We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palace hotel in the city!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #40 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Palace hotel in the city!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed just one night in this hotel. Wow, were we impressed upon walking in and seeing the 20 story atrium. It was all set up in a Christmas theme which seemed inviting. We upgraded at check in to the Executive Suite upon check in. The room had a separate kitchen area and sitting area. Very clean and comfortable beds. The bathroom was very clean. The pool and sauna area was small, however not crowded with only a few other people using the facilities. Glad it was indoor since it was a rainy day for us. There are a lot of bars and restaurants within walking distance. This hotel is in a very safe area. We felt comfortable about walking around at night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear DiverDerek,

I’m pleased to read that your initial impressions of the hotel were positive and remained so throughout your stay. If you’re lucky enough to take a dip in our pool on a sunny day, the roof is retractable allowing guests to make the most of the sunshine. Thanks for writing a great recommendation, we hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,107
    1,547
    519
    167
    90
See reviews for
758
1,929
210
910
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

from the moment the concierge took the car keys on day 1 until he returned them on day 4 every member of this team treated us as though we were the only guests.
given that almost 100% occupancy was the norm for our stay this was exemplary.

Room Tip: get the breakfast buffet deal for only $2 with your room deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsay470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear lindsay470

Professional service with a smile, even when under pressure, is what we strive to achieve at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, thank you for recognising the efforts of our staff. We hope to welcome you back for another great stay in the near future.


Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Stamford Plaza via a Mystery Hotel deal. We got a great rate and were pleasantly surprised! The hotel is in the CBD close to shopping and Federation Square. The lobby, atrium and glass elevator all very impressive. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite which was quite lovely. Some on TA criticise the size of the bathroom but we found it perfectly formed and more than adequate. The lounge area had very comfortable furniture including a lounge, dining table and desk. The only slight downside was the bed needs upgrading although I did notice (during servicing) that other rooms did have more substantial beds, so I assume this is a work in progress. Harry's Bar was lovely for a quick drink before heading out for dinner. The whole hotel is a bit olde worlde. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sissy1B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Sissy1B,
You’ve found us which means no need to take a risk on a mystery hotel deal any more. We are very proud of the service and facilities at Stamford Plaza Melbourne and I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us – come back again soon.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My fiancée and I recently spent 4 nights in the Stamford Plaza and we received a complimentary upgrade on check-in which was really welcome. The king-suite was very well presented, clean and spacious, the staff were really friendly and the hotel is in an excellent location.

I would definitely stay in the Stamford again whenever I return to Melbourne.

Room Tip: As there are 2 seperate towers, try to get a room in the tower with the swimming pool and spa (if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cormac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear CormacM,

Indulgent, central, and friendly….All the things that make for a great stay at a hotel. We always hope to give our guests an experience that leaves them with the impression you have. We look forward to seeing you again soon…perhaps for your wedding night!

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here two nights over New Year. Overall it is a good hotel but was let down by a number of things. On a positive side the hotel position is good, centrally located in the city. The room was quite spacious, very comfortable bed, room has limited views although there were a number of maintenance issues with the room.

On a negitive side the resturant was closed on a sunday night which I found quite strange for a hotel of this size. The major problem was that the hotel added items to our bill such as breakfast and internet charges despite beingtold that they were all inclusive.

I fail to see how or why this happens and hope it wasn't a deliberate ploy to increase profits (very easily done if you use express checkout). This unfortunately was my last impression of this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear PaulDev,

It is never pleasing to hear that the last impression a guest has of their stay is a negative one and I apologise that this is the case for you. I am very sorry for the error with your account and implore that it was certainly not an attempt to gain further profit, but an unfortunate error. This will be reported to the Front Office Manager and further training will be conducted with the team. Although our restaurant is closed on Sunday nights, we do serve food in the bar til late and we also have a great in room dining menu. I do hope you will consider staying with us again when you are next in Melbourne and if so please contact me directly so I may pick up your booking from the onset and ensure you are well looked after.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is an attractive hotel with nicely laid out rooms with an olde world grandeur. Unfortunately, a series of unpleasant experiences here meant that it was far from a five star experience...

1. Our two year old boy discovered a pair of soiled underpants in the corner of our room!! You can imagine our horror. Unfortunately, we had to chase management several times to follow up on this. We were eventually moved to another room and were given a rather feeble apology.

2. Upon our return to our room on day two, we discovered a half empty Coke bottle in our kitchenette. Neither my husband nor I drink this. It can only have been left in our room by a cleaner. Or we hope so anyway...

3. Upon check out we were given a bill for mini bar items we did not use, and presented with a $16 bill for a three minute phone call!!

It's a shame these experiences tainted our stay, as the location is excellent, the rooms very attractive and some of the staff were excellent. It's clear, however, that there are issues with the way the hotel is run and for this reason we wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Do NOT use the hotel phone!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsExpat_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear MrsExpat_12
I was appalled to hear of the events which occurred during your stay and I sincerely apologise. Please be assured that the information you have provided has been further pursued and the appropriate action has been taken. I would be very grateful for the opportunity to welcome you back to show you that this is not the standard you should expect from this hotel. When you are next in Melbourne please feel free to contact me directly and I will ensure your stay is as it always should be - a positive experience from arrival to departure.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here overnight for work. Room was large with lots of usable space. I had a kitchenette, bar, sofa, work desk etc. bed was very comfortable. Close to restaurants. Short stroll into the heart of the cbd. i would stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank partikles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Eddie Y,
Like many of our other corporate travellers, it seems that you have found our suites to be functional while at the same time being comfortable. When the work is done we’re in the perfect location to explore Melbourne’s exciting nightlife and if it’s restaurants that are of interest to you, our Concierge would be more than happy to point you in the right direction. It’s great to hear that you would stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,130 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 159 in Melbourne
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
1,075 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
7,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Property: Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Address: 111 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel with 282 suites and 26 brand new superior rooms.Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the pool facility featuring sleek furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, and a well equipped gym with cardiovascular and weight training equipment. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing