We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location for a weekend in Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #16 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is a great location. Rooms are a good size. Having stayed at the Hilton on South Wharf a few times, I prefer the location of the Sofitel, but prefer the rooms at the Hilton. Staff were very friendly at check in. I would stay here again mainly for the location rather than because the rooms were amazing or service was wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamweb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you for posting your comment on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing the finest, most up-to-date product in the competitive Melbourne market and so we certainly appreciate your feedback and spending your precious time in doing so. I sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you and your guests back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,454 - 2,460 of 5,361 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Threechildren123
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Luxury room at 46th floor corner, WHAT A VIEW! Excellent!

Room itself was basic, but bed was great and from the bed you have the views. Specially liked the wooden shutters which made sure that we could sleep in. Clean and spacious room if you wish to spend time inside.

Bathroom was spacious, but did not have enough lighting for my liking. Door to the corridor is not soundproofed and doors banging (both neighbors and staff access) can be heard to the bed.

All staff members seemed friendly and efficient. We didn't try the restaurant in the hotel as there are plenty of good ones around the hotel, even for breakfast. Bar service was good but I was bit disappointed that there was no view, perhaps that was saved for clubroom.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayHot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you for posting your comment on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing the finest, most up-to-date product in the competitive Melbourne market and so we certainly appreciate your feedback and spending your precious time in doing so. I sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you and your guests back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My favourite part about staying at the Sofitel was their amazing beds. It was like sleeping on a cloud!
We stayed during the Australian Open, and saw a few of the competitors during breakfast in the morning. Nice rooms, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel_Born_Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I was thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us and most importantly had a pleasant sleep on the Sofitel Mybed. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I am a platinum member of the Accor hotel group & have stayed in Sofitel & Pullman hotels this year in Asia , Europe & the USA for over 60 nights This is the worst room I stayed in for a modern property The whole room & bathroom were the same size as the bathroom in the Pullman I stayed in last week in China.
A very small 80's style room with a tiny bathroom ( shower in the tub )
More like a nice 3 star.
Bed pillows etc all good and the same as other Accor properties ( as expected )
Guys down stairs at concierge parking have no idea as to the hotel as I asked them questions when I gave them the keys and all info given was wrong ???
As a platinum member a upgrade is standard as with a whole lot of other goodies.
Room upgrade
I don't think so ( if there was a smaller room it would be a joke )
Free drink
Only when I asked for it
Free Internet
Limited to only 250 ( big deal cost the hotel nothing )
Anyway most unlikely I will return.
I will go back to my previous hotel when in Melbourne

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigWayneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Luxurious room, really comfortable bed. Fantastic location, very near the CBD and parks. Great amenties. Lovely room with a beautiful view. The only tiny downside was the toilet paper which I thought might have been better quality.



  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank Eva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us and most importantly had a pleasant sleep on the Sofitel Mybed. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank camsmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,693 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 162 in Melbourne
2,772 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 162 in Melbourne
4,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 162 in Melbourne
1,995 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 162 in Melbourne
2,394 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#27 of 162 in Melbourne
8,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $196 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing