We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Magnificent Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #13 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magnificent Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The last couple of times we have stayed in Melbourne we have stayed at the Sofitel on Collins, from the moment you step out of your car until you leave the service is unbeatable. The location is spot on for us, walking distance to everything we want to do and at night you can stay in house and have a lovely meal and be sure of a great nights sleep in the comfortable beds. Will definately stay here from now on as in other 5 star hotels I have been made feel like a number not a valued client.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthea1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for returning to stay at the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. It is always an absolute pleasure to read such a positive review of our hotel. There is nothing better than relaxing in a comfortable bed after a long day so I am glad you enjoyed our Sofitel Mybed experience. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,138
    1,121
    333
    115
    57
See reviews for
528
2,663
304
822
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (732)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night for business and would do so again. Check in staff were efficient and courteous, I was upgrade to a suite on the top floor which was a lovely bonus! The view was sensational and the facilities perfect. Check out was quick and simple.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cristinahSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
I was thrilled to read your lovely review of the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. I’m glad you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to our suite. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I enjoyed my recent stay at the Sofitel as I stayed there for my 1st anniversary. The staff were very nice, courteous and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable but the room service burger and creme brulee were fairly average for $51. I also had a lot of trouble sleeping as there was a high pitched whistling sound in my room. It kept changing pitch and would stop and start constantly so I could not even get used to it and block it out. We could not work out what it was so therefore could not do anything about it. Apart from that everything was great and we loved the hotel's Club room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank pulse1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for posting such a constructive review of your recent stay at the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. It is wonderful to read that you found our Ambassadors to be courteous and helpful. It was however disappointing to learn that our room service food did not live up to your expectations. I have passed this on to our Director of Food and Beverage for review with his team. Thank you for bringing to my attention that you were disturbed by a noise in your guest room and I sincerely apologise for the impact this had on your sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Modern, luxury, high rise hotel with wonderful views.

Great location right on the main (high end) shopping street.  Area is considered the "French" end of Collins Avenue and the hotel is around the corner from the City's free Circle Line shuttle.  (Treasury Building Museum is right around the corner too and  exhibits give a great introduction to Melbourne).  The hotel sits above a shopping mall which has a variety of shops and is also surrounded by many coffee shops and convenience stores.

Hotel misses some of the amenities of other high end hotels - little things like difficulty in reaching the Concierge, no free WiFi or water in the rooms, no channel listing for TV, no 24 gym, smallish bathroom, no comfortable space for smokers (friend was chased away from covered entrance).

The staff is very friendly and the hotel's location, a bit away from the hustle/bustle, is something I appreciated (others may prefer to be in the heart of things).  Overall, very good stay enhanced by excellent staff.

Hotel was about 20 minutes from the airport with fare around AUS$45.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank CMMNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
I appreciate you posting such a detailed review on Trip Advisor however was concerned to learn you had difficulties contacting our Concierge department and I will be following this up as this is unacceptable. In regards to your comments about the smoking areas, state laws prohibit smoking in enclosed areas and we do have to comply with these laws. I apologise if it came across as we were chasing you away as this was definitely not our intention. We do hope to see you back in Melbourne sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealandntral, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great all round hotel. Super Location in the CBD. Close to Rod Laver, MCG, and AAMI stadium. Rooms give you a great view of the city. If you dont like heights dont stay in this hotel. Restaurant is fabulous with stunning views at night also you get a fantastic breakfast. Beds are super comfy. Have stayed at this hotel about 4 times and would defintely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank BlondePatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for retuning to the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. We are indeed very lucky to have a guest rooms beginning on level 36 so all rooms are afforded a beautiful view across Melbourne. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in March, the view from the room was stunning (was tempted to cancel dinner and stay in the room with a glass of red hehe). Needless to say but this hotel was great in all departments and I didn't want to check out!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. It is wonderful to read you had such an enjoyable time. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The shower in bath is very dangerous.Stayed for four nights for family wedding,last day fell while getting out of shower(no grab handles or such like)smacked head and cracked rib.On checkout initially tried to charge me $250 for doctor coming.Final result manager said he was sorry and next time I stayed I could request a walk in shower.
5 star joke really.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iancapewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Sir. The last wish we would ever want is to see a guest injured in our guest rooms, therefore every element of the room is approved by relevant building codes. I apologise that you did slip in the bathroom and also that you suffered the pain you did whilst you were here. We were concerned with your welfare and several Doctors were called by us and you. There was confusion over the Doctors billing based on several Doctors being called. I apologise this overshadowed our desire to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,630 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#18 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,338 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,916 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#11 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,731 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing