We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy to most things”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #46 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A couple of nights here.Hotel was quiet good but felt it was a little dated.
Had to move an footstool around the room to make space.
Hotel sacrificed bedroom space for the suite. Was not a major problem as we only slept at the hotel. Did not interfere with our trip.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room away from Little Collins St as rubbish was collected at 5am in the lane an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffGreaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, Front Office Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear JeffGreaney,
With so much to see and do in Melbourne, it’s no surprise that you didn’t find much time to relax in your suite. I’m pleased you found our location convenient for all your plans and it’s always reassuring to know that after a busy day there’s a warm comfortable bed for you to rest your head.
I hope we’ll see you again when you next visit Melbourne.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,935 - 3,941 of 4,766 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have just returned from four nights stay in Melbourne and found the Stamford Plaza in a good position for us. We had a room on the 5th floor which had everything we needed including a seperate sleeping area with a comfy bed, which you could close off with louvre doors. It had its own tv and a little love seat in the window. So a nice seperate area. The kitchen wasn't really well equipped but I gather you can ask for more utensils if you need them. Plenty of bench space though. There was a very comfy couch in the living area. We ate at the hotel and had a couple of drinks in Harry's during happy hour - which is good value. The staff from the concierge right through to waiting staff were all very helpful and obviously well trained. Downsides were no view and room was a bit dark and very little storage if you are staying in a small room for more than a couple of nights. Other than those minor things, it's a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for higher room if you want a view. Bit dark on the lower levels as close to other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear flyok,
Thank you for highlighting all the things that made your stay at Stamford Plaza Melbourne enjoyable – I’m pleased that it is such an extensive list! Our aim is to provide all the things that will make your stay exceptional in every sense, it’s great to know that we’re achieving this.
We’d be delighted to welcome you again next time you’re visiting Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

First time at this property in many years and as I have found with other Stamfords - excellence in service and food is a baseline. I was here for a three day workshop and was exceptionally well looked after by staff at all levels. Great location and exceptionally comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsm1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear dsm1961,
You can certainly depend on being treated to exceptional service and the highest of standards in all areas when you choose to stay at a Stamford property. Thank you for your compliments and for taking the time to review your recent stay. We hope it won’t be as long between visits now that we’ve been reunited as we’re looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stay for 7nites in Stamford the Plaza, as we are big family, we booked 14 units of 1Bedroom Apartment, as we cant get the 2BedRoom apartments due to fully book.
As there are many children in our family, so I email Mr Karl (the GM, which email I got it from tripadvisor) for request side by side for each family.
In about 10 minutes he replied, cc to his team, and promise to arrange side by side rooms for each family. When we arrived, all is set, and each family stay next to each others.
Thank you for the kind assistance from all the team at Stamford the Plaza.
Here is the summary of (+) and (-) of Stamford the Plaza:
(+) location wise, it' near to everything, shopping, chinatown & lots of restaurants.
(+) big rooms with small kitchen & small dining area & nice sofa & big bed (for twin beds)
(+) friendly & helpfull staff.
(-) Breakfast menu is the same everyday, it's kind a boring if you stay for 7nites, but thankfully as I mentioned it to one of the staff and request for fried rice, the next morning you find fried rice in the menu.... that kind attention makes our stay enjoyable.
(-) while the twin bed is big (2queen size).... the double bed is soooo small (queen size) prefer if the double bed is Extra King size 200x200.
Overall stay are perfect... thank you Mr Karl & his team

Room Tip: if you are family with children choose the twin bed instead the double bed, but better if you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovelyLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear LovelyLuna,
It was our pleasure to welcome you and your family and to ensure that you were comfortable throughout your stay. I am pleased that you found our suites to be spacious and our location convenient for your visit to Melbourne. Thank you for highlighting the friendly service you received throughout your stay and for noting how our staff went above and beyond to exceed your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and sharing your experience, we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you all back again for another great stay.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Stamford for three nights. We chose this hotel because of its central location and kitchen facilities. Unfortunately, there was no kitchen. Instead,empty utensils' drawers, no cooking surface and a tiny microwave that didn't work. Discovered when trawling through the hotel information on the TV that you needed to request a "cooking kit" from reception in order to prepare food. Not really the same as a room "with kitchen". Room also had a Jacuzzi bathtub which had a broken aeration button. On our last morning, Monday, I was woken by loud, recorded music from the street outside. The music came from the Stamford's own restaurant, Harry's Bar. On the plus side of our stay, the bed was very comfortable, the soft furnishings were of good quality and the lighting was good. Wouldn't stay at this hotel again if I wanted to prepare my own food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzi14_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Suzi14_13,

I am sorry to read of your disappointment with regards to the kitchen in your suite and I apologise that the microwave was not in working order. We do have rooms of varying sizes and should you wish to visit us again one of our friendly reservationists would be very happy to assist in identifying which size and category of suite would best meet your needs. We can also arrange for a cooking kit to be placed in your room prior to your arrival. I am pleased that you found the bed comfortable and the room well appointed. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again and show that we are capable of exceeding your expectations in all areas.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We arrived at the hotel very earlier and the staff were very friendly and helpful in getting us into our room before the normal time. The suite was big, comfortable and very quiet. The hotel's location allowed us to wander around central Melbourne very easily. Every staff member we encountered did their best to make our holiday special. This is the best hotel we have stayed in, in Australia.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Glen B,

Thank you for such high praise, we’re thrilled to have provided such fond memories of your stay in Melbourne through our friendly & professional service. We aim to surprise at delight through exceptional service and it seems our staff displayed this throughout your stay. Thank you also for noting our fantastic location and how convenient it is for exploring Melbourne. We hope to welcome you both back for another fantastic Stamford stay in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed 3 nights on business. The room has one bed, bathroom, shower, and also small kitchen. I don't know why my room has kitchen for business use..., but I enjoyed the fantastic stay in Melborune. The location is perfect, close to good restaurant, china town, shopping center, and business place. I orderd in-room dining for dinner, salad and steak, and the dinner was also excellent.
One thing I was not comfortable with the noise from next room unfortunately. I could here the conversation, TV, and sounds of shower.
The overall service are perfect! Definitely I would like to stay here again for next visito to Melborune.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie_in_Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Ellie_in_Tokyo,
Thank you for your review following your recent stay. Our suites with separate lounge and sleeping areas are the perfect option when travelling for business and our kitchens provide the added convenience of in room cooking. As you have mentioned, we also offer a 24 hour in room dining service and I’m thrilled to read you enjoyed your meal. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again when you next visit Melbourne – we look forward to it!

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#33 of 162 in Melbourne
838 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 162 in Melbourne
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 162 in Melbourne
4,379 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#11 of 162 in Melbourne
1,579 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $151 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel with 282 suites and 26 brand new superior rooms.Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the pool facility featuring sleek furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, and a well equipped gym with cardiovascular and weight training equipment. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing