We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #16 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Ideal location, the Paris end of Collins Street. All staff were very welcoming and coudn't help enough, rooms were clean and views from the room were amazing. The breakfast at club 35 is a must, as you sit there enjoying your breakfast savour the fantastic views of lovely Melbourne. The only thing was parking cost $40 per night ,overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ZillahMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read your enjoyed your stay with us in particular your experience in Sofitel Club Lounge on Level 35. Appreciate your comments with regards to valet car parking charges. The charge is clearly displayed on the bell desk and we feel our charge is in line with inner city valet parking. I have passed your comments to Front Office Manager for review and consideration. We look forward to your return during you next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,323
    1,202
    351
    119
    63
See reviews for
569
2,824
319
872
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We booked this hotel via a Mystery Deal on a website and got it for a pretty good rate. And for that rate, we got a hotel that has great views, decent sized rooms and a great location at the top end of Collins. Quiet enough location in the evening, but a short walk to the main shopping and other activity areas.

We didn't bother with eating or parking the car at the hotel so cant comment on those things, but service in general was excellent and efficient.

If staying over a weekend, you can save parking/valet costs via pre-booking a car park in the commercial car park within Collins Places itself for half the price of valet and if you are not fussed about having great views for breakfast, there there are some good options at the base of the hotel for fraction of the cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor, pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about our friendly Ambassadors. During your next visit to Sofitel Melbouren On Collins and if you have the opportunity to dine No35 restaurant please do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Hotel looks good from the outside. Poor service and way over priced. I had my car valet parked only to have It returned with a large scratch on the side and the management of the hotel confirmed it happened in there care but would not take any responsibility for it and I was given the cold shoulder.
I've never been treated with so much disrespect and will not be staying there again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flameseedless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Jeremy Healy at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor. I can assure you that if we did cause any damage to your vehicle, we would take full responsibility for repairs. We did advise you the damage was not caused by hotel and therefore could not take responsibility. Our third party investigators also advised you of this after their investigation. I am intrigued as to who from management advised you that we did cause the scratch as I have no record of this. Please feel free to contact me at your convenience via email on h1902-am01@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiba
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed 2 nights on the Club Floor. Room was spacious with most amenities except for toothbrushes. Lucky we brought our own. Otherwise, there's a 7/11 convenience store outside or a pharmacy on the ground floor.
When we checked in we made it just in time for the French Afternoon Tea which had lovely little macaroons. The Evening Beverages and Canapes were great too.
Cooked to order breakfast, the eggs benedict were superb!!!
Staff were friendly and concierge very helpful. Provided detailed info about the city.
Skybus Hotel transfer goes directly to the doorstep. Good location to everything you need.

Room Tip: Try to book the Club Rooms. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melcheah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your review on Tip Advisor. Pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and the Sofitel Club lounge experience. I am appreciative of your comments in relation to the amenities and these are certainly available upon request. For future stays please do not hesitate in contacting our Hotel Operator should there not be an item you require. We look forward to your return to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,169 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing