We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #17 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My sister and I visited Melbourne for a girls weekend over the Easter long weekend and were excited to be staying at the Sofitel.

From the moment we arrived the staff were amazing. All of the staff we had interactions with during our stay we're extremely friendly, helpful and they always offered to go above and beyond what we've experienced at other hotels.

The door staff who greeted us at the entrance were very welcoming and set the tone for rest of the staff. The concierge and reception staff were all extremely friendly, informative and provided us with assistance on numerous occasions.

Our room was excellent, very clean and spacious with amazing views of the city. The bed was super comfy, I hated having to get up in the morning. The hotel was quiet, we didn't hear any noise from other rooms or restaurant area. The lights in the bathroom also need to be brighter.

We tried a few times to get on to the internet in our room, it was near impossible to get the internet to work, however when it did finally connect it came up with a $13 for 2hours usage fee (pretty sure it was free wifi in the foyer). For a five star hotel, I expect free wifi (that works) available in my room.

Biggest disappointment was the inability to secure a taxi for a trip over to Southbank on the first night wee were there, three taxis drove in and out of the driveway. The third taxi locked their doors and we couldn't get in, the taxis in Melbourne are horrendous and only want long fares (particularly to the airport). After that we refused to use taxis. While I appreciate the hotel can't control the taxis, I also don't expect to attend a high class hotel (with the price tag that's attached to the Sofitel) and not be able to get a taxi, especially when we had no idea how to get around the city.

The hotel itself is amazing, very beautiful and has its own scent! The furniture and fittings just in the reception area alone were luxurious and what I would expect from a hotel of this level.

Room Tip: The higher your room, the better the view. Grab yourself a myki tram card and use the trams as muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GN V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was thrilled to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us and our friendly and friendly Ambassadors took great care of you.Your comments regarding the internet connection are appreciated and I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you. I apologise for the taxi’s in Melbourne. We certainly wish we could influence their attitude on occasions and believe me, we have tried. I hope that this negative experience will not prevent you from staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,193 - 2,199 of 5,393 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Sofitel on Collins is a lovely hotel and the staff very attentive (Andrew the concierge was particularly helpful). The location is good for wandering into the city (particularly if you're keen on frequenting some of the more exclusive shops), the high tea at Sofi's was fantastic and the views are amazing. There were a few practicalities about the room that could be addressed though - there are very few drawers for putting clothes into if you are staying more than a couple of days, there is no storage in the bathroom (and insufficient towel rails with the clothesline extending right through the centre of one, rather defeating the purpose), the shutters are great for blocking out the light but only if you can close them (several in ours were held open by the entertainment unit which meant the sun woke us up quite early), the use of Club Sofitel is over and above the room cost which is a surprise if you're used to it being included from other Sofitels and lastly, there was no plug near the mirror in the room which meant hair dying had to be done in the bathroom (holding it up and preventing use by anyone else).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_Holt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your past stay and our facilities. Your kind words regarding the service provided by Andrew is also truly appreciated.
I appreciate your comments on the areas in the hotel that we can improve upon and I thank you for sharing your concerns. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Things were looking good when we arrived at the hotel from an early morning flight and there was a concierge and 3 porters standing to greet us. I joked to the driver that we had a person to carry each one of our bags!

We have been coming to this hotel from NSW annually for many years with some ups and downs but this year was definitely an up.

The customer relations manager advised we had been upgraded to a junior suite and we could check in to the room at 10.30am. Loyalty should and does have its rewards.

When we came back from a superb lunch at Mirka's at St Kilda, (another review), we found a very nice bottle of champagne in our room with luscious strawberries and some dipping chocolate and also raspberry sauce with a welcome back note.

Thanks to Debbie on Reception who checked us in and remembered my name 2 days later when she looked after us with some requests. Nothing was a problem.

We noticed the standard of the food and wait service has increased considerably at the hotel restaurant No 35, (on the 35th floor with amazing views and floor to ceiling windows), from our most recent previous visits and really enjoyed the breakfast and dinner we had as well as one night where we just ducked in for dessert.

I may question the suggested pairing of dessert wines with sweet desserts which is never easy, usually much better with a nice blue cheese etc, and we had a disagreement with the restaurant supervisor over an ice wine that night that he removed from the bill whilst still disagreeing with us, but the deserts themselves were sublime.

The views from our room were magnificent. There is a problem with dirty windows which must not be easy to control when the hotel runs from the 36th to 50th floors of the building but thankfully the ones to the bay and fed square were pristine and made for some beautiful sunrise, dusk and evening photos.

The number of wait staff at the restaurant was amazing for breakfast and Andy/Andrew for dinner was truly excellent even if he worked a bit too hard for his deserved tip, (complimenting me on my choice of cologne). :-)

The housekeeping staff also were very helpful with requests and the poor concierge who found a black belt for me in 20 minutes before dinner is also an asset.

This is a stunning hotel who have dedicated and thoughtful staff to make what, for most, is a special stay into a truly memorable one, thank you very much Sofitel and look forward to seeing you next year.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with bay views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and detailed review of your recent stay.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to our fabulous suite and the view that came with it. We are blessed with all rooms having fabulous views of Melbourne.It is wonderful to know that our Ambassadors made your stay special. The team will be thrilled to read your comments.We are delighted to read that you have truly enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you back next year, if not sooner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Although the rooms aren't the most modern I have stayed in, they are comfortable, classic in styling with a lovely cosy bed. Chose to stay here based on rave reviews and we weren't disappointed, staff were all extremely courteous, helpful and made us feel special, even sending us a bottle of champagne to toast my sisters 30th birthday the reason for our stay. The views from our room were spectacular and the food at no 35 something special indeed! The gym was fantastic although on the small side compared to other 5 star hotels I have stayed at. All in all a great experience.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank cherryred55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to celebrate your sister’s birthday with us. We pride ourselves on providing genuine service and those little extra touches that make a stay memorable. It’s great to hear you had a pleasant experience. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed one night but wish we could have stayed longer. Handy to explore Melbourne.
Service excellent. Room had fantastic views and comfy armchairs by the windows. We were able to drink wine admiring the city lights. Bed and bed linen soooo comfortable .Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed there for 1 night (our last night in Melbourne).
We kept the best for last.... The right choice to stay at this amazing Hotel.
It has all the Sofitel standard, the location (at the corner end of Collins street, the same complex with shopping mall and office building), the facilities and the amenities.
It just walking distance to most of Melbourne main points, or at least to the tram stop.
The staff were very helpful and friendly as well.
We really enjoyed our stay there, would definitely recommend this Hotel for unforgettable experience in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 168RoyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent visit to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. I am very glad to hear that our staff were friendly and helpful and made your stay truly memorable. We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed here one night after dinner and a show in town. Perfect location on Collins Street and a short walk to anything and everything worth doing/seeing/eating/drinking in Melbourne(and well enough away from the Casino as an added bonus).Outstanding views. Excellent breakfast. Couldn't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Corner rooms facing southwest or southeast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John19661966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,765 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,428 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,014 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
8,396 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $188 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing