We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and brilliant service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #16 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel and brilliant service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed three nights in a King Room - as expected from the Sofitel as I had stayed there before several years before. Stayed on level 47 and really enjoyed the view over the top of the gardens, MCG and Rod Laver.
We received chocolates (small box) on arrival as we were members of Accor Le Club and an early check in. After the first night we left a note for housekeeping asking for another small box of chocolates because they were so delicious! Later that afternoon, a housekeeper arrived with two boxes of chocolates for us - we were thrilled! Then, shortly after that, there was another knock at the door and we were provided with another couple of boxes due to a mix-up. Hardly an error in my books! Thanks team, enjoyed the stay and will return soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtchclt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your past stay and our facilities. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone. I agree with you, our chocolates are delicious.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,361
    1,214
    356
    120
    66
See reviews for
575
2,852
324
886
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (808)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

The new renovated rooms are great with the separate shower and bath. They have a corner that is clear glass to see through to your room (and the TV!) but you can make it frosted with the flick of a switch. Beds so comfortable. Staff very happy to do little extras for you (like warm your breakfast croissants to make them flaky)

Room Tip: Order the hot chocolate with your room service breakfast. Delicious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
We are appreciative of you taking your time to share your thoughts with us.
I am very glad to hear that our staff were helpful and I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone. I was also very pleased to read that you did enjoy our new guest rooms, thank you for letting me know. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floreat, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

I usually stay when on business at the Sofitel on Collins because it is well very located and is good value for money.

Staff are polite and friendly, the rooms themselves aren't overly large, but are well equipped.Soft bed and pillows (if that is what you like). The showers are of the "over the bath type" which is not my preference. Rooms service menu a variety has 'shrunk' and not as good as it used to be.

Of course good views from rooms and the restaurant still remain..

A very good hotel despite lack of pool amenities which downgrades its rating; but I'm there on quick business trips so not one of my higher priority needs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your past stay and that you found all our team to be friendly and polite. We are in the process of finalising the refurbishment of all hotel room bathroom to include a separate shower. We certainly can allocate you a room with a separate shower for your ease. Please let us know next time you stay with us.
We thank you for your ongoing support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at Sofitel for three night in February, it was everything we could have asked for or expect.
We splurged and stayed in an executive suite (not cheap) but it was brilliant. The views from the 45th floor were 180 degrees and amazing.
The room itself was decadent and left us wishing we could stay forever.
The staff were all very good and seemed to love working there, which makes them a big part of the attraction.
Special mention for the concierge,I was a little unprepared for Valentines day and he secured me great tickets and dinner reservations.
The staff in the exec lounge were all brilliant as well.
I would love to be able to afford to make it a yearly pilgrimage for valentines day...
If you want 5 star service and quality you pay a little more, Sofitel on Collins is worth every cent..

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable. We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here. Our concierge team will be thrilled to hear you kind words.
We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyneton, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Just one night, to enjoy not being at home! Great room, great view, great facilities. Not sure why I didn't sleep as well as I thought I would, though. A great stay, nonetheless, and I plan to do it again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Standard room was very nice, our room smaller than our friends room which was next door, although we had bath tub with tv in bathroom and they didn't. Comfy bed. Good view over MCG. Great location for footy at MCG, near shops. Food outlets under hotel. Nice ambience throughout hotel. One complaint is that the cocktail bar on level 35 shuts too early.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Lara2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and the views of Melbourne are spectacular. Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is within close walking distance to various attractions which is why our guest choose to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you and your guest back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,257 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,357 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#18 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing