We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
$193
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$110
$86
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$199
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$93
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Melbourne Marriott Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$162
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$169
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$121
$108
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (4,966)
Filter reviews
4,966 results
Traveler rating
2,323
1,730
602
201
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,323
1,730
602
201
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharry's bargreat locationspa bathking suitevalet parkingcollins streetlounge areasmall kitchenroom servicebuffet breakfastcentral locationenjoyable staymini bargreat roomconciergegymcouch
Filter
Updating list...
4,649 - 4,654 of 4,966 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location, easy walking distance to cbd activities, southbank, tennis and MCG. Accommodation was in a twin one bedroom suite, this included twin double beds which were extremely comfortable. There was plenty of room in the suite, there was a small kitchen with stove top, microwave, dishwasher and bar fridge. If you wanted to cook a meal you could request a box of cooking equipment from reception. (did not do this) The lounge dining area contained a small round table and two chairs and a couch. There were two lcd TVs, a large one on the wall in the lounge area and a smallere one on the wall in the bedroom. The ensuite facilities were excellent, you had a separate room with the shower/bath and toilet and then vanity unit was outside this room. The pool facilities looked good (did not use) and the mini gym was situated on two floors, 11th floor contained strength training and 12th floor had cardio equipement, used this and was excellent. We stayed in the west tower, although the room seemed a little dark and you had to always have the lights on, it was very peaceful and quiet, got a good nights sleep, our room looked out onto the laneway between the two towers. Staff were very pleasant at all times. Got a good deal on wotif and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

Dear SMC56,

Thank you for putting your informative comments on TripAdvisor. The hotel is situated in a great location in the CBD. The sales are on at the moment and we are seeing many lovely colourful bags passing through reception.

I hope you have a very Happy 2012. Come back and stay again soon and try one of our popular packages.

Kind regards

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Great option if you can get a good deal. Had a 2 bedroom suite - very compact but good room. Noisy at night due to lack of double glazing. Great staff, but valet parking very over the top

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicko68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

Dear Nicko68,

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.

Come back and see us again soon.

Like us on Facebook.
Follow us on Twitter.

Kind regards

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We are from Perth and had spent Christmas in Tasmania with family and arrived at the Stamford on the 30th December. We were greeted as we arrived from our taxi trip from Port Melbourne and taken straight to reception.
We were booked in very quickly, and then we procceded up to our 5th floor room. We booked a executive suit one bedroom queen, as we entered our room it was lovely and clean and with a small kitchen, lounge room with a flat screen and a seperate bedroom with a flat screen too. I think that the bathroom was a little on the small side, but everything was perfect.
We were there for 3 nights and I must say everything was great, we didnt eat at the Stamford but we did enjoy a few drinks over the time we were there and it was very pleasent ( we did think that Harry's bar was a bit dated ) but staff friendly and drinks cold and service was quick.
I think that maybe it was over rated for the price we paid for new years eve night, but we do understand that most hotels increase their prices for that night, but we had booked back in May and it wasnt a last minute booking. We did have to call room service though on new years day, and ask for our room to be cleaned, this was cleaned around 2.30 so if any complaints this would be it.
All staff were friendly and helpful with anything we asked, we would stay again at the Stamford, as its location was fantastic for what we wanted.
Thank you for making our holiday in Melbourne a great start for 2012.

Room Tip: I think we were in the South side, as it was very quite considering that it was NYE and we had a corner room, which we enjoyed :)
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lushdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

Dear Lushdaz,

I am so pleased you chose Stamford Plaza Melbourne for your New Year's celebrations.


Come back and stay with us again soon.



Like us on Facebook.
Follow us on Twitter.

Kind regards

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in early January 2012. From the time you arrive the staff are helpful and friendly. Nothing is too much touble. Our vehicle was chaffeured away and our bags taken up to our room. The room was extremely comfortable and spacious which included, spa, small kitchen, 2 x lcd televisions, large lounge and dining table. All the liitle things like iron, hairdyer, champagne glassses etc were provided. The bed was very comfortable and there was an abundance of pillows.

Our package for $200 included parking, breakfast for 2 and a 2 for 1 drink vouchure for the bar downstairs.

As I came from interstate it was a pleasant surprise to find the Stamford was a short walk from major shops, China town, tram stations (if thats what you call them) and Flinders railway station. There are a number of pubs and resturants close by aswell.

The full buffet breakfast was sensational. My coffee cup was constantly monitored and all dirty bowls and cups were removed very quickly. The variety was fantastic and the chef was on standby in front of the kitchen for any any special orders that any customers may have had.

I highly recommend this hotel not just for it's close location to everything but for the friendly service that the staff provide. Nothing seemed to be too trouble and all reuests and or enquiries were dealt with quickly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themurgs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

Themurgs4,


Thank you so much for your complimentary comments concerning our staff, and I am so pleased you enjoyed the buffet breakfast. The Hotel’s location is very popular with leisure and business guests.

We do hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Like us on Facebook.
Follow us on Twitter.

Kind regards

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

In a nutshell the stamford plaza was - easy check in..funny and friendly receptionist..scary but fun glass lift up..decent room..tiny balcony...fancy bathroom..and smoking inside!! was great..no complaints!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews