We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stamford Plaza Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #45 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Stamford Plaza Melbourne”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I recently took my children to Melbourne for their first visit. What great fortune it was to discover the Stamford Plaza.. We stayed for almost a week in a beautiful room with excellent facilities. The room was wonderfully quiet and beautifully appointed and kept so by the friendly housekeeping staff. Our first delight was the greeting from the concierge and the reception. All were so friendly, helpful and efficient helping us find our way around the city with tips and local knowledge. We had a fantastic holiday and much of this was due to the hotel where we felt so comfortable, welcomed and at home. My son was impressed by the pool and gym facilities. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anne Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Anne Maria L,

I am pleased you and the family enjoyed our hotel service and facilities and the Stamford Hospitality! I appreciate you sharing this experience and I will ensure we reward our staff accordingly. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,190
    1,609
    547
    181
    93
See reviews for
789
2,001
223
968
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have stayed in Melbourne on many occasions, but never experienced the luxury and service as we did when we stayed at the Stamford Plaza recently. The staff were very friendly and happy to help with any request. We were greeted with a smile from every person we spoke to and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean, quiet and nicely decorated . The beds were very comfortable . The location is perfect - so close to the theatres, shopping and transport. Everything is in walking distance. Room service and restaurant food was lovely, but we probably would have eaten in more, if the menu had a bit more of a selection. We will definitely be staying at Stamford Plaza next time we visit Melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Angela B,

I am so pleased to read your comments and to know we were able to exceed your expectations throughout our hotel services and facilities. Nothing feels more comfortable than being in a hotel which you can make to be your “Home away from Home”. I appreciate your comments with regards to the Room Service menu and I am pleased to let you know that we have a new menu commencing in mid September.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Karl Unterfrauner
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great hotel in a very handy position to the Mall and China town.
The rooms are very spacious with high quality fixtures.
I would recommend this hotel and will always stay here now in Melbourne.
The pool is excellent also.

Room Tip: Go Queen suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Havoc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Havoc22,

I’m so pleased to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and delighted that you will make the Stamford your “Home away from Home” when in Melbourne.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Karl Unterfrauner
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We did our homework on where to stay in Melbourne and the previous reviews of the Stamford Plaza proved correct. It was a great place to stay. I would like to reiterate a previous review about the front desk staff, absolutely brilliant. My daughter left her handbag in a taxi and the front desk staff helped us out and rang the mobile (even though is was a NZ sim card) and got the handbag back for us. We were thrilled. Rooms were excellent. Upon leaving the Stamford plaza at 4am our transfer arrived only to tell us that they could not take us to the airport because there was 4 of us and we should have booked a minivan, we were quite surprised because the same company had picked us up from the airport and taken us to the hotel in a car, no problem, anyway they refused to help in anyway (Royale Limousines) and we ended up taking a yellow taxi, Every experience in Melbourne with the yellow taxis was great. Turns out our bookings for our transfers were incorrectly done by Expedia.co.nz which they have admitted but have only offered a $50.00 credit to our Expedia account, as if I am going to use them again, this left a bad taste in our mouth and it was good that we had such a good experience with the Stamford Plaza which made it an all in all good holiday, no thanks for Expedia or Royal Limousines.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggySue04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear PeggySue04,

It was our pleasure to provide you with a quality stay at the Stamford Plaza Melbourne and we are equally happy to have reunited you with your handbag. Thank you so much for noting the fantastic service you received during your visit too. We would be delighted to welcome you back again for more of the same in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatura
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We usually stay at the Stamford when we are in Melbourne. The valet parking is excellent from the warm greeting at the door to the friendly and efficient registration process to the lovely quiet rooms and wonderfully comfortable beds. The facilities in the rooms and the location near the theatres, Chinatown and Collins Street shopping all make for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Amanda P,

The genuine warmth and thoughtful hospitality provided by our staff is certainly to be applauded and I appreciate you sharing this experience.
Our staff are extremely professional as well as being friendly and are always happy to go above and beyond to exceed our guest’s needs. With our location in such close proximity to the best of Melbourne’s tourist precinct, it is easy to explore the city. I’m delighted you enjoyed all we have to offer and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the Stamford Plaza Melbourne from 16th to 19th August 2013. We were officially greeted by the Door man out the front and he came to help us unload all our bags from the taxi. He ushered us in from the strong Melbourne August Winds where it was breath taking from the awesome view of the glass lifts in action at Reception! Reception check-in was extremely quick, easy and they were very helpful and welcoming. Our bags were bought up to our room by a staff member which was an added bonus! Our room was better then expected, roomy very comfy the King bed was soooo comfortable i have not slept so good in ages then i did at the Stamford! The couch was extremely large and comfy to unwind on after shopping in the CBD. Apart from us not being able to pick a bowl of chips as a late night snack as the late night in room menu is not very nice or many options to choose from overall i would highly recommend staying at the Stamford Plaza. I don't think i could go to any other hotel now that i've stayed at the Stamford.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicredblacknwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Nicredblacknwhite,

I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed the luxury of our hotel and left feeling pampered and well looked after. We are very proud to have delivered all you were looking for within our hotel. Our glass lifts certainly make a very impressive arrival and our suites are full of luxury to add the “home away from home” feeling. I appreciate your comments with regards to the Room Service menu. We are currently in the final stages of reviewing the menu. I will forward your comments to our Executive Chef to ensure they are included. Thank you for your valuable recommendation, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Booked through wotif.com Mystery Hotel deal and very happy with what we found. Really well located in theatre district, plenty of great restaurants nearby as well. Large room with kitchenette, comfortable lounge and dining table if the desire to cook emerged. Good size bathroom with bath / shower and bed was good. Very good service at front desk. Breakfast was only ordinary but satisfied the morning hunger. Would happily return here again even though I know I will probably have to more than I did through he Mystery deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Drew49,

It’s great that you were able to take advantage of one of our special offers and I’m pleased overall you enjoyed your stay. With our location in such close proximity to the best of Melbourne’s tourist precinct, it is easy to explore the city. Our suites are well equipped with all that is needed to help make your stay a little bit more like home. We look forward to welcoming you back again for more of the same next time you are in Melbourne

Kind regards,

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,240 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#33 of 160 in Melbourne
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 160 in Melbourne
1,534 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 160 in Melbourne
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Property: Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Address: 111 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#42 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel with 282 suites and 26 brand new superior rooms.Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the pool facility featuring sleek furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, and a well equipped gym with cardiovascular and weight training equipment. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing