beginning from the valet to the dine in service telephone server. The room was bueatiful and very clean. Our in room dinner was superb and the spa bath was Devine. The only down side was after watching the football the foxtel on tv stopped working which was a shame but did not ruin our stay. When we ran out of coffee. The front desk as very happy and quick to bring more. We ate breakfast at Harry's next door who served a grand supreme buffet breakfast which was flawless. The whole hotel was grand and graceless. We will definitely be staying at the Stamford for all our city stays.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alisajlawry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Alisajlawry,
Thanks for your overall complimentary remarks. An excellent buffet breakfast and satisfaction with your room are essential to a good stay. I am so glad your experience was so enjoyable and worthy of such praise, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Such a nice hotel. So handy for everything business and tourist. Top end of Collins st. Staff great especially concierge group and very helpful. Rooms are more than big enough, spotless and recently refurbished. Well priced breakfast.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank cmajella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear cmajella,
Thanks for the wonderful feedback. Central, efficient and friendly….All the things that make for a great stay. We always hope to give our guests an experience that leaves them with the impression you have. Thank you for sharing your recent experience – we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel over many years and I always find the people friendly, professional and welcoming. The rooms are lovely and it's in a great spot. The reception staff and concierge teams are great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Laura C,
When you are staying away from your own home it’s key to feel comfortable and I’m very happy to read that this is so each time you return to Stamford. We’re delighted to be your “home away from home” and really appreciate your continued support. We look forward to welcoming you warmly on your return.
Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The Sir Stamford is located in Melbourne CBD. The staff are very efficient and friendly in all areas of the hotel. The concierge team are exceptionally helpful and the reception team greeted us with a smile on every occasion
Rooms were well equipped and had everything and more that you could need. The toiletries were lovely in the bathroom - something I don't normally notice as I stay in so many hotels!
Good value offers if you book on the web too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Tracy A,
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found our service to be exceptional! We really pride ourselves on it and are glad you noticed. Thanks also for highlighting the great deals to be found on our website, we look forward to welcoming you back for more of the same again soon.
Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Comfortable and quiet rooms with easy access from the lobby. Great location at the price and more friendly than some of the other larger 5 star venues nearby (in fact I have a choice of hotel via my employer and I choose this venue over the others nearby). The staff are service oriented and deal with requests in an efficient and friendly manner. I have been upgraded frequently (it seems this is policy if rooms are free?) and I have already decided that on my next family trip to Melbourne, we will stay in one of the 2-BR suites.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Mark H,
It’s wonderful to hear from such a happy guest and we are delighted to be your “Home away from home” when you are traveling for business - it will be our pleasure to welcome your family too. Our two bedrooms suites are so spacious and allow for comfort as well as privacy. Thanks for your positive compliments relating to the friendly service from our dedicated staff also – we look forward to welcoming you back for more of the same soon.

Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Stamford Plaza (Wot if Mystery hotel deal ) and had an enjoyable stay. Suite was lovely, bed very comfortable, but did find it a bit noisy ,also quite dark as we looked straight out onto other buildings, but then you are in the city. Was handy for everything, shops, cafés, trams etc which was great. Had dinner in the bar one night, there were probably eight people there,; firstly our meals were given to another table, so we were given a free drink each, then when we did get our meals, the home made tartare sauce was missing. So had to go and ask for that, sat down again to start our meals only to find we had a spoon and a knife each , try eating fish and chips with that ! So had to go back and ask for forks so we could eat, had a laugh about it though ! But not what you expect in a 5 star hotel !! Also, object to paying for internet access, this should be free ! Would still stay again though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineL2551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Salty66,
It sounds like another great team effort to ensure a great stay and a happy guest. I hope you enjoyed the Formula One as much as your accommodation and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again, in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here overnight on Sat 15th March with a group of 22 people all in Melbourne for the Grand Prix.
The Studio Room was very well presented, very clean & well set out.
Bed comfy, bathroom good & buffet breakfast nice.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank salty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Salty66,
It sounds like another great team effort to ensure a great stay and a happy guest. I hope you enjoyed the Formula One as much as your accommodation and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again, in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,843 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,622 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#26 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 973 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#27 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#105 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the newly refurbished pool featuring sleek new furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, a recently refurbished gym that is well-equipped with cardiovascular and weight training equipments. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing