We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Jewel in the Stamford Crown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #44 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

First time at this property in many years and as I have found with other Stamfords - excellence in service and food is a baseline. I was here for a three day workshop and was exceptionally well looked after by staff at all levels. Great location and exceptionally comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsm1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear dsm1961,
You can certainly depend on being treated to exceptional service and the highest of standards in all areas when you choose to stay at a Stamford property. Thank you for your compliments and for taking the time to review your recent stay. We hope it won’t be as long between visits now that we’ve been reunited as we’re looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,720)
There are newer reviews for Stamford Plaza Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,891 - 3,897 of 4,720 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stay for 7nites in Stamford the Plaza, as we are big family, we booked 14 units of 1Bedroom Apartment, as we cant get the 2BedRoom apartments due to fully book.
As there are many children in our family, so I email Mr Karl (the GM, which email I got it from tripadvisor) for request side by side for each family.
In about 10 minutes he replied, cc to his team, and promise to arrange side by side rooms for each family. When we arrived, all is set, and each family stay next to each others.
Thank you for the kind assistance from all the team at Stamford the Plaza.
Here is the summary of (+) and (-) of Stamford the Plaza:
(+) location wise, it' near to everything, shopping, chinatown & lots of restaurants.
(+) big rooms with small kitchen & small dining area & nice sofa & big bed (for twin beds)
(+) friendly & helpfull staff.
(-) Breakfast menu is the same everyday, it's kind a boring if you stay for 7nites, but thankfully as I mentioned it to one of the staff and request for fried rice, the next morning you find fried rice in the menu.... that kind attention makes our stay enjoyable.
(-) while the twin bed is big (2queen size).... the double bed is soooo small (queen size) prefer if the double bed is Extra King size 200x200.
Overall stay are perfect... thank you Mr Karl & his team

Room Tip: if you are family with children choose the twin bed instead the double bed, but better if you book...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovelyLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear LovelyLuna,
It was our pleasure to welcome you and your family and to ensure that you were comfortable throughout your stay. I am pleased that you found our suites to be spacious and our location convenient for your visit to Melbourne. Thank you for highlighting the friendly service you received throughout your stay and for noting how our staff went above and beyond to exceed your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and sharing your experience, we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you all back again for another great stay.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Stamford for three nights. We chose this hotel because of its central location and kitchen facilities. Unfortunately, there was no kitchen. Instead,empty utensils' drawers, no cooking surface and a tiny microwave that didn't work. Discovered when trawling through the hotel information on the TV that you needed to request a "cooking kit" from reception in order to prepare food. Not really the same as a room "with kitchen". Room also had a Jacuzzi bathtub which had a broken aeration button. On our last morning, Monday, I was woken by loud, recorded music from the street outside. The music came from the Stamford's own restaurant, Harry's Bar. On the plus side of our stay, the bed was very comfortable, the soft furnishings were of good quality and the lighting was good. Wouldn't stay at this hotel again if I wanted to prepare my own food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzi14_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Suzi14_13,

I am sorry to read of your disappointment with regards to the kitchen in your suite and I apologise that the microwave was not in working order. We do have rooms of varying sizes and should you wish to visit us again one of our friendly reservationists would be very happy to assist in identifying which size and category of suite would best meet your needs. We can also arrange for a cooking kit to be placed in your room prior to your arrival. I am pleased that you found the bed comfortable and the room well appointed. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again and show that we are capable of exceeding your expectations in all areas.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We arrived at the hotel very earlier and the staff were very friendly and helpful in getting us into our room before the normal time. The suite was big, comfortable and very quiet. The hotel's location allowed us to wander around central Melbourne very easily. Every staff member we encountered did their best to make our holiday special. This is the best hotel we have stayed in, in Australia.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Glen B,

Thank you for such high praise, we’re thrilled to have provided such fond memories of your stay in Melbourne through our friendly & professional service. We aim to surprise at delight through exceptional service and it seems our staff displayed this throughout your stay. Thank you also for noting our fantastic location and how convenient it is for exploring Melbourne. We hope to welcome you both back for another fantastic Stamford stay in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed 3 nights on business. The room has one bed, bathroom, shower, and also small kitchen. I don't know why my room has kitchen for business use..., but I enjoyed the fantastic stay in Melborune. The location is perfect, close to good restaurant, china town, shopping center, and business place. I orderd in-room dining for dinner, salad and steak, and the dinner was also excellent.
One thing I was not comfortable with the noise from next room unfortunately. I could here the conversation, TV, and sounds of shower.
The overall service are perfect! Definitely I would like to stay here again for next visito to Melborune.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie_in_Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Ellie_in_Tokyo,
Thank you for your review following your recent stay. Our suites with separate lounge and sleeping areas are the perfect option when travelling for business and our kitchens provide the added convenience of in room cooking. As you have mentioned, we also offer a 24 hour in room dining service and I’m thrilled to read you enjoyed your meal. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again when you next visit Melbourne – we look forward to it!

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here (with my husband and baby) after purchasing a wotif mystery hotel deal - $198 for one night in a one bedroom suite which was fantastic value. Excellent location, with good shopping and food nearby, and a quiet street. Very friendly staff, including very helpful concierge. Our room was exactly what we needed, while a little dated it was very clean and spacious. Good sized lounge with a couch and dining area and large flat screen tv, as well as a full kitchen which was really fantastic. The bedroom was separated by sliding doors and had a comfy bed, as well as another flatscreen tv. The bathroom was off the bedroom and was very tidy with a Jacuzzi bath. Everything we needed in a nice hotel and excellent location, for a very good price!

Room Tip: We asked for a high room and were pleased to be on the 11th (of 14 I think) floors. But you don'...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear nzamy,

Fantastic location, spacious suites, attentive service and a place to relax - all at a great value price! I am thrilled that we were able to provide all of this for you on your recent stay. The generous size of our suites and the convenience of a kitchenette makes travelling with children just that little bit easier – this means that everyone can have a little break and we’re pleased you found this so. Thanks for such positive review, we hope to welcome you all back again when you next visit Melbourne.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is my favourite hotel,in Melbourne. Each room is a studio apartment, with a separate sitting room and kitchenette. This is important when away a lot for work. The hotel has recently been refurbished, the beds are comfy, there is a good gym and a pool. There is a very good room service menu, the quality is good at a reasonable price.

A couple of tips to get the best out of your stay: the hotel is in two buildings, East Tower and West Tower. The Pool and Gym, as well as reception are in the East Tower, whereas the restaurant and bar are in the West Tower across the road (although there is an overpass). The West Tower is too noisy for me as the noise from the bar can travel up via the atrium. In both Towers there is a risk of being woken up during the night by rubbish trucks, hence I always ask for a high rise room in the East Tower.

I've even brought the family a few times, the kids love the place. I can highly recommend the two bedroom rooms for that purpose (cheaper than two one bedrooms!)

Room Tip: Rooms on low rise an get noisy during the night with rubbish trucks passing Rooms in West tower c...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Ellen L,
We’re so proud to be your choice of accommodation in Melbourne and it is an honour to be your “home away from home”. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and I am sure many fellow readers will find your tips very useful. Comments such as yours are invaluable to this hotel and we’re thrilled to know that you can rely on the service and facilities to be of the highest standard on each and every stay.Thank you for taking the time to review Stamford Plaza Melbourne and we look forward to welcoming you “home” on your very next visit.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#34 of 160 in Melbourne
832 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 160 in Melbourne
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,328 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $151 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel with 282 suites and 26 brand new superior rooms.Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the pool facility featuring sleek furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, and a well equipped gym with cardiovascular and weight training equipment. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing