We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Sofitel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #17 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had an amazing stay in Melbourne at the stunning Sofitel!!!
Incredible views, faultless service, fabulous facilities!
Can't wait to stay again very soon.
Recommend to anyone looking for accomodation in Melbourne!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank BrettJess0615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for making us your number one choice. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,877 - 2,883 of 5,396 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Sofitel was chosen as a quick getaway from the everyday rush of life. It has a very relaxing atmosphere, the service is gracious, helpful and polite. The rooms are clean, comfortable and with all the amenities you need to contribute to a relaxing stay. The bar was also very enjoyable and the service once again was prompt, quiet and of a very high standard. The atmosphere there, was consistent with the rest of the hotel - equally pleasing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Catherine729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. I am glad you felt relax whilst in our care, enjoying the pleasures of 5 star hospitality. I hope we the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Junior Suite is fantastic and what an amazing view by day and night from the 46th floor.
As a special treat for couples you can't beat it! Facilities in the suite were excellent too. Shopping and very cool eateries were close by making for a wonderful long weekend escape.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank BBFutures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed the views of Melbourne and the surrounding offerings.I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We went to Melbourne for a party and had a free night with Accor. We needed clothes pressed in a hurry-we got them back quickly. The views were incredible, great bed, pillows, had room service one evening which was lovely! Loved the huge breakfast on level 35.
OK the decor is a bit 1980s luxury, but still quality. Hope to be able to afford to stay here as a treat again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor. I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that the offerings in the hotel met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The corner rooms offer a wonderful view of Melbourne and surrounding areas. Furnishings and amenities arae what you expect from Sofitel - and the brakfast was all you could wish for. Staff service at check-in and check-out is peerless in Australia in our travels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank jandrewsax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor. I was glad that the various Ambassadors in the hotel have made your experience a memorable one. Your comments have been passed on to the department concerned and I know that will make the Ambassadors proud. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Excellent staff and lovely rooms. Most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. From the friendly phone call prior to my arrival to the late night cocktails in the atrium bar - an all round positive experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Visitor673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay from the late night cocktail in the Atrium Bar to the friendly Ambassador answering all your arrival needs. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I like to stay here when in Melbourne and work takes me to this end of town. By way of comparison I also like Crown Metropole, or Crown Towers if I am in town with family for fun rather than work.

This is a really good hotel. I booked today for my stay tonight and am in the standard (classic) King room on level 37. This is the entry level, cheapest room at $310 per night. I checked a few last minute websites, which all offered the same rate, so I booked direct with the hotel as an Accor Club member.

Easy drive in to the hotel and valet parking at $40, far cheaper than other Collins St parking and easy to access. Checkin simple and straightforward, and staff very professional.

The room is ideal for one or two people, although would probably get a larger room, with Club benefits if I was here with my family. A rollaway extra bed would fit in the room however.

The room style is traditional 5 star classic design, muted colours, but very clean and comfortable with King size bed, nice linen, good flat screen, desk and two chairs and two additional armchairs and coffee table.

Mini bar well stocked with actual champagne, half bottle, and local sparkling, spirits etc.

Didn't try room service although the menu looked great, including a perfect menu for 'little people' which included sausages and mashed potatoes, spaghetti hoops on toast, pancakes and pizza etc. For bigger people, the menu also offered a good range of international and standard hotel favourites, along with a number of traditional French offerings in keeping with the Sofitel brand, Salade Nicoise, terrine, Onion soup, croque Monsieur etc.

The bathroom is well equipped, with excellent lighting (sensor on entry) although this room type only offers shower over bath rather than a separate shower. Good towels, nice complimentary Roger Gallet products, robes, slippers etc.

I like this hotel, it is easily comparable to if not better than Melbourne's best (and slightly more expensive hotels like Crown, Westin etc) and I recommend it equally to business and leisure travellers who are looking for a good value, professionally managed 5 star Melbourne base in Collins St.

Looking forward to my next stay with family in a couple of weeks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay. I am thoroughly humbled by your comments about the hotel and I will definitely pass on the comments to our Ambassadors who will be proud of it. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,777 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,431 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,815 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
8,408 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $183 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing