We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again.Next time with club class.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #16 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Would stay again.Next time with club class.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

I stayed here the Sofitel for three days in August wth my husband who was in Melbourne on business.i(.We were refugees from the Windsor around the corner where I will never set foot in again).The Sofitel was almost flawless.Service,rooms,view comfort all excellent.Brilliant concierge
THe bedrooms were very comfortable.The bed was the most comfortable I have slept in.THe bathroom was good with superb Roger Gallet toileteries.Hi tech lighting and the air contitioning was as good as it gets.
.But why is the internet and dining so expensive? And the price of laundry? THe nice concierge directed me to a local chinese launderette.Sofitel note some clients would like a small laundry for self use.And could someone ask reception to let people know about the club arrangement?
I really enjoyed my stay.Everything worked and was really 5 star.Hopefully I will get a chance to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank society
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,323
    1,202
    351
    119
    63
See reviews for
569
2,824
319
872
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
western australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

Got off to a bad start, check in for 2 rooms- one king and one twin- rooms on completely different floors! Asked the desk clerk to try to rectify to be met with "we are really busy and have 170 checkins tomorrow", sorry- not good enough. About 5 minutes of work later and she got us rooms on the same floor, with one room in the middle.
Rooms were quite nice, great view over MCG, etc. I dont know if we were unlucky or if it is just how this hotel operates but the king bed is two beds pushed together. Still, it was comfy and the linen and pillows really nice.
I think for $300/night in a standard room the bathrooms need to be upgraded though, they are showing their age. The wear and tear on rooms is a bit obvious with scratchesand divots in the furniture and bathroom tiles.
Location wise it is great, easy to get around and lots of good eateries on the doorstep.
Didnt use the miniibar , room service or the hotel restaurant. Hugely expensive room service charges- $42 for a breakfast????????!!!!!!!
My other big gripe- $27/day for internet access!
I think the hotel is good if you get a great deal but I wouldn't hurry back. Maybe the club level is a better option as per previous reviewers.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

After a couple of forgettable experiences at other Sofitels in around the world recently, we were a little apprehensive as to how our stay in Collins Street was going to be. From the moment our taxi door was opened, however, it was clear the Melbourne Sofitel was in another league. This continued upon check-in where Jose was extremely pleasant and helpful, giving us a genuine sense of feeling welcome. Next, up to our 48th floor club suite, where a beautifully appointed room complete with modern trimmings awaited us – huge plush bed, sensational views and THE BEST bath I’ve ever had. The club floor was also amongst the best we’ve been to, and well worth that little bit extra – particularly for that view in the morning! If it’s location you’re after, this hotel is smack bang in the middle of anything and everything you need. We struggled to think of anywhere else in the world we have stayed that offered so much at such a reasonable rate, and for this reason alone we will definitely be back. Now, if only the other Sofitel’s would take a leaf out of the Melbourne book…

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestOzRossco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

This is pretty much my favourite hotel in the WORLD. AMAZING service, AMAZING decor, AMAZING rooms.....there is nothing to complain about at all.
From the minute you walk into the hotel, they treat you like royalty. From the gorgeous fragrant lobby area, to the bellboys who take your bags off you and deliver to your room in under 10 minutes, to the impeccable reception staff, the service is second to none.
The beds are the most comfortable I have slept in, ever, and the view from pretty much any room is spectacular - the hotel rooms are from floor 35 and above in the building, so you get amazing aerial views of Melbourne.
We usually upgrade to club level - exxy but so worth it. The club level rooms are even nicer than the standard rooms, and you get access to the Club Sofitel area - a place to have complimentary breakfast, easily the best Ive had anywhere, with made-to-order dishes such as the fantastic blueberry pancakes with yoghurt, plus pre-made scrambled eggs, etc. Club Sofitel also does brilliant morning and afternoon tea, as well as pre-dinner canapes (which we have many a time eaten as our dinner!). Free drinks all day, including bottles of water and juice, access to free internet, printer, a games room for kids with an XBox, huge bathroom with shower included to use before flight home.....whats not to love, honestly. And Club Sofitel has huge, huge floor to ceiling windows with a telescope, and the view needs to be seen to be believed.

I couldnt talk it up enough!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meliss777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
179 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

We picked this up as a secret hotel deal on Lastminute.com. It was therefore pretty cheap. The check in service was excellent, the room was well appointed and clean. The bed was very comfortable. We had great views which I suspect are repeated wherever you are located in the hotel. The bar on the 35th floor was very nice and the service there was great but the real star of the show was the restaurant No35 - we had a fantastic tasting menu there with brilliantly matched wines. We would travel back to the hotel again just to go to the restaurant!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sofitel for one night last weekend to celebrate our anniversary. From the moment we stepped into the foyer, greeted with 'bonjour' at check-in and heard the piano tinkling in Sofi's lounge - we knew it was going to be fantastic!

All the rooms at Sofitel start from the 36th floor so you're guaranteed a great view (I have paid more to stay at the Grand Hyatt and was only on the 10th floor). It is definitely worthwhile upgrading to a luxury king room which gave us a corner room with spectacular 180 degree views over some of the beautiful landmarks of Melbourne! The room had modern decor and has all the latest technology - LCD TV, dvd player, a control pad to create mood lighting and even a connection for an ipod which plays over the surround sound! & the bed was definitely comfortable!

We ordered a special romance package which included french champagne, strawberries and chocolate, room service breakfast and late check out at 1p.m which was great! There was a little bit of confusion with the hotel staff - we expected the champagne to be in our room waiting for us but it wasn't there, after a phone call to guest relations, we were delivered a bottle of sparkling wine (not what we were expecting) but after speaking to front desk everything was sorted out. The breakfast in the morning was delicious - cereal, fruits, eggs, bacon, sausages, coffee, orange juice - although we expected a few more pastries!

Overall we had a relaxing and enjoyable stay at the Sofitel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jalibabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

This hotel was fabulous. It had some of the most amazing views of Melbourne I think you could find. The room and bathroom were both a good size, with everything you needed. The free water and choccies of an evening are a nice touch. The location was great, very central to everything - we previously stayed at the Park Hyatt and found this location to be more central (although wouldn't fault the Park Hyatt in any other way). Staff were also friendly - helped book restaurants, lent us an ipod charger etc.

In the end, its all about the views! If you don't stay here, you must atleast come and check out the view from the bar.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brookster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,169 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing