We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sofitel I stayed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #17 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Wonderful hotel and full of surprises! The hotel is located east side of city, very close to the east Melbourne gardens, good restaurants and cafes and shopping areas.

Check in was a surprise, I was upgraded to junior suite on the 50th floor (top floor). When I opened my room, i wowed! It is just so beautiful, the views are just amazing! I have two rooms, the lounge and bedroom and separated bathroom and washing area. Bed is very comfortable, everything is computerised. It took me a while to work out everything. Coffee machine is great, I made these pod coffee every morning.

Restaurant located on 35th floor, buffet looks good but i ordered A la carte every morning. staff are very friendly and helpful. Food was great and again the views are just amazing.

All staff are very service orientated, particular the staff at grand floor. There is a nice gym on 36th floor and pity there is no spa or sauna services.

All in all it was a great stay, thank you Sofitel Melbourne for upgrade me and It is definitely the best Sofitel I ever stayed. I will definitely come back!

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbcollege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I was thrilled to read you enjoyed your room on the 50th floor and the views of Melbourne are spectacular. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to all Ambassadors. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,793 - 2,799 of 5,417 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Dover2364
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed for one night - it was a very wet and cold Melbourne winters day... Check in was just OK. What was very noticeable is that hotel staff were hard to find. Our room was comfortable although the windows were full of condensation and we couldn't see out of 2 of 3 windows.

All in all the hotel was OK, unless you got a great deal it is not worth the big $$ they often ask for an overnight stay. The hotel has not maintained the high standard they did a few years ago. It is lacking a staff that is there to service the customer with a great attitude and friendliness, and a feeling that they were happy to be at work...

We loved the gym and the massage chair especially. Also the Pillow menu is fantastic!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljr2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. It is with disappointment to learn that your overall experience was not as it should have been. We strive to offer all our guests an enjoyable and pleasant experience, but it appears on this occasion we have not met your expectations. I have forward your comments to our Front Office Manager to review with all Ambassadors. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcoming you back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed in Junior Suite for 5 days again and standards high as usual. Rooms provides outstanding views and plenty of space. Excellent effort by Terrence the Guest Relations manager to secure us some tickets which were hard to get hold of. Buffet breakfast is ok but would not bother about it if we were not Accor members with associated discounts. Excellent venue for MCG and many great restaurants in very close proximity. Only real complaint is the cost of a rollaway which at $80 per night is as steep as I have seen and difficult to justify.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 178Greig178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, I was pleased to read Terence was able to assist you with your request during you stay. Thank you for your comments in relation to the cost of the rollaway which we are currently reviewing. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcoming you back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Checked in at 2.00 in the morning after a long flight. Receptionist was not overly helpful and couldn't tell us if we had the same room for 3 nights as we had made two separate bookings. Not very comforting as we wanted to have a big sleep in that night. Bathroom very disappointing for a Sofitel Hotel (we have stayed at a lot). View from the room was wonderful but should be as all of the rooms are above 36th floor I guess thats what your paying for. Rooms were not serviced very well however the bed was very comfortable.Overall very disappointing in relation to the other Sofitel Hotels we had been staying at and most recently in Ho Chi Min City they were a true 5 star Hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LA143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I was so thrilled to read our Ambassadors made your trip feel memorable at Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was my second stay this year at the Sofitel on Collins and even better than before. This time my husband was with me and we booked the Monet and Costume exhibition package with the hotel. The tickets were waiting for us on our arrival and Danielle, the concierge on duty, was most helpful with advice and directions.
Our room was extremely comfortable and once again the view, particularly at night, was just stunning. The one thing that stands out at the Sofitel ( as against other hotel experiences) is that everything works!! You put your hand out for something and it is there! Gong to the bathroom in the middle of the night and there is a night light that comes on....no fumbling for the switch and waking one's husband! The magnifying mirror is lit automatically and not falling over (other hotels take note).The lighting system in the room is so clever, but simple to work.
The breakfast is delicious and we were spoilt for choice, and once again a fabulous view from the restaurant.
The check-in was fast and efficient and the staff were very impressive, especially Emily. She later provided much appreciated help when I was having trouble with my I Pad.....above and beyond the call.
We look forward to returning toi the Sofitel soon.

Room Tip: As the accomodation starts on about the 40th floor I think, the viewas are spectacular no matter whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DidiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, Welcome back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins, please to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I was so thrilled to read our Ambassadors made your trip feel “Life is Magnifique” at Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 239johno
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#7 of 161 in Melbourne
5,836 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,470 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#15 of 161 in Melbourne
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,850 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
8,502 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $170 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing