We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent property for Melbourne business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #16 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent property for Melbourne business”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

It's not normally a hotel that I would stay at, as it's generally at an exorbitant rate per night, however I ended up here using a 'Mystery' hotel booking.
The check in/out process was excellent, and the room was as described. In a five star hotel, I'm really not a fan of the shower being over the bath, but again that's in the description, so can't really complain here.
The staff were pleasant and service was as expected for a hotel of this calibre.
The service at the bar was great, but it was mainly empty, so the staff didn't have much to do.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattC_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of finalising the refurbishment of all hotel room bathroom to include a separate shower and have done twenty or so already. I apologise that the shower experience was not to your convenience however hopefully when you come back, we can allocate you a room with a separate shower for your ease.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,395
    1,228
    359
    120
    66
See reviews for
585
2,876
327
896
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (814)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Service at the bar on the 34 floor on our second night was not good after taking our order we were told it was on the way,after 25 mins we gave up and went out for dinner instea.d of staying in the hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank for your posting your review on Trip Advisor.I am grateful for your assessment and for highlighting the specific issues you have experienced in the Atrium Bar. I profusely apologise as this is unacceptable standard of service. I have personally discussed your comments with our Food & Beverage Director for immediate review and action with the team. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Experienced this hotel for a second time recently with a work function in the ballroom. Clearly the best feature of this hotel is the view and location. Great service and the vibe of the lobby are also high points. Room was on level 41. Dowdy. Furniture marked heavily and scratched. I read a response to a past review that the rooms are going to be renovated in 2014 & 2015 - cannot come soon enough. The overall design of the rooms is motel like. Once this is update, this will again be a accommodation destination. Loved the mock tails in the Atrium Bar.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LucasK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read our Ambassadors delivered exceptional service during your stay with us. I appreciate your comments in relation to the decor of the guest rooms. We hope we have the opportunity to welcoming you back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Great room and amazing views over the city by night and by day.the staff were very helpful and nothing was to much trouble.breakfast was lovely yet again with stunning views.
this sofitel was lovely compared to the one we stayed in in Sydney.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you and your guest back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Disappointed to see that my credit card was charged twice and having to phone up to complain, and then to be told that it was the Banks fault, I was told that when a charge is incurred it is charged to the card as security and should be removed when the final charge is made, a poor excuse in my mind, I have travelled the world and no one else does it

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank John11242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was disappointed to read your comments in relation to your experience at the hotel. As per hotel policy for any incidentals a credit card pre authorisation is processed upon check in to the hotel. Upon check out of the hotel and once final payment has been processed the funds are automatically released by the bank, generally within 5 to 14 days after departure. I profusely apologise that this process was not clearly conveyed to you and your comments have been passed onto the Front Office Manager to review with the team. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you and your guest back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013

From check-in to check-out, the entire experience was phenomenal. Great room, amazing city views day and night, friendly and helpful staff and the most unbelievably comfortable bed I have ever hurled myself at. Perfect for a special occasion and I'll be returning when I can.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was thrilled to read you had an enjoyable stay with us in particular a pleasant sleep in the Sofitel Mybed. We look forward to welcoming you and your guest back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

The Sofitel is renowned for the fabulous views of Melbourne - from the MCG and Fitzroy gardens on one side or the bay, city views on the other.
Our room (at $360 a night) provided a magnificent bay and city view, very comfortable king bed, a good sized room with a desk, two very comfortable armchairs, coffee table - and a pouffe for tired legs! The only issue of contention is the shower is over the bath. But the provision of the beautiful Lanvin of France toiletries compensated for that!
Situated in the top end of Collins street - known as the Paris end - Sofitel is ideally situated for tourists and everything is within walking distance or a short tram ride away (ask about the Myki card before you hop on!). As with many large hotels, the breakfasts are expensive: but down the escalators you'll find the Great Space Cafe. It can be noisy, but it has the best poached eggs and bacon (not streaky, fatty bacon either!).
As Melburnians, we have treated ourselves to many 5 star city hotels over the years, and this is now a favourite. Great service, great views.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate your comments regarding the shower over the bath. We are in the process of finalising the refurbishment of all hotel room bathroom to include a separate shower and have done twenty or so already. I apologise that the shower experience was not to your convenience however hopefully when you come back, we can allocate you a room with a separate shower for your ease.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,338 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,523 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing