We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$109
$86
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$243
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$183
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$158
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Melbourne Marriott Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (4,965)
Filter reviews
4,965 results
Traveler rating
2,323
1,730
601
201
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,323
1,730
601
201
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharry's bargreat locationspa bathking suitevalet parkingcollins streetlounge areasmall kitchenroom servicebuffet breakfastcentral locationenjoyable staymini bargreat roomconciergegymcouch
Filter
Updating list...
4,204 - 4,209 of 4,965 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We arrived at the Stamford Plaza Melbourne on the Skybus from the airport. Our check in was easy, and although we were there at 11am we were given an early checkin which was appreciated. We were also offered a room upgrade (for a price) which we declined. We were only there one night so didn't mind being in their smallest room.

The Queen room was plenty big enough, with a lounge area and kitchenette with microwave and large mini bar. There was an extra TV in the bedroom area also which was good. Everything was very clean and lovely, the only small complaint is that the bathroom is teeny tiny - everything gets a bit wet when you shower. Also, the light must be on a timer so kept turning itself off while we showered at night.

There is a bit of road noise at night - considering it was a Saturday night it wasn't too bad.

The location is good - we walked to Queen Victoria Markets and the mall, and also to the MCG. That was a long walk though, not sure I'd do that again! Fed Square is also close by.

Would definately stay again next time we're in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antsuz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Antsuz78,

All our suites, including our introductory category, are spacious and offer a separate lounge area to bedroom and a kitchenette. It is this space along with high quality furnishings that make Stamford Plaza Melbourne not only convenient but also so comfortable, whether you’re staying for one night or one week. The walk from the MCG can sometimes feel long if you’re team wasn’t successful, however if you want to save your legs there is also the option of trains and trams right on our doorstep too – our Concierge team even has Myki’s passes available for purchase. Thanks very much for your review, we hope to see you again next time you’re in Melbourne.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My stay was very pleasant and the suite was comfortable and clean. I arrived to discover I had been upgraded - a first for me. Friendly staff helped. The Stamford acted promptly when I called to let them know I had left the power cable for my laptop behind.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Charles B,
It’s wonderful to read that the professional service provided by our team was evident even after your departure. I hope you enjoyed your upgrade and that you will be back for another comfortable stay soon.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our wedding night and were very pleased. The staff were friendly and professional, the room tidy and spacious. The spa is a very deep bath that will fit two if you are happy to snuggle :D only things I'd change is the very loud BEEEEOP when you turn the TV off and the VERY bright l.e.d's on the service display and bedside clock (yay for cards to put over the bright stuff!). In all a very pleasing stay with excellent staff, facilities and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggies_lens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Maggies_lens,
Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for choosing to spend such a momentous occasion at Stamford Plaza Melbourne. Thank you for highlighting the aspects that made your stay so enjoyable including the high standard of facilities and cleanliness of our suite, we strive maintain the highest of standards in these areas.
I’m thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and it will be great to see you again next time, perhaps on your 1st Anniversary…
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed one night at the Stamford Plaza - after spending a night here a couple of years ago.

The location of the hotel is in the 'Paris end' of Little Collins St - within walking distance to the MCG and a selection of various restaurants. The room we booked was a one-bedroom suite, which included a fully functional kitchen / dining / lounge area. Whilst it did not have any views of the Melbourne skyline, it was on the 14th floor and very private. The shower is over the bath - yet still large enough. Luxurious towels!

The concierge greeted us at the door and, as we had pre-booked, the reception staff were extremely efficient with our booking and checked us in by 12:30pm. A voucher was included in our booking, which gave us one free drink at Harry's bar - across the laneway (which separated the two 'wings' of the hotel) as well as a reduction in rate for breakfast (which we did not take up as we had an early flight the next day).

One thing to note is, if checking out early (before 6am), please allow sufficient time - at least 10 minutes. When we checked out, there was only 1 reception staff available (Sunday morning) and there were other guests checking out at the same time.

We will come again.

Room Tip: Request a room on a 'high floor' for privacy & quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Kirsten E,
Thank you for providing us with the opportunity to welcome you again and for writing a detailed review of your stay. It’s reassuring to note that although it has been some time since your last visit, the high quality of service, facilities and features has remained. Thank you for your tip to fellow travelers regarding early morning check outs, I appreciate you bringing this to my attention also and will ensure our staffing levels at this time are reviewed. We look forward to welcoming you back sooner, rather than later, this time.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying absolutely AMAZING stuff. Friendly attentive and helpful. Concierge were WONDERFUL and cannot say more about the staff at the hotel. As for the hotel itself the rooms are a little tired and in need of a renovation. Bathrooms are very small but rather big layout of rooms especially the queen one bedroom suites with separate lounge room and kitchenette. Found the rooms lacking in natural light due to the location of hotel. Slight downfall was cleaning staff for rooms.. Found bins weren't emptied and found a cleaning rag in our room after stay but overall had a great few days here.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Kristy H,
Thank you so much for your complimenting the service you received throughout your stay, our staff will be commended for a job well done. It is the welcoming and attentive service you have described that makes guests such as yourself return to Stamford Plaza Melbourne again and again. I am sorry to read of the shortcomings in the servicing of your room. Please be assured this has been addressed with our Executive Housekeeper so she may conduct further standards training with her staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews