We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #61 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2014

My friend and I have just returned from Melbourne after a 2 night/3 day girls getaway. We booked our flights and hotel through a travel company. What a pleasant surprise it was to arrive at the Vibe Savoy - a hidden gem. Unfortunately the travel company had requested a king room for us where as we wanted a twin room. Holly, on reception, had no problem in allocating us the accommodation we required. Holly was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for her. Our room on the 4th floor overlooked Spencer Street station and was very comfortable and the beds were great - had a great sleep both nights. The hotel is fairly central and we had no problem walking to all of the places we wanted to see on our visit. I would definitely stay here again and would have no hesitation in recommending it to other travellers. We visit Melbourne every year for our getaway and I would say the Vibe Savoy is up there with the best - we have made some very regrettable choices in the past but not this time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roselilycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Roselilycat,

I am so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Vibe Savot Hotel.

Thank you for pointing out our team member Holly was able to place you in a twin room upon check in, Holly is very much so an assest to our team. As you mentioned, we are proud to be in a central location in Melbourne.

Thank you again for sharing the experience of your stay with us and we hope to see you again next time.

Kind regards,
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Vibe Savoy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,858 - 2,864 of 3,705 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed here for a convention, location near Southern Cross a bonus. Staff pleasant, room was clean and the bed comfortable. Being on a lower floor some street noise could be heard, but overall nice hotel in a good location, easy walk to the convention centre.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annemst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Annemst,
Thanks so much for this great feedback! We’re so glad you enjoyed your time at Vibe Savoy Hotel. We hope to see you again!

Kind Regards,
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Vibe Savoy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stayed with a colleague for 3 nights to attend a conference at the convention centre. This hotel is a short 10 minute walk to the convention centre and directly opposite Southern Cross station, so a great spot for our stay.

I do have a few gripes, that are relatively minor however after long conference days felt quite annoying at the time.

1. Our room was made up as a queen rather than the twin we had booked and our bags had not been brought up to our room. After a long conference day, this was frustrating as we had to wait for this to be sorted.

2. No milk in the fridge on day two, another slightly irritating thing after a long day.

3. No bath towels on day three.

4. Our room had an adjoining door to the next room and we were fortunate to enjoy the 3am conversations of the guests next door.

The staff were very pleasant, and welcoming and dealt with any requests quickly. We didn't use the restaurant or bar area so I can't comment on those facilities.

Room Tip: Try and avoid a room with an adjoining door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Louise M,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback on your recent stay at Vibe Savoy Hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and, where necessary, improve upon service levels for our valued guests.

I am very sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations and we have also passed on your feedback regarding the milk not in the fridge and no bath towels to the departments manager for further action.

Once again, thank you for letting us know about your stay and I hope we would have another opportunity to welcome you back to Vibe Savoy Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Vibe Savoy Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Excellent location just opposite the Southern Cross Station; good bar and clean room. Nice art deco. Very expensive wireless access though! TV in the room has a poor quality signal, otherwise excellent conditions. Nice and quiet at night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Sarah H,
Thank you for your message. We really appreciate the time you’ve taken to post this. I have passed on your feedback about our TV signal and maintenance is looking into it and have also passed on your feedback about our internet pricing. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Vibe Savoy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Upon our arrival, check in went smoothly, very friendly and helpful staff. We had a twin single room which was quiet and clean. My friend slept very well however I found the mattress to be a little to hard. Overall, excellent location and a very enjoyable stay. Thank you

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michelle D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Michelle D S,
Thank you for your message. We really appreciate the time you’ve taken to post this. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and have addressed the issue about the mattress and hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Melissa Thompson
Assitant Hotel Manager
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The hotel is opposite Spencer Street Station on the edge of the CBD.

Staff were polite and helpful. The room had a comfortable bed but no comfy chair. The shower was fine but over a bath with high sides.

I could hear my neighbour through the interconnecting door and noise from the corridor was quite loud.

Despite its Art Deco origins the room decor has echoes of the French Empire style with its mirror panelled cabinetry, marble topped tables and decorative ceiling flourishes.The breakfast dining room is a bizarre mishmash of decor style.


Pros

The queen room on the 9th floor was large enough to move around easily and well lit during daylight hours.

Comfortable bed with a selection of pillows and large cushions.

Two quilts, one for each side of bed.

Power points over desk.

Light control in bedside cabinet.

iPod dock.

Selection of teas, milk in tiny tubs.

Breakfast buffet OK (mushrooms with spinach a nice change)


Cons

Expensive WFfi.

Little external noise but I could hear my neighbour through the interconnecting door and there was noise from the corridor.

Alarm still set from previous occupant.

Shower over small bath with high sides.

Dinner in restaurant on ground floor not great, fish over cooked.

Room Tip: If quiet is important ask for a room without an interconnecting door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Theo C,

I am so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Vibe Savoy Hotel.

Thank you for pointing out the alarm clock still set from previous guest and the fish in our restuarant, both comments have been passed onto each department to address.

Thank you again for sharing the experience of your stay with us and we hope to see you again next time.

Kind regards,
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I stayed here recently for business purposes, lovely refurbished interior of the original features and columns etc ... the conference rooms were a stand out , as was the lunch provided... the room , while smallish had been tastefully decorated and not beige but were quite nice in a french style... I had the last room available so perhaps that may account for it being on the small size with twin beds, but I was a very last minute booking,... only thing was that I was woken at 4am as the toilet gurgled away... but it was clean, very comfortable, included toiletries which was a nice surprise, well appointed bathroom... Breakfast was also above ordinary with a good selection all presented well... highly recommend

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mobogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Mobogo,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about Vibe Savoy Hotel. We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

I am pleased that you found our conference rooms a stand out, along with the lunch. I appreciate your feedback on the toilet and will ensure that this is passed onto the team.

Thank you again for sharing the experience of your stay with us and we hope to see you again next time.

Kind regards,
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#66 of 162 in Melbourne
5,079 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,557 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Address: 630 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $95 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Toga Hotels, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing