We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“did the job” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #36 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“did the job”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights on business and found the place to be ok from a location and service perspective. Easy to walk from and move around to many Melbourne sights on foot. I was in the opposite side tower which has the bar / restaurant on the ground floor - I would suggest this as slightly easier to access food / drink.
Rooms ok, mine cam with a kitchenette / bar area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear MarkR,
I'm pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay. The location of our hotel makes it easy to explore the best of Melbourne by foot or by public transport. Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to Stamford Plaza Melbourne in the near future.
Kind regards,

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,560
    1,184
    393
    132
    70
See reviews for
579
1,410
155
675
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have stayed here dozens of times over the past several years. Location is great, close to China Town, Bourke St Mall, Flinders Station, Fed Square, uptown and the Botantic Gardens. We easily walked to & from Flinders Park/MCG as very handy. The rooms are comfortable although lack natural light. Very good beds. Their check-in system is very poor - I am required to complete a registration every time as they don't recognise frequent visitors (in any way). The food is hotel fare and there is much better by stepping out. Try Modiva for lunch or dinner, and the top of Little Collins for breakfast cafes. Terra Firma for any meal is good too, only 2 blocks away. Valet is expensive and the wait long. So a mixed bag.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your constructive comments regarding your check in experience, I will ensure this is updated in your profile for future stays. We love to welcome back our valued return guests and it will be wonderful to hear about a great experience upon your next stay.
Kind regards,

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I had a great stay at the Stamford Plaza. I originally booked a normal room however upon check in I was happy to be offered an upgrade to a bigger room! The buffet breakfast was quite good, especially the freshly made waffles and all the staff were very helpful. The only thing which I found a little annoying is that the valet parking was $45 for one night! I found this a bit expensive especially when other similar hotels were offering it for $30.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovefood134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Lovefood134,
I’m so pleased to hear that you were so happy with your suite and found our service friendly and attentive. I know our team will be very proud to read your comments. We appreciate your feedback relating to our Valet parking, this will be noted for our next review.
Kind regards,

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I loved, loved, loved every minute of this stay. We stayed here with hubby for 2nd anniversay and the celebration was made even more special cos of the lovely stay. The location was perfect for our foodie adventures, its on the right end of town, close to a lot, a lot of gorgeous restaurants. The room had all the lovely trimmings to make it outstanding, luxurious fabrics and very comfortable couch. The bed & pillows, my word! they were the standout for me, felt just like home. This is usually the hardest part of a hotel stay, while everything looks lovely does it function as well? Yes this one did, was tempted to stay in bed all day! Thank you Stamford, i can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: East Tower is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Melania S,
Congratulations on your Anniversary, I’m thrilled that we were able to please in all areas of your recent stay. It;s wonderful that you had the opportuntiy to take advantage of our room facilities and that the comfort provided was a highlight of your stay. Next time you might like to try Harry’s Restaurant and Bar which offers a great variety of decadent cuisines. We look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic stay in the near future.
Kind regards,

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

An impressive,clean, and well located hotel.
The Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Amenities were great. Our room was spacious,nicely decorated and comfortable.
Their buffet breakfast was delicious and varied. :-)

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear AL S
We pride ourselves on offering exceptional service and I know the team will be delighted to hear that their efforts are not going unnoticed. It’s always nice to start your day with a decadent breakfast and I'm pleased you thouroughly enjoyed our buffet selection. We look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic stay in the near future.
Kind regards,

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel was super. Excellent location for the theatre and amazing dining. You can easily catch trams within a couple of blocks of the hotel. The Roof top pool was fun and the gym was fine. The breakfast buffet was excellent and they gave you a 50% off coupon as well. The rooms are a bit small but well laid out.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaLYCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear LisaLYCC,
I’m so pleased to hear that we were able to go beyond your expectations through our fantastic facilities and attentive staff. Our guests certainly are the focus of our attention & it’s great that you were made to feel so special. The location of our hotel is very accessible to all what Melbourne has to offer. We look forward seeing you back soon to experience the Legally Blond Musical package.
Kind regards,

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just finished a business trip to Melbourne and stayed at the Stamford for the first time (on previous trips have stayed at the Novotel). I stayed on the 7th floor in the East Tower away from the lift.

It was a nice experience with friendly staff and pleasant service. I do not feel that this really is a '5 star' hotel, more like 4 star. The hotel has the old world business travel charm to it with the classical lobby music and room features etc. but it was the quality of these features that let it down a little bit.

Whilst attractive, the room features weren't in top condition with a few chips in the paint, on the doors, old ironing board etc. The bathrobes provided also felt a bit old (overwashed and not fresh). The duvet was also not in an acutal cover, but layered between sheets. These didn't really bother me, but these sort of things should be seamless (in my humble opinion) to be classified as 5 star.

Breakfast was easy and convenient, but if you have the time, would recommend dining somewhere else on Collins Street for something more cost appropriate.

If you're looking for a real 5 star experience then I would recommend you try another hotel, but for a comfortable business trip, then this hotel ticks all the cards (location, timely check in and check out services, helpful service, etc.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayDaydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Holiday Daydreamer,
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments regarding the facilities of the hotel. Your comments have been discussed with the our Executive team to further enhance our product. The location of our hotel is very accessible to all what Melbourne has to offer, next time your in Melbourne for business you might like to take advantage of our Business Saver Upgrade Package which has many inclusions valued by business travelers.
Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to Stamford Plaza Melbourne in the near future.
Kind regards,

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#14 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,235 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#32 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,350 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Property: Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Address: 111 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very excited that our construction program creating an additional 26 Melbourne hotel suites for our hotel has commenced. The program is scheduled for a completion in September, 2016 and every effort has been made to minimise disruption to our guests during this time. For safety, the working zone is completely contained and works will only be carried out within reasonable daytime hours. The set time frame for works is between 9am & 5pm Monday to Friday and 11am & 4pm on Saturday only. Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the pool facility featuring sleek furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, and a well equipped gym with cardiovascular and weight training equipment. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing