We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Right near everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #37 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Right near everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Grabbed a last minute deal for this hotel.
It was fully renovated and had everything you needed, a kitchenette with all facilities and also a table and couch.
Beside that "room" was a comfy queen bed, leading into the bathroom which had a bath (1 person).

The location is great, Harry's bar was nice to relax in and friendly service was had there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aknavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

I was delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your positive feedback. We also think the hotel is in a great location in Melbourne. Hope you come back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,518
    1,153
    377
    130
    69
See reviews for
564
1,372
154
645
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We stayed here as a base to go to the theatre and the entire experience was spectacular. The staff were friendly and helpful, the bar next door was fantastic. The bar staff were very friendly and considerate.

We booked the 'Romance Package' and every detail was superb. From the chocolate dipped strawberries, chilled champagne and canepes waiting for us when we arrived, to the breakfast the next morning.

The hotel is in a great location, close to shopping, theatres and China town, which provides a great selection for dinner.

All in all it was a great experience and we will definitely be going back for more!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bananas28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, June 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your complimentary feedback. So pleased you enjoyed the Romance & Seduction package, it is a very popular package. We look forward to welcoming you back to Stamford Plaza Melbourne in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Really enjoy staying at the Stamford Plaza Melbourne.
Great location, seems to be central to everything and a short walk away your on a tram around Melbourne.
Service is great and rooms a large and very comfortable. Love Harry's bar and Moet by the glass.
Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clancy-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you return to Stamford Plaza Melbourne soon.

Yours sincerely


Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We stayed at the Stamford Plaza last year and were pleasantly surprised this time to find the suite (which was a 1 BR suite) refurbished with elegant and comfortable furnitures. The bedroom and the living room have wall-mounted flat screen TVs. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Only one of the two lifts was working and it took a while and a bit of squeezing to get to your level. There are a few things which we found not so exciting: The rooms are dark as they face the other tower. The bathroom is very small and there is little space to put things around the vanity. There is a shower over bath, and bathtub and toilet are separate from the vanity area. The closet space is right next to the vanity, very small as well and a bit annoying to access. I think a 5* hotel should supply quilt covers and not just sheets draped over a quilt and tucked under the mattress. Unless you feel comfortable sleeping like in a straight jacket you will find yourself in a bit of a mess of sheets and blanket in the morning, something I find not very hygienic. The kitchen is very practical with a nice big fridge, however, glasses and dishes for 2 people only, no cutting board or knife, etc. Although there is a dual cook top, there is no cookware at all. I doubt people will travel with their own frypan, so I guess the kitchen is not meant to do some cooking. However, all this put aside, it is a comfortable hotel and the location is fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodfoodfanOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments concerning our staff. I apologise for the inconvenience of the lift being out of order during your stay. It is in full operation, unfortunately the motor upgrade was necessary. To give you a lighter room we would be happy to upgrade you to a higher floor.
Cooking kits are available from our Housekeeping Department.

We do hope you will return to Stamford Plaza Melbourne in the near future.

Yours faithfully
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

I wouldn't classify this hotel as 5 stars... One of the lifts was broken which meant lenghty waits, and our keys wouldn't unlock the door to our room.

We had to ask them TWICE to fix this issue. The first time we had to go all the way back down to the foyer and sort it out, and the second time we called from the phone next to the lifts and were told that someone was on their way up.

We waited ten minutes and still no one arrived so we had to go back downstairs and actually ask them to come up.

This kind of thing would be acceptable at some dodgy motel in the suburbs but this is apparently a 5 star hotel in the city. If it happened once then that is understandable, but to have to deal with this kind of crap a second time round and to be kept waiting is pretty much a joke.

The carpet on our level was very dirty and off-putting - the room itself was nice however it was totally ruined as the bed was hard as a rock and resulted in one of the worst night's sleep I have ever had. Pretty disappointing considering the amount we paid.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelleKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience of the lift and your keys not working during your stay.

I do hope you will return to Stamford Plaza Melbourne where we hope to demonstrate that we are capable of meeting your expectations.

Yours faithfully

Karl Unterfrauner
General Managaer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Booked Stamford because of it's handy location but it is really disappointing. List of complaints too numerous to write... Hotel is more like a 3 star. Would definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamburggirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like you to give us your feedback personally. Please give me a call on (03) 9659 1175 at your convenience.

Yours sincerely,


Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

Stayed here 3 nights with a toddler. Rooms were compact & just managed to fit the portacot in the bedroom by the window. Great amenities, loved the buffet breakfast and the pool and location was only minutes walk from central Melbourne. Can't say enough about the location, we even walked to Little Malaysia in the evening for dinner, on the edge of Chinatown. Service was excellent, supplied highchair & portacot quickly and even charged up our mobile phone as we left our charger behind! Room service food was okay too.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nasturtian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We hope you return to see us soon.

Yours sincerely

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#11 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,147 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#32 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,330 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Property: Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very excited that our construction program creating an additional 26 Melbourne hotel suites for our hotel has commenced. The program is scheduled for a completion in September, 2016 and every effort has been made to minimise disruption to our guests during this time. For safety, the working zone is completely contained and works will only be carried out within reasonable daytime hours. The set time frame for works is between 9am & 5pm Monday to Friday and 11am & 4pm on Saturday only. Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the pool facility featuring sleek furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, and a well equipped gym with cardiovascular and weight training equipment. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing