We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #17 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

we were extremely happy with every aspect of our visit, our room had great views and was very comfortable, convient to all venues we attended, trams and trains etc. all staff were very helpful and very friendly. will revist in the near future for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank mogford_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,168 - 3,174 of 5,396 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

Had an excellent stay at the Sofitel was on the whole very good. However breaksfast is a bit expensive without you Accor Club membership.
There was a stuff up in the advance purchase booking payment however it was rectified quite well.
Compared to others in the same bracket - well worthwhile - rooms good, service great.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank DingoPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such constructive feedback on your recent stay. I was concerned to learn about the issues you had with the booking and I sincerely apologise for the impact this had on your stay. I do hope we can welcome you back soon for a trouble free stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great room, service and very clean.
Wonderful restaurant and service with fabulous buffet breakfast.
Would stay again.
Valet service with all belongings carried from room and loaded into car greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3_Matilda_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great hotel with super friendly staff, & comfortable rooms. I took my partner here for her birthday and they made us feel very welcome and special. The cleaning staff got an early start and woke me and the Manager coordinated a move without drama then went above and beyond to provide a bottle of bubbly and snack for her birthday.

Great location with easy access to the trams - you can get anywhere in CBD either by foot or tram and anywhere else you need to go by tram. The rooms are all above the 35th floor and at street level are a number of shops and cafe's so lots of options for a quick breakfast. Great views of the city and/or bay and relatively quiet for a CBD locale. My only gripe would be the electronic touch pad screen that controls all the lighting takes a bit of getting used to.

Next trip to Melbourne - I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sphiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our Ambassadors. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Unexpected surprises ,from champaiigne in our room on arrival for our 31 year wedding anniversary to just simple good service and cleanliness, well done. We are staying at the Sofitel Sydney next week for a number of days and hope we enjoy the overall experience we enjoyed in Melbourne, thank you again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flower1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. It is always lovely to receive such positive comments. Enjoy your stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was an amazing place to stay. My only critique of the hotel was a minor fault with the television reception but that didn't faze us too much. We had an amazing view, the staff were incredibly helpful in going the extra mile and it was a lovely way to spend my anniversary. The location is great too.

Room Tip: There is a secret deal on lastminute for a 5 star hotel up the Paris end of the CBD. We got an excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. I was concerned to learn you had issues with the TV reception and I sincerely apologise for the impact this had on your stay. I do hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stay here at least once a year - this year for my birthday. The hotel is well staffed, friendly, welcoming and always an expected pleasure. Terence, the customer Relations Manager, is always there to greet us and to do something special. It was like that again - chocolates & champagne! The room is comfortable and well fitted, the restaurant has excellent breakfast choices and everyone is helpful and friendly. Wish I could afford this treatment all of the time!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslye T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. Thank you also for your comments about Terence, I will be sure to pass on your kind words to him. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,780 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,431 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,817 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
8,406 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $183 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing