We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Australian Open Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #16 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Australian Open Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here whilst attending the Australian Open. This is one of my favorite 5 star hotels, great rooms, great service and a really comfy bed. One of the few rooms you can get very dark.
An added bonus is that this hotel is in the classy end of town and easier to get to the sporting venues of the Open and the "G"ha some other CBD hotels.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,363
    1,214
    356
    120
    66
See reviews for
576
2,853
324
886
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (808)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

A nice little overnight getaway, the rooms are spacious and comfotable and I loved having a drink in the lobby bar.
The staff were helpful and I LOVE the restaurant and breakfast. It is not the cheapest meal, but you certainly get what you pay for.
The only thing missing is a swimming pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay, it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with all of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at Sofitel whilst at the Australian Open for 3 days , booked a mystery deal through Wofif and was wondering what my room would be like as the price of the room was much lower than what was being advertised, but should have never worried it was a lovely , clean comfortable room overlooking the MCG , Tennis, River, part of the bay, then the surrounding hills, at night the lights were just beautiful, then the morning sunrise and balloons, what more could i want. Staff were polite and helpful, Actually could not find fault with anything. Did not want to leave...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. I was thrilled that you did not want to leave as you were enjoying your stay and I hope we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Sofitel was a great hotel to stay at while we were attending the Australian Open Tennis for 2 days. The hotel was close to the venue where we could walk to the tennis and we could also catch the train at the end of the street. Also close to shops and restaurants where we could easily find a place for dinner without having to go too far. The hotel staff were so friendly and helpful, and the views from all around the hotel were magnificent. he hotel was extremely quiet and very clean and comfortable. We found it to be excellent and the service was first class and we were surprised at just how quickly we were attended to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I was glad to read you found our service to be ‘first class’. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone here at the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I booked a night out with the wife in our home town Melbourne, thinking that a corner room at the Sofitel would be a "sure thing". The hotel is impressive given the great location and the views that the rooms all have (they are all above 35 floors up). The room was clean, neat and tidy, but it seems that maintenance has been playing catch-up. For instance in the room we had, taps we dripping, cupboard rails were loose and one draw handle was simply missing...not major things but it just has that mid '90 feel about it. Service was efficient and friendly and check-out was painless. Word of caution, we parked in the underground parking below the hotel thinking that surely they would have a guest rate...no such luck cost us $92 to get the car out (6pm - 10am); much cheaper to use the valet parking option for $40 per day! I think there are so many other good 5 star hotels to explore in Melbourne, that we don't think we would be heading back in a hurry...

Room Tip: There is not much advantage in "corner rooms" try the "Club" rooms they are more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roaming_AMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here over New Years, From Mon Dec 31 to Tues Jan 1, I had a friend visiting from the country who wanted the melbourne Experience, I had decided there was no way i was going to attempt trying to get home at midnight via public transport (Fellow Melburnians will know what i mean) and so i found a mystery deal via lastminute.com.au, After booking it and seeing it was the Sofitel i was quite excited as i had always wanted to stay here,

We checked in about 3pm by a pleasant woman and were issued Room 4022 on the 40th floor. Upon entering the room we had 2 twin beds and an amazing view of the MCG and Northern Suburbs, The shutters worked well for blocking out light as we slept. The beds were comfortable and we had a nice little mini fridge/bar area, good furniture but i have to admit the room did look a little tired, The Flatscreen tv had a good selection of freeview and cable channels but had a large unidentified white stain on it.

Now for the bathroom, Again a little worn but shower over bath, a big basin and "Roger & Gallet" tolietries....Little dissapointed to see they had "Made in China" written all over them....Sorry Sofitel but i think you should be supporting at least an Australian or French Company.

The hotel has a decent gym but no pool, i agree with previous reviews that a pool and spa is essential for a 5 star hotel.

We ended up welcoming in the New Year at "Atrium Bar" on Level 35, They serve some great nibblies, Drinks and food

The location is on the end of Collins St furtherest from the Restaurant Precinct (10 min walk) but there is a McDonalds across the road for those who like fast food.

Check Out was smooth and we had a friendly gentleman check us out who made a couple of jokes and made us feel welcome.

If i was in a bind would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Best place to stay if you want traditional and modern Melbourne all in one stay! Close to fantastic restaurants, sporting precinct, short walk to art and cultural venues, better than west end, that precinct has little to offer on weekends, except docklands of course

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoff_watson49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
The Sofitel Melbourne On Collins team appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and we are also pleased to know you had a wonderful stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,257 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,471 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,364 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing