We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #59 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sale, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Last minute bed”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very clean and comfortable, but after missing the last train at the end of 27 hours travelling I would have slept on a park bench. The room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. The staff helpful and 50% discount as I was only staying 5 hours. So convenient as it is across the road from Southern Cross station

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Stuart Q

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback!

The team at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne are so thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay and would like to thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us.

On behalf of the team we look forward to welcoming you back to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne soon!

Kind Regards
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,247
    1,579
    519
    147
    54
See reviews for
536
1,273
359
870
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I like this place - great location close to Southern Cross Railway and a bit of olde worlde charm.

Rooms are modern and spacious and importantly the beds are comfy with nice fresh linen.

Breakfast is considerably cheaper if you pay the night before, otherwise it's a bit pricey, though there is a cool pancake machine which is unusual. They have a valet car parking service which was convenient, but at $30 overnight I thought that was a bit pricey too. The room however is often available at a reasonable discount, so they have to make a buck somewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marke07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear mark07

Thank you for your review.

We agree that the hotel is in an excellent location and our Team strive to offer the best service possible.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Living here right now and today is my last night here. The location of the place is very nice and most places within CBD are easily accessible. The rooms are average at best but my issue is with the staff, specially room service. For 3 days in a row the won't take away our dirty cups and replace them with new ones. We had to call for that every day. Today the replaced them with dirty cups, when we asked for another replacement we were told that they are busy and we will have to go down to the restaurant and get the cups ourselves. We have been asking for our room to be vacummed for 2 days now and nothing so far. The toilets have started smelling now. I am sure they haven't cleaned them either.

The place has pictures of a pool all over the place. On inquiring I was told that pool is actually at Adina Hotel and not here. Its free to use but this is false marketing and highly disappointing.

Overall an average experience, stay away from this place if you can. I can almost stay anywhere and normally not have much issues with things. Rude and lazy staff however is not acceptable.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TariqSaleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear TariqSaleem,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Unfortunately there is a delay in Trip Advisor comments being approved so therefore I did not see your comments until after you left the hotel.

I sincerely apologise for any problems you encountered during your stay with the housekeeping department. I personally checked over our reports to see if housekeeping serviced your room each day and it was reported that you requested a green clean. A green clean is a service we provide to help save the environment, this type of service does not use any chemicals or power.

Once again I apologise for the confusion with the pool pictures, the advertisement you are referring to is actually a poster which has all our Vibe Hotels on it.

Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel should you wish to discuss your stay with me.

Kind Regards
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Vibe Savoy Hotel, across the road from the Southern Cross Interchange, is the perfect location for getting around Melbourne on public transport and this being the reason I selected the hotel for my recent short stay in Melbourne. From the minute I arrived to when I left, I couldn't have found a better hotel, everything was just great. The reception staff very polite and extremely accommodating - I arrived mid-morning and it wasn't a problem for them to shift me to another room so I could access my accommodation early. My room was spacious, attractive, comfortable, clean and the king size bed was a bonus. My room (on 11th floor) was extremely quiet, I didn't hear another sound and I slept wonderfully well.

I ate dinner in the Alexander Bar and while the menu choice was not extensive, it was more than adequate and the food was delicious. The restaurant staff were very pleasant and friendly. I pre-purchased a ticket for breakfast in the Curve Restaurant (saving $5) and again, the food was really nice in a pleasant restaurant. The mini bar in the room presented a (too) good choice - I ate the packet of snakes just because they were there - note for next time, have the snakes removed from the mini bar!

The Vibe Savoy Hotel is a grand building with a wonderful history which is on display in the foyer for you to read. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: My room was on top floor and it was extremely quiet - the window looked out to the atrium in the mid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TizzieTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear TizzieTea

The Team at Vibe Savoy are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to a Vibe Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We recently stayed at the vibe hotel, it was very nice, comfortable bed, beautifully soft sheets, friendly and prompt service. I would recommend the hotel to anyone. It was a few blocks from the city centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiannettaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear GiannettaO

Thank you for time you have taken to provide us with your feedback.

At Vibe Savoy we pride ourselves on our friendly service, great location & comfortable rooms. From the feedback you have provided we are delighted your experience with us was pleasant.

We hope you see you back at Vibe Savoy next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel is in the perfect location for people needing Southern Cross station. The staff on check-in were very friendly and polite. The room was clean, well presented and met our needs perfectly. We ate breakfast at the hotel on one morning and it was fresh, tasty and with a good range of choices. We ate dinner one night at the Alexander Bar. It was good value and the service was excellent (the girl was by herself and managed to take orders, serve food and work the bar).
Our only negative experience we had was with 'happy hour' in the Alexander Bar. It was promoted as 4-6, beers on tap. We ordered 2 beers on tap just after 4 and was charged full price, when we queried this we were told that happy hour applied to one particular beer on tap only! (we would have liked this information before we ordered). Just before 6 we ordered the 'happy hour' beer and were charged full price again. When we queried this it was it was blamed on the computer not calculating the happy hour price and we were charged the reduced price. Complimentary nibbles were also advertised but we were not offered any and didn't want to query again as we didn't want to seem like whingers :)
We would recommend this hotel to others and tell them to watch out for the fine print regarding happy hour.

Room Tip: Some rooms look onto the atrium in the centre, make sure you check your view when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear dkg11

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your recent stay at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne.

We are glad you enjoyed the service & location of the hotel. Thank you for bringing the discrepancies with Happy Hour in the bar. I have brought this to the attention of our Food & Beverage Manager who has now rectified the advertising.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel and conveniently located close to the central station and in walking distance to city center. The hotel is good for all the basics but don't expect the unexpected. We stayed two nights and we were generally happy with everything.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Nicholas M

The Team at Vibe Savoy are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to a Vibe Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#68 of 160 in Melbourne
4,783 reviews
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#88 of 160 in Melbourne
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Property: Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Address: 630 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing