We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel Suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #44 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel Suite”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

From the moment we pulled up quickly greeted by doorman, who took our bags and arranged for vehicle to be parked. The only thing wrong was Check iin staff could have been more friendly, but he was efficient. 1 Bedroom suite was perfect. A large bed, Jacuzzi in bath room, Lounge area, Kitchen with an oven and Dishwasher. Hotel will give you cooking implements if you ask for them. Very quiet and the only only time we saw people were in the Lift, Swimming pool and Restaurant/Bar. Swimming Pool was clean and inviting. Towels had run out on the pool deck but this was quickly rectified. Perfect Location for anywhere in the Centre or Paris end of the city. If you can get a package with breakfast is a big help due to it is expensive but well worth it. Continental breakfast $27 or works $37. 11 am checkout is perfect. Highly recomend Hotel

Room Tip: As high as possible and in the west tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hudson1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Hudson1967,
Sounds like you received everything you were looking for during your stay and I’m so pleased we were able to deliver. Thanks for highlighting some of the facilities we have to offer at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, but more importantly our friendly service. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,157
    1,584
    536
    176
    92
See reviews for
780
1,972
221
940
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights for our honeymoon and it was great. We had a package that gave us a lovely bottle of champagne everyday and had rose petals on our bed and chocolate dipped strawberries. It was very romantic and beautiful. The staff were very attentive and the mushroom risotto from the restaurant was amazing! Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JenandMatt2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear JenandMatt2010,
Congratulations on your Wedding. The Romance and Seduction package is a truly wonderful way to celebrate the beginning of your married life and I’m pleased we were able to assist in making it such a special stay for you both. We wish you all the best for a very happy life together and hope that we might see you for more romance on your first anniversary.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at the Stamford Plaza during the Australian Open so the location was fantastic with easy access to Melbourne park.

I was really disappointed with the lobby, having read about the multi million dollar makeover the hotel had received...very drab. Our queen suite was very dark with little natural light and a view of nothing but the other side of the hotel...the bathroom was tiny and a little dated and no door from the bedroom to the bathroom. The kitchen area is unnecessary - space would be better used to enlarge and upgrade the bathroom.

Several of the miniature bottles on the mini bar had already been used and refilled with water - surely they would check this on a daily basis?

The restaurant and bar staff were great - special thanks to Kelly for coming up with a perfect Singapore Sling! The food was surprisingly good at the bar....well done.

Whilst the room and the lobby were a disappointment, they were perfectly adequate and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on a high floor so you get a little natural light - go for the best room you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Patz02,
I am disappointed to hear that your suite did not meet your expectations exactly, but pleased that the comfort and convenience meant that it did not affect your enjoyment. Harry’s Bar offers a great cocktail menu and I’m delighted that Kelly was able to hit the spot with her Singapore Sling – a great way to top off an afternoon at the tennis. We look forward to welcoming you back again and feel free to request a suite on a high floor to gain more natural light.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

When we opened out room door for the first time, we were amazed at how much room was in our king bed suite. Large living area, bar style kitchenette, and 2 TVs. If you don't mind slightly outdated decor and fittings, but appreciate open spaces, this is the place to stay. About 2 minutes walk to Bourke St Mall, $10 taxi to Crown Casino, and minimal traffic noise on the 11th floor. Staff were friendly and efficient, and we were checked in and out swiftly. Originally planning on cooking breakfast since the kitchenette had hotplates, but sadly no cooking equipment like frying plans or spatulas. But it didn't matter, because a short walk away, and there were many restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneysuburber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear sydneysuburber,
Thank you for your kind and complimentary remarks. We are very proud of the service and facilities at Stamford Plaza Melbourne and I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Melbourne. We do have kitchen kits available should you want to cook in your suite, I apologise that you were unaware of this, on your next stay contact our reception team and they will happily arrange for one to be brought to your room.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We booked a 'mystery hotel' on wotif.com and got The Stamford. Have previously stayed twice at Sydney airport Stamford but Melbourne city Stamford smashes it for friendly and efficient service. Suites are very spacious and I LOVE hotel rooms with robes. Would def stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amg1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear annmareegrant,

The secret is out! The Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the place to stay when visiting Melbourne. Thank you for supporting the Stamford Brand – we have 8 hotels throughout Australia and New Zealand and would be very happy to welcome a valued guest like you to them all.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in January 2013. The hotel is easy walking distance to many major attractions in Melbourne. The staff is very friendly and courteous. Though we had a 1 bedroom suite, I found our room to be a little on the small side, especially the bathroom. That said, the room was very clean and it was helpful having a kitchen, even though we didn't use it much. You have to pay for wi-fi use in your room, but there's a business center with a couple of computers with free internet. Overall a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gluckita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Gluckita,
We aim to provide our guests with the whole package and I’m pleased you found it to be so. We do have rooms of varying shapes and configurations, so feel free to contact our friendly reservations team prior to your next stay and we will find one which best suits your requirements. We look forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant stay soon.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Stamford in a 1 bedroom Suite. The set up was great with its own little kitchen, dining, lounge area and separate bedroom with King size bed. The furnishings are quite lush. the pool & spa are a little outdated. Gym is fully equipped with all the necessary gear with modern treadmills. One of the things I look forward to with staying at a 5 star property is the gorgeous comfy beds and Stanford did not disappoint. Our stay was spoiled due to the water leak we experienced in the dining area. Half of the dining area was saturated in water that was coming from a busted pipe (house keepings words). When the flood was bought up with reception on check out the guy checking us out thanked me for bringing it to his attention. He expressed to me that it was lucky that this happened on the day that we were checking out. For this calibre of hotel I expected more than a "so sad too bad" kind of attitude. I am a travel agent and if my clients experienced the same dilemma I would hope that the hotel would at least offer them a free cup of coffee.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear happestos,
It’s great that you were able to spend some quality time with your daughter in the comfort of one of our suites. Thanks for highlighting our recently refurbished gym facility, there are many guests like yourself that enjoy our new modern equipment. I am terribly sorry to hear of the maintenance issue you experienced on your final day and apologise that you felt the problem was not handled with more empathy and understanding. The matter has been referred to our Front Office Manager for follow up with her team. When you are next visiting Melbourne please feel free to contact me directly, so I may personally oversee your arrangements and ensure your stay exceeds your expectations in every way.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,202 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,510 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#31 of 160 in Melbourne
814 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#18 of 160 in Melbourne
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Property: Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Address: 111 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel with 282 suites and 26 brand new superior rooms.Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the pool facility featuring sleek furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, and a well equipped gym with cardiovascular and weight training equipment. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing