We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Suite. Plenty of Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #45 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Suite. Plenty of Room”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Second stay here. Great location and close to everything. Big suite with mezzanine bedroom upstairs. Would come back as is good value compared to many other Melbourne CBD hotels I have stayed in over the past couple of years.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ed V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear MrEdSydney,
It’s wonderful to read that you enjoyed another fantastic stay with us and we’re thrilled to be your number one choice of accommodation when traveling to Melbourne. We aim to provide exceptional service, high end facilities and great value for money and I’m proud we were able to deliver on each of these during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you warmly again on your next stay.
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,190
    1,609
    547
    181
    93
See reviews for
789
2,001
223
968
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Really good location, and pretty much everything you could want. Only criticism is the breakfast is below par .... there are far more interesting cafes out the door, turn left, or right! This is Melbourne, right!

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. The bedrooms were a lttle small, but they were really for just plonking down on after a hard day or culture and shopping!

Service is very good, no criticism at all, and the basr is a welcome spot for a bit of relaxation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arncliffegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Arncliffegirl,
After a long day shopping you certainly need a rest and I am so pleased we were able to offer you a comfortable place to do so. I appreciate your feedback on our breakfast offerings and will certainly discuss your comments with our Executive Chef. Thanks for highlighting the friendly service you received from our staff throughout the hotel. We hope we can welcome you back for another great stay and another successful shopping trip.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandra headland
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Loved my stay at this hotel. The service was amazing from the concierge to the check in staff to the breakfast staff. All could not do enough. The rooms were very well equipped and the beds were so so comfortable. We had 2 double beds for my mum and I with a kitchenette and small lounge. All the lights are sensors so when you get up in the night to go the the toilet the light comes on. When you leave the room for the day the lights and tv turn off. Very environmentally friendly. The locations at the top of the city and a small walk down to the main shopping precinct. Lots of great lane ways to eat at or grab a coffee. Very close to the regent theatre where we saw King Kong. I highly recommend this musical. Unbelievable. Great hotel to spend your time in Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinecoastgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear sunshine coast girl,
Our Engineering team has done a fantastic job in improving the energy efficiency of this hotel, we are very proud of our Green initiatives and we appreciate your support . It sounds like you had a wonderful weekend in Melbourne enhanced further by our great facilities and convenient location. King Kong is a show that should not be missed and I completely agree with your recommendation – it’s amazing! We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a bit of luxury and was disappointed to hear loud banging music from the cafe every night until midnight and then again from breakfast time. And I was on the 9th floor. The walls are very poorly sound proofed and I could hear the contents of the conversations in the adjacent rooms. Outdated. A far cry from the Stamford Plaza in Brisbane which I stayed in recently. The Melbourne Stamford should be classed as a 4* at most, whereas the Brisbane Stamford deserves 5*s. On the plus side the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLT7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear KLT7770
I am very sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations and I apologise for the noise disturbance you experienced.
We are very conscientious of the volume of music in our food and beverage outlets and it is unusual that the music could be heard on our accommodation floors. I will ensure the limits set for volume are reviewed by our Food & Beverage manager immediately. Should you wish to return to our property I would be very happy to personally oversee your arrangements and ensure your stay is to the standard you would expect in any Stamford Hotel. Please feel free to contact me on 03 9659 1178 or karlunterfrauner@spm.stamford.com.au so I may offer my assistance. I do hope we will have the opportunity to show that we are capable of exceeding your expectations in all areas.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A couple of nights here.Hotel was quiet good but felt it was a little dated.
Had to move an footstool around the room to make space.
Hotel sacrificed bedroom space for the suite. Was not a major problem as we only slept at the hotel. Did not interfere with our trip.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room away from Little Collins St as rubbish was collected at 5am in the lane an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffGreaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, Front Office Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear JeffGreaney,
With so much to see and do in Melbourne, it’s no surprise that you didn’t find much time to relax in your suite. I’m pleased you found our location convenient for all your plans and it’s always reassuring to know that after a busy day there’s a warm comfortable bed for you to rest your head.
I hope we’ll see you again when you next visit Melbourne.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have just returned from four nights stay in Melbourne and found the Stamford Plaza in a good position for us. We had a room on the 5th floor which had everything we needed including a seperate sleeping area with a comfy bed, which you could close off with louvre doors. It had its own tv and a little love seat in the window. So a nice seperate area. The kitchen wasn't really well equipped but I gather you can ask for more utensils if you need them. Plenty of bench space though. There was a very comfy couch in the living area. We ate at the hotel and had a couple of drinks in Harry's during happy hour - which is good value. The staff from the concierge right through to waiting staff were all very helpful and obviously well trained. Downsides were no view and room was a bit dark and very little storage if you are staying in a small room for more than a couple of nights. Other than those minor things, it's a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for higher room if you want a view. Bit dark on the lower levels as close to other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear flyok,
Thank you for highlighting all the things that made your stay at Stamford Plaza Melbourne enjoyable – I’m pleased that it is such an extensive list! Our aim is to provide all the things that will make your stay exceptional in every sense, it’s great to know that we’re achieving this.
We’d be delighted to welcome you again next time you’re visiting Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

First time at this property in many years and as I have found with other Stamfords - excellence in service and food is a baseline. I was here for a three day workshop and was exceptionally well looked after by staff at all levels. Great location and exceptionally comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsm1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear dsm1961,
You can certainly depend on being treated to exceptional service and the highest of standards in all areas when you choose to stay at a Stamford property. Thank you for your compliments and for taking the time to review your recent stay. We hope it won’t be as long between visits now that we’ve been reunited as we’re looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,240 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#33 of 160 in Melbourne
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 160 in Melbourne
1,534 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 160 in Melbourne
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Property: Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Address: 111 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#42 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel with 282 suites and 26 brand new superior rooms.Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the pool facility featuring sleek furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, and a well equipped gym with cardiovascular and weight training equipment. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing