We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #17 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here now many times. So I now feel I can pass on my thoughts. This hotel is just beautiful the feel is welcoming and always with a smile. The staff love there work and there customers.
Great spot great beds and great service.
You will love it

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments and for returning to stay at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone.
We thank you for your ongoing support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,185 - 2,191 of 5,417 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a super night at the Sofitel Melbourne recently. Room on the 44th floor with killer views of the bay and the city. Great staff from the concierge to reception to the bar, nothing is too much trouble here. Lovely chocolates and small fruit plate in our room on arrival, which was a nice touch. We always try and stay here when in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Any room is fabulous here, but try booking a corner room for more views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracyP1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and welcome back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. Appreciate your kind words about the service received by our Ambassadors, it is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay in Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a fantastic and relaxing few days at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins which doubled as a wedding anniversary celebrations and a catch up with family and friends. We booked a corner room to take in the awesome views of Melbourne and was offered an upgrade to a Junior Suite on the 48th floor overlooking the MCG, Yarra River, Southbank and the bay - the views were simply amazing. The room itself was very well appointed as to be expected and was huge. The service was outstanding from the welcome drinks at the bar to the nightly turn down service to scented bed spray to help with sleep. Even when we came down for Sunday breakfast at No.35 and they were very busy we only had to wait about 10mins for a table. Certainly being able to use our Accor Adv Plus card made the meals very good value. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank RedJar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and the Sofitel Club Lounge experience. I agree with you, we are blessed with all rooms having fabulous views of Melbourne. Thank you also for your comments regarding the service provided by our Ambassadors. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We travel to Melbourne often, but this was our first stay at the Sofitel Melbourne,..and,it wont be the last.
We booked and stayed in a Club executive suite which was huge, and offered wonderful views over Melbourne. The staff were so professional and courteous,..it made our stay perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tassietravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you for your review on Tip Advisor. I am pleased to read you appreciated your Sofitel Experience. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back in a not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Was upgraded on arrival, room was quite nice, fantastic views, carpet was a bit dirty. Didn't think I would be woken at 8 am by someone banging a hammer in the room above us, that wasn't 5 star qualiity. For the price of the rooms you would think they might not charge you enormous prices for whats in the bar fridge, was too scared to even think about touching anything. Bed was comfy, no free wi-fi. Breakfast was yummy, staff were fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajayecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The Sofitel is a typical well run upmarket chain hotel that one finds in large cities. Accommodation costs can be quite reasonable provided you book early or perhaps later, if you are lucky. The staff are courteous and helpful, the rooms a little on the small side, we were on the 46th floor. A comfortable king bed and chairs crowded the room, the bathroom was small with S.O.B. The hotel is very well situated being at the "Paris" end of the city with coffee shops aplenty plus a movie theater. We dined at restaurant 35 and found the food well prepared and tasty but pricey. The wines have a 400 to 500% markup. However, the view of the city at night is to die for. Breakfast is one of the best I have had, fresh wholesome ingredients, very tasty. Now for the parking. We arrived at the hotel at 14.21 and left the next morning at 09.45. The cost was $81.37. A lot less if you arrive after 16.00. Be aware.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree with you, the views of Melbourne are spectacular from our guests rooms and No35 restaurant. Your feedback regarding our breakfast will certainly be forwarded to the Executive Chef. Thank you. I am sorry to read that you parked your own vehicle which resulted in the providers charge. We offer hotel valet parking at $50 per a 24 hour period. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and hope that you allow our Ambassadors to take care of your vehicle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#7 of 161 in Melbourne
5,833 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,467 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#15 of 161 in Melbourne
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,848 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
8,497 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $171 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing