We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice highrise hotel; great views...poor wifi service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #16 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Malibu, California, United States
Level Contributor
619 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Nice highrise hotel; great views...poor wifi service”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel should get five stars, however there are a few shortfalls. The first one was that there was really poor wifi service and they charge $12.50 for two hours of service. What is up with that poor customer service idea. In this day and age, travelers require internet service and to rip-off your customers is just ridiculous. Hope the management of the Sofitel reads this and thinks about how badly seasoned travelers feel about this practice. There is a decent gym, with a a great view and the space is clean. Same great breakfast that you find at other Sofitel;s in Australia. You can get a high room with an ocean view.

Room Tip: Go for a high room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. I was glad to read that you enjoyed our spectacular views of Melbourne and its surroundings.

Your constructive comments regarding the internet are appreciated and well taken. We are certainly eager to improve in this area and are working on it to ensure we make the guest experience as pleasant as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,398
    1,230
    359
    120
    66
See reviews for
586
2,879
327
897
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maidenhead
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This place is a really nice hotel but for the business traveler, you need internet connection and although my room had the supposed free wifi, it kept dropping in and out. There was no option to pay for one so didnt get much work done. I did complain but the helpdesk didnt really help. Apart from that, everything else was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandeepmander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins.
I was glad to read that you did enjoy your stay in spite of some troubles with the internet in your guest room. I sincerely apologise that you were unable to complete your work.
Your feedback is very important to us. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Beginning with the exemplary Sunday brunch at No:35, spectacular views, amazing food, wine & ambiance, checking into 5 Star room,showcasing Melbourne at its finest - Perfection!
Best way to celebrate!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for returning to stay at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels.
We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Outstanding in every way. Stayed in a Prestige Suite, which was exceptional and had the most amazing views of Melbourne. The staff at Club Sofitel are the best in Melbourne - no other hotel in Melbourne matches their level of service provided or the quality of food and beverages on offer in their club, including one of the best breakfasts I have ever had in my life. Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
I was very happy to read that you enjoyed the Prestige Suite and the view that came with it. We are blessed with all rooms having fabulous views of Melbourne.
I was also delighted to read that you truly enjoyed the Club Sofitel experience and that our Ambassadors were able to make your stay even more memorable.
We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,348 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,548 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing