We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #16 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Above our usual budget but worth to stay as long as you can afford it. Wonderful beds and pillows, a great view and everything a great hotel should be, including having greatv staff. We enjoyed our pre dinner bar experience with compimentary nibbles. We ate out at one of Melbournes fabulous Italian Lygon Street restaurants, but the hotel restaurant menu was fabulous.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,333)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,033 - 5,039 of 5,333 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2010

Paid roughly $220 for a south facing booking on a Friday night on a high floor including breakfast and complimentary champagne on arrival. Hilton rate was $280 on the same night excluding breakfast.

Rooms are excellent with bed and pillows very comfortable. Staff are very friendly and attentive without being overbearing.

Breakfast was outstanding.

My wife and I were both very happy. Excellent proximity (walking distance) to all CBD attractions.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

The public bathrooms have a glass wall with an incredible view of the city.

Click here to see it http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BEcFt3xzFVg

Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
1  Thank DottieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

We have stayed at this property three times in the last couple of months, and on each occasion we were very happy with our stay.

We booked "Sofitel Club" rooms, which are located on the top floors of the building. The views of Melbourne are just spectacular, and the rooms have all the facilities one expects of a five star hotel in a major city. Some rooms are refurbished in a modern style, but even the "older" rooms are nicely decorated, and they all have those views.

The Softel Club is great - with this access you can take breakfast in the club, which is a generous buffet and a choice of hot dishes prepared by the chef. There are various snacks, tea, coffee and cold drinks all day, and in the evening an open bar with canapes and hot snacks. You could exist happily on the food and drink provided in the club, and there are those same views to enjoy.

The Sofitel is superbly located in the heart of Melbourne, and is the ideal inner-city hotel. We look forward to staying there many times in the future.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Travellers286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights whilst holidaying in Melbourne.
The hotel is a little hard to find from the taxi stand and there isn't much signage.
When we checked in, the foyer was lovely. The couches and lamps added a nice cosey feeling to the place.
Downside was staff didn't assist us with our bags and we had to carry them on our own. Not sure whether this reflects a 5 star hotel.

We were on the 39th floor in a classic room and our room was lovely. Nice views of the city and both room and bathroom were very clean. The toiletries were lovely.
The king bed was the most comfortable bed ive ever slept on in any hotel. Sheets were spotless and crisp.

We tried the buffet breakfast one morning and found this quite average. It wasn't worth the $40 per person that's for sure. There are many nicer cafes in Melbourne to choose for breakfast at a fraction of the price.

Hotel is in a good location, and you just catch any tram out the front and it lets you off at the city centre.

We'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank helen29000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We had a tiny glitch during check in but it was solved fairly quickly. Maybe because we were locals, we didn't find it that hard to find the lobby as we've been to the restaurant - No. 35 before. That restuarant is well-worth going to - good food and amazing views.

The room was pretty standard and service was pretty fast and professional.The view was quite impressive (we were on the 44th floor). The bathroom was clean and well equipped. However, we ordered room service for breakfast and it was the worst breakfast I've ever consumed.

They also have in-room massages but unfortunately they were closed when we were there. The prices for the massages were pretty reasonable.

All in all, it was a pretty average experience. Not the 5 star experience we were expecting.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GRUI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Fantastic first stay at the Sofitel. Staff were great, hotel rooms were spacious and food great. The prices was reasonable - my only grip would be having to go to the bed to manage the lighting and audio in the room. I would recommend this hotel absolutely.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treksterhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,622 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
2,736 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#27 of 160 in Melbourne
8,159 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
2,369 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 160 in Melbourne
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $195 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing