We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Good Choice For Melbourne CBD” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #36 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
266 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“A Good Choice For Melbourne CBD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

As can be seen by the majority of reviews the Stamford Plaza is a hotel of a good quality where you are unlikely to go away being disappointed. I stayed as part of a business trip as one person and had what I think is referred to as a studio room. I found the room good overall with a separate bedroom and separate lounge. It may just be me but I found the width of the room slightly on the smaller size and I would have liked a little more space. Having said that, on arrival the reception staff asked and offered me either a room on a low floor or a high floor. Fittings and cleaning were of a good quality. I had restful sleeps at the Stamford and did not find the hotel noisy at all. The hotel has an interesting design feature in so far that from any level of the hotel you can look over the side of the balustrades and look straight down to the ground floor from any level. I found myself hugging the walls a bit and if you are a family with younger children, you would be wise to keep an eye on them. All in all a good choice of hotel for the Melbourne CBD.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tranzactnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear tranzactnow,
I am pleased we were able to offer you comfort and convenience for your business trip and that you were impressed by the service provided. Our atrium & glass lifts are certainly a memorable feature and make for a very impressive arrival. Thank you for your valuable recommendation, and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,741
    1,287
    424
    140
    80
See reviews for
630
1,550
171
764
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is superbly located just off the Paris end of Collins street. The one bedroom suites are a good size for two and the beds really comfortable. I didn't find the room particularly quiet though - we were located directly adjacent to the lift and could hear it going up and down when we were in the room. Street noise is also audible so I am guessing the windows are not double glazed. This was a bit of a disappointment in an otherwise good stay - particularly as I had requested a quiet room. Never mind. The room was clean, well appointed (if not exactly to my taste) and ear plugs come in handy at times. There were some quirks in getting the heating/air conditioning adjusted but once I found the instructions (via the hotel service directory - which is on channel 0 on the TV) all was well. Staff were courteous and professional and I have to send a special thanks to the chef who cooked the most PERFECT salmon steak I have had in a very long time - maybe ever - beautifully moist and yummy. One of the staff had organised that it be gluten free which was fabulous - unfortunately I didn't have the same luck in their cafe - Harry's Bar the next day when the waitress was less then friendly or accommodating when I asked about my options. Having said that this was the only incident of less then stellar service. All my other interactions were impeccable. A good stay my primary disappointment being the noise. Jury is out on whether I would stay again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MiniMooToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear MiniMoo Too,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and for highlighting the fantastic meal you enjoyed. I apologise that this was slightly marred when your request for gluten free options in Harry’s Bar was not received in a positive manner. I will ensure follow up is conducted and further training regarding dietary options is carried out with our staff. We would welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again, when you are next travelling to Melbourne please feel free to contact me on karlunterfrauner@spm.stamford.com.au or on 03 9659 1178 so I may ensure you are allocated a quiet room that is located on a high floor and away from the lifts. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with my daughter on a quick shopping and theatre trip. The Stamford is my favourite Melbourne hotel at the moment and I have stayed here 5 times in the past couple of years. It has everything I want. Close proximity (5 minutes walk) to shops, theatres, restaurants, Federation Square and South Bank make it very convenient for a short stay. The service is impeccable and the buffet breakfast which is often included in the tariff, sets me up for the day. The rooms are spacious and clean with the added advantage of having a kitchenette. Price wise, The Stamford is often cheaper than similar Melbourne hotels but with absolutely no compromises on service or quality of stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baskingshark8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Baskingshark8,
We’re thrilled to be your number one pick for accommodation in Melbourne and it is our pleasure to offer all that you are looking for in a hotel. We aim to provide superior service and facilities and great value for money, I am glad you found each of these during your stay. We greatly appreciate your return custom and we look forward to visit number 6!
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed at the Stamford Plaza for 4 nights last month as a central base to visit friends and relatives in Melbourne. The room was very spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. To get beyond the first floor using the lifts you need your room key, which we were not told about when checking in but eventually figured it out after a couple of false starts and a few laughs. Upon hearing about hearing about another earthquake in NZ while at the front desk, the staff went onto the internet to update us on the latest news. Very helpful to put our minds at ease for the rest of our break – Thank you (it was the first time we had not taken a laptop away with us). The hotel is very conveniently placed to visit the CBD and to catch a tram to other areas of Melbourne. We had tickets to a show at the Regent Theatre and found that the theatre was only a couple of blocks away, easy walking distance.
Would certainly consider the Stamford Plaza on our next trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Colin255118,
Thanks for sharing so many of the positive aspects of your stay at Stamford Plaza Melbourne. I am proud to read that the actions of our staff were able to put your mind at rest . The genuine warmth and thoughtful hospitality provided by our staff is certainly to be applauded and I appreciate you sharing this experience. I hope you had a safe journey home and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

stayed at the Stamford plaza for 4 nights and was amazingly surprised with the attention to detail.
have stayed at the best hotels around the world and found that the Stamford plaza exceeded all expectations.
any questions I had the front desk were more than happy to answer.
looking forward to my next visit.
would recommend to family and friends

Room Tip: even entry level rooms are more than satisfactory
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear adam s,
Our staff are extremely professional as well as being friendly and are always happy to go above and beyond to exceed our guest’s needs. Thanks for your recommendation, I’m delighted you enjoyed all we have to offer and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool
Level Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Had the great fortune to be upgraded from the one bedroom twin suite to the two bedroom on our recent stay. Sensational! So much so, our plans for going for a walk and out for dinner before P!nks concert were soon changed. Instead we took our time getting ready, each in our own lovely bathroom and then took advantage of the mini bar and room service. Meals were delivered quite promptly and were delicious and well priced. Lovely staff on reception and valet, really thrilled with the service and the room was beautiful. Will be returning without a doubt.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank henrysbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear henrysbits,

I hope you enjoyed the concert! Stamford Plaza Melbourne provides easy access to all cbd venues and I pleased we were able to start your night off with a little extra luxury & indulgence. We really appreciate your glowing review and look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Melbourne.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We both travel for work and I don't usually stay here but we wanted a bit more space than a standard hotel room.

Room was clean and well stocked.

Room maintenance Friday morning was a bit hit & miss, with the bed looking like a small child made it.

Overall very good.

Room Tip: Insist that you are not facing the Nauru House side of the hotel, as there is a nightclub/bar backin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmKaLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear EmKaLo,
Thank you for providing us with the opportunity to accommodate you on your recent weekend away. Having the extra space of suite makes all the difference & creates a sense of your very own “home away from home”. I am disappointed to read that your bed was not made to the standard expected and will certainly ensure that further training is conducted with our staff. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that whether you are travelling for business or leisure that we will get the chance to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#29 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Property: Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Address: 111 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel with 282 suites and 26 brand new superior rooms.Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the pool facility featuring sleek furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, and a well equipped gym with cardiovascular and weight training equipment. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing