We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #36 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights for my sister's wedding which was held at Comme. Very convenient location as it was just across the lane. We stayed in a superior queen 1 bedroom spa room which was very spacious. The staff were very nice and service was great. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JetsetterPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear JetsetterPerth

Congratulations to your sister, I’m sure her day was special and enjoyable for all. Since her venue is our next door neighbor I can see why you found our location so convenient – only a hop, skip and jump you are tucked up in your comfy bed after a long day of celebrations.

I’m thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and it will be great to see you again next time.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,738
    1,283
    424
    140
    80
See reviews for
630
1,546
170
762
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My friends & I have a girls weekend away each year, and this time it was in Melbourne and we chose the Stamford Plaza and boy are we glad!
We checked in to our room with the 'Celebration' package. When we got into the room, therewas some party music playing, some lovely pink helium balloons and some small bottles of Moet for us to enjoy!
Our package included High Tea in our room which arrived and was amazing... Some more champagne!
Our room was all set up when we arrived with each of us getting a robe, slippers, headband & a cute teddy bear to take home!
Plenty of room for the 5 of us!
I've stayed here lots of times, our regular hotel at Easter when I was growing up.
The hotel has had a renovation since I was last there but still amazing...
The only negative is that the street was quite noisy at night, but you would get that at most places.
I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Traveller255100

Sounds as though you had a fabulous weekend in Melbourne and that the Stamford really contributed to the overall experience! I delighted we gave you girls a memorable welcome and a wonderful start to your weekend.

Be sure to stay with us again next time, we look forward to welcoming you back with the same exceptional Stamford service.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

As the parents of a child with cancer, it was a very rare night away for our anniversary. All we wanted and needed was a sleep in! The hotel room phone rang at 5.30am and frightened us to death, of course thinking it was an emergency regarding our daughter. We did get an apology which we appreciated, but I do feel very upset about it as we paid a lot of money that we saved up for, and we didn't even get our much needed sleep in :( Aside from this, the location is fantastic and the room was very nice, although I expected more from a 5 star hotel. Having said that, we were only in the 1 bedroom suite so maybe the more expensive rooms are more impressive. The bathrobes are old and not very soft which was another disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchcolin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Mitchcolin1

I’m sorry for the difficult situation you are going through in your family and completely understand the need for a nice relaxing retreat at a luxury hotel on the special occasion of your anniversary. Please accept my sincere apology for the early morning disruption to your sleep with the wake-up call you did not order and especially for the cause for concern it brought with it. I hope you otherwise enjoyed your anniversary and enjoyed the time you had together to celebrate it.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Our second visit to Stamford. We did "Our shout package", great value for money. we spent extra for spa room. Was great to see renovations finished. Place looked fantastic.
couldn't fault staff or room. Only a few small things, no bubble bath & dirty room service menu (covered in food), quickly remedied by call to housekeeping. There was a bit of noise from lifts, so would make sure not near them next time. As we had voucher for Harry's bar, had a few drinks, then decided to have meal from bar menu. food lovely, only bad thing, curry should have come with small bowl of rice.
Breakfast buffet was well stocked & a nice open area to eat.
Overall another great stay, look forward to another one soon.

Room Tip: make sure room not near elevator's, abit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear nicholettes

Thank you for your complimentary remarks concerning our lobby renovation. We are certainly very pleased with the new look. I’m also thrilled that you enjoyed all the benefits of the Our Shout Package and your constructive feedback is extremely valuable for us to continue to exceed expectations. Your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments for review.

Maybe next time you will enjoy our Romance and Seduction Package…It’s another luxurious treat and is also great value for money.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Location brilliant and compared to some of the service we received in Melbourne shops the Stamford service was outstanding.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Harry's bar is a superb place for a little R&R - say hi to Chad behind the bar.
The rooms are well appointed, full kitchen and very comfortable bed.
Very happy to recommend this hotel - very happy!

Room Tip: grab the upgrade to the king suite if offered
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear John I

Great to have made such a happy guest of you! We get lots of comments regarding the comfort of our suites and in particular the beds and thanks for your mention of our friendly staff member Chad, he’ll certainly be pleased he made a good impression. Harry’s Bar is a relaxing environment to enjoy a quiet drink.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Close to all the action. Tram is close by in Collins St. Stayed for 5 nights with a friend. Twin beds are huge and comfy. Very quiet and convenient. The bar downstairs is a comfy spot to kick back after a long day shopping. check in was good and they happily checked my bags upon early arrival. Will be back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jjk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear jjk13

Sounds like you had a super trip…5 days is enough to fit in all the shopping, dining and sightseeing you could want! I’m glad you enjoyed the comfort of our accommodations too!

We look forward to seeing you back again on your next trip.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We booked a King Suite for the Friday night of the AFL Grand Final Weekend, for my husband, my son and myself.

Hubby had booked it through Wotif, and was meeting us later in the adfternoon at the hotel.
I couldnt check in as it was booked under his name. I did think this was a little strange as the room had been paid in full.

After a quick call to Wotif, and my name added onto the booking, we were allowed to check in. Yay, a nine hour drive to get here and all I wanted was no hassles.

Room was booked for three people, but there was no extra bed, or towels in the room for the third person. Another phone call and this was also sorted.(was a little annoyed that I had to request this when it was clearly on the booking).

The room was great. Quite big, nice comfy lounge and a little kitchenette with everything you need.

Beds were comfy and the suite for us was great.

The location is fantastic. Walk to everything. Flinders St station, Federation Square, plenty of great places to eat nearby.

Walking to the MCG where we were heading the next morning for the Swans victory.

I would surely use this hotel again when staying in Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissPixieLix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear MissPixieLix

What an exciting weekend to be in the city and clearly for you a celebratory weekend too after the Swans victory. I’m sure you and your family will have made the most of it and enjoyed every moment. Sorry for not quite getting it right with the roll-away bed but I’m pleased we were able to quickly resolve the matter so you could get on with relaxing, exploring and cheering your team on.

It’ll be great to have you stay again, we look forward to it!

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#29 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Property: Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Address: 111 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel with 282 suites and 26 brand new superior rooms.Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the pool facility featuring sleek furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, and a well equipped gym with cardiovascular and weight training equipment. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing