We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #36 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is perfect. Walking distance to anything you could need in Melbourne. You truly are in the heart of it all, and adds to the atmosphere of the stay.
Service is lovely each time we've been, nothing is ever a problem and everything is always taken care of.
The rooms are spacious, beds are comfy. The decor is a little old fashioned and in need of a refurb but this didnt impact our stay in any way.
A fantastic hotel with fantastic value for money!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diamondsinchampagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Diamondsinchampagne,
Thank you for your positive review and for sharing all the aspects that make Stamford Plaza Melbourne your preferred choice of accommodation in Melbourne. They say it’s all in the name and if so our Supercar promotion could be just for you. Check out our website for further details as well as the terms and conditions of this fantastic competition. We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay & more of the same friendly service.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,557
    1,177
    391
    132
    69
See reviews for
578
1,402
155
672
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here for a night when we went to see P!nk in concert. The minute we arrived we knew we were in for a treat - the concierge dealt with the car quickly and without any fuss, the reception staff were awesome. We werent aware that the hotl has two towers - we stayed in the western tower on the 13th floor - not much of a view fromthe room but we werent fussed. The room was fantastic - a king bed, a lounge area and small kitchenette. We then went for a hotel explore - found the pool and the gym (which was used in the morning - fantastic). Then we hit Harry's bar for a couple of pre-concert drinks and dinner. The location was great - a nice stroll to Rod Laver Arena (helped burn off some of that yummy dinner). Once we returned to the room for the night we both slept peacefully - no traffic or other noise and the bed was oh so comfortable.
The room was spotless as weas the ensuite facilities. This is definitely a hotel I would stay at again - certainly a little piece of paradise tucked away in the heart of Melbourne but in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShezM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear ShezM,
It certainly sounds like you had a wonderful weekend and I am pleased you had the opportunity to enjoy our facilities during your stay. Our location is fantastic whether you’re in town for a concert or a sporting event – it’s a leisurely stroll or short tram ride to many of our great sporting and event arenas. Thanks for highlighting the delicious dinner you had at Harry’s too – with our new tapas menu and happy hours between 5pm & 7pm daily – it’s the perfect spot for dinner and drinks. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I used to stay here quite regularly and it was good to be back. There are (still) many good points - the rooms are all suites and have kitchenettes and a dishwasher which is very handy if you got a little crazy at the Queen Vic Market or some similar place. The beds are comfortable, the televisions are a good size and there were two - one large screen in the 'main' are and a smaller one in the bedroom area. The marble bathrooms are a bit small but the shower head is nice and everything works fine. The pool area and sauna haven't changed much and were nice enough. Service at Reception and by Housekeeping was good.

But there was one thing.

Previous comments have referred to the Wifi pricing - as a heavy data user, it is what it is in hotels in Australia and New Zealand. But the signal kept cutting out exactly when you didn't want it to. Repeatedly. It was extremely frustrating and I almost went to Reception to demand a refund.

Apart from that, it was a good stay and I'd happily go back. But I think I might use someone else's wireless.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TITraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear TITraveller,
Thank you for your review and for sharing the aspects and facilities of this hotel which made it so pleasant to be staying with us again. I am very sorry to read of the wi fi connection issues you experienced and certainly appreciate your frustration. I will certainly bring this to the attention of my IT Manager for his review and investigation. Whilst you are our guest please do not hesitate to contact a member of our team if they can assist in anyway, our aim is to make each and every stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is in a great location with wonderfully friendly staff. Rooms are a great size, though bathroom we had was a little small but had everything you needed. Harry's Bar had great cocktails! Anthony on the front desk was fabulous!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaE0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear LisaE0103,

I hope your shopping expedition was as equally pleasing as your choice of accommodation With a multitude of unique boutiques and high end shops on our doorstep, larger chain stores just a leisurely walk away and shopping precincts such as Chapel street and Bridge road only a short tram ride from the hotel - our location makes Stamford Plaza Melbourne the perfect base for any shopping trip Thank you for noting the fantastic service you received from Anthony. our staff strive to provide service that is exceptional at all times and I am thrilled you found this so. We hope to welcome you back soon – perhaps in time for some Christmas shopping!
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Friendly staff, lovely atmosphere with no hassles. Not a huge room but very comfortable, the bed was incredibly comfy! We booked through a Wotif suprise deal and we we're really pleased with what we got. In a good spot, close to the theatres etc on little collins. No view from ours (looked onto an alley way) but we weren't overly fussed about this feature.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raspberrybullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Raspberrybullet,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. You won’t have to take a gamble on a mystery deal again now that you’ve enjoyed a Stamford experience – the convenience of our location, comfort of our suites, value for money & high level of service ensures we can provide all that you’re looking for in a hotel stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in August and found the location perfect for all city activities. We had a corner suite which was a nice size and tastefully furnished. Staff are very pleasant. Would stay here again in the future. Harry's bar is great for a drink especially on Friday nights if you wear your red shoes which entitles you to free glass of Moet.
Bruce and Sue Morrison

Room Tip: Try and get a corner suite as they are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 631Sue007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear 631Sue007,
We’re thrilled to have exceeded your expectations in all areas on your recent stay – it sounds like you had a wonderful visit to Melbourne which was enhanced further by your choice of accommodation. I am so happy that you remembered to pack your red shoes! Along with our Red Shoe Friday promotion, we also offer happy hour prices in Harry’s between 5pm and 7pm every day of the week – which makes Harry’s the perfect spot for a drink after a long day of sight seeing or a busy day in the office.
We hope to welcome you again, next time you’re visiting Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

In an ideal location right behind Collins St and walking distance to virtually everything in CBD & Southbank.
Service was without fault as was the room decor and cleanliness.
Only issue was how dark the room was, given we didnt notice until Day 2 as we checked in after dark.
I guess being surrounded by buildings it isn't their fault but a bit of daylight wouldn't go astray....

Room Tip: If there is such a thing as a room with either a view or access to direct sunlight - ask for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear MickeyTraveller,
I am pleased you found our location convenient for your plans in Melbourne & appreciate you highlighting the impressive service you received. Due to our central city location natural light is sometimes limited in some areas of the hotel, however I am pleased this did not detract from the overall enjoyment of your stay and we hope you’ll be back to stay again soon.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#14 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,227 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#31 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,349 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Property: Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Address: 111 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very excited that our construction program creating an additional 26 Melbourne hotel suites for our hotel has commenced. The program is scheduled for a completion in September, 2016 and every effort has been made to minimise disruption to our guests during this time. For safety, the working zone is completely contained and works will only be carried out within reasonable daytime hours. The set time frame for works is between 9am & 5pm Monday to Friday and 11am & 4pm on Saturday only. Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the pool facility featuring sleek furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, and a well equipped gym with cardiovascular and weight training equipment. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing