We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #15 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Year's Stay”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had two nights here to celebrate New Years Eve and booked a room with a view. I didn't think the view would be that great but it was truly amazing! We could see the MCG, Treasury Gardens, the Yarra etc and the fireworks were brilliant. I was impressed with the service and the staff really made our stay special. They are really child friendly and I was surprised at how quiet our room was. Drinks in the Atrium bar was a highlight- even the fairy floss mocktail for our son. Breakfast on New Year's Day at No.35 was great considering how busy it was it did not feel crowded. Think I have to make this a NYE tradition and stay again.

Room Tip: If you pay extra for a view you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. It is not often one takes the time to write with such thoughtful praise. Thank you for your positive feedback and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,479
    1,256
    362
    120
    68
See reviews for
598
2,935
334
925
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (845)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This hotel has the Wow factor right from the start driving into private alleyway greeted straight away. Check-in told you've been upgraded to a superior room with views out over the bay - views to die for over Federation Square, M.C.G. just to name a couple of places. As Howler we booked Christmas Dinner Level 35 with our two grown-up sons who live in Melbourne - our whole night was one to remember. Words are not enough it was stunning, service/food/views. Loved it!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and for choosing to stay at Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. Your kind words regarding your experience at the hotel and the subsequent service provided by our Ambassadors is truly appreciated. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Having recently experienced two other Sofitel Hotels in Cambodia, which were wonderful, to stay in, Sofitel on Collins was sheer delight. I especially love the pillows. My Deluxe King Sized room on the 40th floor had spectacular views

Room Tip: Loved the King Size Deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 795Joy795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and for choosing to stay at Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. We pride ourselves in providing the finest, most up-to-date product in the competitive Melbourne market and so we certainly appreciate your feedback and spending your precious time in doing so. We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel is nice, just a little dated, yet still a good choice and I would have given it a better score if I did not have had a bad and weird experience a couple times with the staff and management.

It started as a simple, "sorry your booking is not valid because your first name in your ID does not match in exact spelling with your first name in your credit card and that in the reservation we have received", which soon escalated to rude, arrogant, and even somewhat aggressive behavior, e.g. not letting me speak and "remember that this is a 5 star hotel mister!", like If I thought it was a lesser one somehow by asking to be listened to, (although coming to think about this now this is exactly the behavior that really does not remind of any stars... ).

All that from the check-in receptionist when I challenged that I had other documents with me -which I presented- showing that either one or the other spelling of my name was often the case and that I explained that I have never had that issue at another hotel or elsewhere before... it is not an uncommon misspelling of the name.

I suspect the employees problem must have been something else, perhaps with overbooked hotel or a bad day so far and I was the one to pay for that and kept trying to keep my calm but the reactions were truly unprofessional (would have been so even at a zero star motel in my books..) to the point of even asking to see the manager that went unanswered, I had to go find him myself and ask his opinion and help to resolve this issue.

It was a "customer relations manager" indeed whom I saw and he stepped-in and resolved the issue with the booking, gave me a room after a wait (not ideal traveling from a long flight there) but he was also very quick trying to justify why the reception was doing such a good job ensuring the documents are correct instead of even trying to apologize on her behalf for the unreasonable rudeness.
Honestly I have not experienced such a behavior in my travel life and having stayed in well over 1000 hotels worldwide (and over 5000 hotel nights to my rough calculations) of this, of higher or of lower class.. Actually I have not even experienced it outside the hospitality industry even!

When I gave that same feedback to the hotel manager, he told me that he discussed the matter with those employees and concluded that it was just my perception that the receptionist was rude and it was not really the case and the employee regrets if that was the impression I got!

Also the hotel manager said that the relationship manager should not have given me that room per their policy and that he broke the rules and exposed the hotel by doing so!
(Seriously? what / how exactly? it was already prepaid on my card, if I did not get that room I would have simply have been out of pocket and without a place to stay!), but he (the hotel manager) is happy that the relationship manager did break the rules in that occasion and serviced me! Seriously? Oh.. that's very kind, I feel so special now..

I could not really believe these responses and decided to ignore so far but this has been long time now bugging me so I thought to write a note on the tripadvisor community might be worthy in case its not really a one off but symptomatic of something else.

Happy to be corrected nonetheless, particularly as the hotel got one of the 2013 certificates of excellence awards, and I do give this old incident the benefit of doubt and could consider as a one-off incident as I don't see other travelers complaining too much for the staff there -but there are a few more on reception quality- and would say once more that other than that the hotel was fine and the 9-course dinner at the Michelen recommended restaurant was also really-really good and I would surely consider going back to dine there when in Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_TA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for posting your constructive review on Tripadvisor. I would like to apologise for the service short fall especially with the arrival experience. I have forwarded the review to the Front Office Manager for further review and it also provides an excellent training tool. The Ambassador I guess was being thorough in the processing the credit card details and as you are aware in this day and age credit card fraud is high. This is not an excuse for the service shortfall in the arrival experience.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the dinner experience in the restaurant. I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins in the not too distant future. I will see to that your next stay will be “Life is Magnifique” at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,550 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,679 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
8,013 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,328 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing