We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #57 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good location but small rooms”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

It was walking distance to the Docklands and the city center so it made for a good central location. The rooms are small but clean. They also don't offer free wifi in the room except for a free 30 minutes in the lobby. This place was decent if you're only there to sleep and shower.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear dexxxana

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide your feedback on your recent stay at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne.

The team and I are pleased to read you enjoyed the location of the hotel. Our Standard Rooms are compatible in size with most Australian hotel rooms. We also offer Executive Rooms & Junior Suits which are perfect if you require the extra space.

Kind Regards
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    1,509
    506
    139
    52
See reviews for
514
1,219
339
826
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a nice hotel in the city. It is particularly handy if you are going to the footy or any function at Etihad Stadium as it is a very short walk not requiring any transport at all. Being adjacent to Spencer St Station is also handy for longer trips, and also the shops located into the Station itself. It is on,y a 10 min walk to the centre. I was surprised how quiet the rooms were as we heard no OUTSIDE noise as our windows faced into a large atrium, however the walls were very thin and we were affected by a lot of INSIDE noise ... Once at 2am with a group of drunk teenagers partying in the hallway and once from early risers with loud radios. We could also hear all the showers going and people coming and going on the stairwell. I suspect this could have been reduced if the walls were thicker. We had 3 adults in our room and it was very spacious and the beds very comfortable. Overall a positive stay but our interrupted sleep affected our overall experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenzie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Kenzie V

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback!

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne. I also agree that the location of the hotel is ideal in many ways – we are very close to many of the local attractions and transport.

On your next trip to Melbourne we hope to welcome you back to Vibe Savoy.

Kind Regards
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times now and it has always been very nice. The rooms are very tasteful and well equipped with very comfortable beds. The staff are welcoming and efficient and the hotel foyer is also by comfortable, with a nice bar. If arriving from the airport via Skybus, or from the country or interstate on a train, the hotel is just across the road. Easy access walking distance to the city, or trams right outside. If driving, it is easy to find, just park out the front and valet parking will take care of your car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie_Steve36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Aussie_Steve36

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback.

The team and I are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed not only the location of the hotel but found our team to be welcoming and efficient.

On behalf of the team we look forward to welcoming you back to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne soon!

Kind Regards
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
233 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Its my 3rd stay at this hotel. Not by choice, as work is only just around the corner. A period hotel across from Southern Cross Station makes it a very convenient location if you took the Skybus from the airport. You could see that this was once a grand hotel, in the same style as the Roosevelt in NYC. The rooms were modernised with old fashion fittings in mind - like a black toilet seat cover & period furniture. However the water pressure and amount of hot water is variable, which is not ideal when you're in the middle of a Melbourne winter. The queen bed I was in (rm 408) had a very sunken right side (as you face the bed) Rooms are very spacious, but the partitions between rooms are paper thin. The room next to me were a family with 3 kids. They were busily packing the night before and kept me up all night with a screaming mum and screaming kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpr2exs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear cpr2exs

Thank you for taking the time to review Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne.

The team are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our rooms and agree that the location of the hotel is convenient if you’re coming from the airport. I apologise for your lack of sleep due to the guests in the room next door; for future reference our friendly team are available to assist 24 hours should an issue ever arise.

The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Vibe Savoy soon.

Kind Regards
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was there on a business trip for 3 nights. Room was small but lovely and cozy, staff were very helpful and was right across the road from Southern Cross Station - very convenient. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Toni L

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on tripadvisor

We are pleased to read that the Vibe Savoy team were helpful during your stay. Our hotel is very close to many of the local attractions and transport.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future

Kind regards
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I recently stayed at the Vibe Savoy Melbourne for four nights on a work trip. The room provided was comfortable and appeared to have been recently refurbished. A big plus for the VSM is its' close proximity to Southern Cross Station and several tram routes almost at the hotel doorstep. Getting about the city via public transport from the VSM is a breeze. There is a pleasant bar on the ground floor and also a bistro (however, I didn't dine at the hotel). Apart from the rather uncomfortable bed, my only gripe about my stay is the very cursory standard of room servicing on the final night of my stay. Housekeeping of my room had been very good on the other days - so I'm not sure what happened on that last night. Nevertheless, I'd be happy to stay at the VSM next time I'm in Melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sprintlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear sprintlane

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor! I was thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay and your comments about our locations. Regarding the servicing of your room on the last day I have addressed your comments with the Housekeeping Manager.

Please let me know when you plan to return to Melbourne so that I can look after your accommodation requirements.

Kind regards
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very nice hotel. Clean and comfortable. Warm and comfortable comparing to the outside. Very close to Spencer St Station and Etihad Stadium. Great place to stay if going to Melbourne to watch the AFL. The staff was very helpful, very quick to get us a box of tissue when we ran out. They looked after our bags on they day of checking out while we went to watch another game of AFL.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Sun L

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Vibe Savoy Melbourne, from the service you received by our team to the comfort of your room. I will be sure to share your comments with our entire team.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Vibe Savoy Melbourne in the very near future.

Kind regards
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,560 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Property: Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Address: 630 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#54 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing