We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good size rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #40 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good size rooms”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We have just got back from our 5 night stay to see the tennis. It is well situated for shopping,short walk down Collins street, and across from great eating areas during the week. It is an easy walk or just get the tennis tram.
We had an accessibility room, a great size but the bathroom cleanliness was not great. Good size TV to watch the tennis on when not at the actual games. Extreme heat wave in Melbourne meant that we didn't,t venture outside for any length of time. Their aircon was much appreciated.
The staff were excellent and the concierge was very helpful and a lovely to deal with.
There was no view from our room and the hotel is quite dark in the lobby and restaurant and bar area. Bit the staff made up for that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up if you want any sort of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pukek0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Pukek0,
What a fantastic time to visit Melbourne – there is always such a great buzz around town when the Aus Open is on and I’m glad you were able to soak up the atmosphere from our convenient location. I am also pleased we were able to provide you with some much needed respite from the blistering heat and hope you also managed to take a refreshing dip in our roof top pool – it’s a great way to cool down. I do apologise for the drop in standard noted with the servicing of your bathroom and will ensure this is addressed with our team for immediate action. The whole team at Stamford Plaza Melbourne looks forward to welcoming you back for another great stay in the future.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,971
    1,455
    489
    156
    85
See reviews for
713
1,804
191
848
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 4 times. Service is always quick and with a smile. Great location in the city centre, walking distance to many great restaurants, theatre, Australia Open, Southbank, casino etc. One bedroom apartment has sink, microwave, cutlery, few plates, glasses and cups. Two TVs, plenty of room to have fold up bed for third person. No doubt we will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwona63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear iwona63,
It’s always great to hear that we have made a regular guest of someone through our superb facilities and friendly service. These aspects, along with our prime location, makes Stamford a wise choice when searching for accommodation in Melbourne. We’d be absolutely delighted to welcome you back again and greatly appreciate your review and recommendation. Until next time..
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on the nights of the 10th and 11th January. Service and accommodation were very good. Rooms were clean and well laid out. Front desk staff were friiendly and helpful and the bar staff at Harrys were great too.

Great access to various Melbourne venues including the theatres, Fed Square and sporting precinct. Trams are only a few blocks away.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geebeeyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear geebeeyou,
At the Stamford we always aim to provide an exceptional service and make our guests feel truly welcome and it seems our usual practices were well received by you. I’m delighted that we pleased you in all aspects and we would be delighted to welcome you back again.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed for one night with my 10 year old son. The team at reception could not have been more helpful. They changed our room to provide us with a separate bedroom so my son was able to sleep undisturbed.The room was large and comfortable. The feather pillows from the pillow menu were lovely. We enjoyed the pool and spa - especially when we had it all to ourselves. The location was great for walking to transport and the shops.

Room Tip: Check that your one bedroom suite has a separate bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karryanne23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Karryanne23,
A separate lounge area to bedroom is a key feature of our suites as it allows for privacy, space and comfort. Thank you for your compliments regarding our pool too – we’re very happy with the changes made and it is a lovely place to relax and unwind. We really appreciate the time you have taken to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you and your son back on your return.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed at the Stamford Plaza for 1 week over Christmas in a 1 Bedroom King Suite. The room was large and well appointed, with a small fridge and 2 televisions. Décor was a bit dated; it would have been extremely fashionable in the 90s, but looks a bit old now, though it was very clean and not worn.

We chose a 1-bedroom suite as we were there for 1 week and wanted to have a bit of space for working and relaxing and this room fit the bill for that. Even though we did not use the kitchen, it had a microwave and decent sized fridge, so you could buy your own milk, cool your own drinks etc. that was more convenient than a regular hotel room. One thing that could be improve would be to put sliding doors and/or curtains between the living area and bedroom, so one person can sleep while the other watches television, and also have a door between the vanity area of the bathroom and the bedroom to create some privacy and not disturb the people sleeping (though the shower and toilet were behind a door).

As the hotel is split across and small laneway, our room, though having a window, looked into the building across the road (as has been mentioned in several other review so this was not a surprise) which was not a deal breaker, but being there for so long it would be good to get some natural light, and also be able to assess the weather by looking out the window, especially given Melbourne’s constantly changeable weather.

Staff were helpful and friendly, no complaints there and were able to answer all questions about the local area, where to buy tram tickets etc.

I found Internet extremely expensive (iirc $15 per day for a package for 2 devices, which added up over the week and is more than what I pay for faster speeds at home for 2 months!) and not particularly fast, but was serviceable. Given the length of time we were there and my experience with other hotels around the region, I though this was a bit much. Unlike other hotels, which charge for faster speeds, they did not have a free slower speed options for basic email checking and web surfing. Also as we had been travelling for 1 week before we had a lot of laundry, which we sent to the hotel laundry and cost a phenomenal amount, which was all indicated, but I think given the length of stay there could have been some option for a bulk discount or price cap within reasonable amounts. All in all with the ancillary services I felt like the hotel was price gouging us, and while I am happy to pay for what we use, the excessive costs did leave a bit of a bad taste in my mouth. We also used valet parking, which was $45 per day, and our only real option, but the service was good, and we never had to wait long to get our car.

The location is fantastic, at the top end of town, walking distance to several main office buildings, the river, shops, trams and countless restaurants.

I may consider the Stamford Plaza again, but would look at and try out other options, such as serviced apartments if we are staying more than a few nights, wanted a bit more room, more light and less expensive services, but for what we needed on this trip the Stamford Plaza fit the bill.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thzeje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear thezeje,
Thank you for your thorough review of the time you recently spent at Stamford Plaza Melbourne. I am delighted to read that the positives certainly outweigh the negatives and appreciate your feedback. Our rooms have varying configurations and layouts and we do have some which have a separating door between the bedroom and living areas, please feel free to make this request when making your next reservation. We can also note your preference for a room with more natural light. You may also be interested to know for any future stays we have a laundry room available for guests to do their own laundry at their convenience. We’d be absolutely delighted to welcome you again when you next visit Melbourne and should you provide us with this opportunity it would be our pleasure to find a suite which best meets all your needs.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We had a two night stay. Service was responsive, particularly after we pointed out a couple of minor concerns with the cleanliness of the rooms. The front desk staff were very helpful on a number of occasions. The pool was very well looked after and we had it to ourselves early in the morning. If you are there on a Friday wear your red shoes for Harry's Bar.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Duncan G,
As a GM it is always a pleasure to receive feedback such as yours regarding the high level of service you experienced during your stay. I do apologise for the shortcomings you noted and these have been addressed as a matter of urgency. I think you may have enjoyed our Red Shoe Friday special in Harry’s too – where your first glass of Moet is free between 5pm & 7pm if you’re wearing your best red shoes, it’s a great way to kick off the weekend. We look forward to welcoming you and your Red Shoes back again in the future
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over Xmas we were originally due to arrive to melbourne on the 27th December but our plans changed so the hotel that we had already booked was full. So I found an amazing deal over xmas for this hotel and thought it would be too good to be true but I was wrong.

This hotel was in a prefect location to explore melbourne. Our hotel was not the largest we have stayed in but had everything we needed and the bed was so comfortable.

The pool area is worth a visit. I like that the roof can be open above the pool so you can look out at the Melbourne sky.

All the staff we spoke to were lovely and very helpful. The lady from Seattle who checked us in was really amazing and an asset to the Stamford plaza.

We would stayed in 6 hotels during our trip to Australia and this was the best we stayed in

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rachy_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear rachy85,
Thank you for your review and such high praise. We love to surprise and delight our guests with our friendly service and fantastic facilities and it certainly sounds like we achieved this and more during your stay. We’re so excited to have our amazing new pool and spa facility open again and as you have said, a roof top swim is a lovely way to finish a busy day of sight seeing. We’re thrilled to be your number one hotel and hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
1,045 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
5,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
3,925 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 158 in Melbourne
1,463 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 158 in Melbourne
7,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Property: Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Address: 111 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel with 282 suites and 26 brand new superior rooms.Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the pool facility featuring sleek furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, and a well equipped gym with cardiovascular and weight training equipment. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing