We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Sofitel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #15 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay at Sofitel”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Booked through last minute as a secret hotel deal. Great location, very pretty and spacious hotel. They gave us one of the top floors and view was great. Bed was very comfortable, bathroom was a bit small but ok for one/two nights. We hotel hopped and Langham and Sofitel was the best out of the hotels we stayed at. Room service is really good!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tithan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,479
    1,256
    362
    120
    68
See reviews for
598
2,935
334
925
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (845)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Over the years we have stayed in all of Melbourne's Luxury Hotels but somehow have missed the Sofitel. After our stay on the 6th of October we won't be missing it again. Without doubt the best Hotel in Melbourne, the best staff, in all areas, the best views (from a high floor room) and the best club lounge we have been lucky to encounter. The staff in the club lounge were excellent. The right amount of attention or privacy, if wanted, the right amount of service and humour, simply the best mannerred staff we have encountered. They are a credit to their managers. We will only be staying at the Sofitel from now on.

Room Tip: Go for the Sofitel Club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotheblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Dinner in the restaurant or the 35th floor at sunset was great. So too was the view from our room on the 47th floor. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the layout meant there wasn't so much of the usual door slamming noise at night from other guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_and_J619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a top hotel by any standards. It is really a case of getting the right deals. The rooms are clean and large, service is excellent and the facilities are all spot on. This was our third stay and that says it all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfpswr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights to celebrate my birthday in style and luxury. From the moment we arrived we were looked after by friendly staff from the concierge through to the check in. I was wished a happy birthday and advised that we had an upgrade (to the 49th floor). We also received a voucher for 2 complimentary cocktails and I was given a birthday card. Nice little touches. Not long after arriving in the room, our luggage was delivered and set up for us and not long after that a complimentary chilled bottle of champagne arrived. Our room had wonderful views out to the ocean and in the early hours of the morning we were greeted by the sight of hot air balloons which was pretty cool. I enjoyed choosing my pillows from the pillow menu which were promptly delivered & having a Nespresso machine in room was great . Overall, the Sofitel is in a good location - within walking distance to shops, casino etc. It made a great stay for a special occasion and the staff were fabulous. Couldn't fault a thing and would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freya691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Booked through the Accor website and mentioned it was our 20th wedding anniversary. This was a week before we were staying. During the week I received a phone call from guest services ( a lovely lady called Amanda) who offered a discounted upgrade package. On check in we upgraded to a higher floor with beautiful city views and there was a bottle of sparkling with a lovely card. Just very nice gestures from this 5 star hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kentm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glass House Mountains, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

This really must be the go to place to stay in Melbourne. Stayed as a couple. This is typical Hotel style accommodation at its best. Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms clean and tidy and beds just wonderful. Good location and walking distance to most attractions, or just catch the tram which is close by. We upgraded to a superior room. Not what I would consider cheap but well worth it for something special. Restaurant was also fantastic with terrific service. Highly recommend a stay.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,550 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,679 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
8,013 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,327 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing