We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time for a complete overhaul” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #52 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Time for a complete overhaul”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed 3 nights for business and unfortunately check out couldn't come quick enough. It certainly has potential, great location and lovely old building but I'm not sure it's had an upgrade since its hey day!

Tiny room, could hardly move around in the shower and bathroom, felt like an old London hotel. Everything (literally) in the room is old and needs replacing, from decor to beds to pillows to carpet to bathroom amenities (which were all dusty). The rooms are extremely noisy, can hear everything from either side, in the hall and even announcements at Spencer Street station.

Room service was average quality and the only dining option at night was a handful of tables in the bar. The meal in there was very disappointing, over an hour to arrive (no entree) and luke warm, almost like it came from somewhere else. Definitely far better dining options close by. Breakfast was ok, quite a good selection, no "egg station" though.

Staff overall were friendly though certainly weren't overly enthusiastic. Was my first visit and wasn't given any information about the hotel on check in, just where breakfast was. Asked about taxis and seemed to prefer that I walk to the station for one rather than have one ordered.

I wish I had some more positive comments but perhaps these will help with improving areas where they can.

Room Tip: Avoid facing Spencer Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyParkLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    1,255
    421
    125
    43
See reviews for
429
1,009
289
685
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Henley Beach, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This Hotel In its day would have been something truly special but it is tired and let down by multiple small things.

I found all staff to be polite and professional, I was originally checked in to the wrong room but this was solved immediately and i was given a complimentary upgrade which was appreciated.

Room service food was good and while the presentation of the Club sandwich was not the best the sandwich itself was one of the best i have had.

So what lets this hotel down? Well its little things:

The layer of dust on the baby grand piano
Bed side lamps having to different types of globes one giving a bright white the other a soft white
The Safe in the Room not working
Tv remote not working properly and TV having to be turned on and off manually
One side of the bed firm and supportive the other no support
All the menu's in the room being upside down (bizarre)
Room Service Breakfast arriving 15 min after the window delivery time

None of these things on their own is a big deal but combined they all make a difference.

If you stay at this hotel it will be fine and if you love the old grand design this place is probably for you. However for location ion and cost i would choose the Holiday Inn down the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PHB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Was lucky enough to stay here for 3 nights over the Grand Prix Weekend in Melbourne this March 2013 and must say with all going on in the city was a very pleasant stay. Easy to get to via train being directly opposite Southern Cross Station, within walking distance of Crown Casino and the Burke Street Mall or jump on a tram to zip around Melbourne at will.
The hotel itself is comfortable with friendly staff who helped where necessary, even offering an umbrella for the rainy Melbourne weather.
Room was a bit dated but was comfortable and had all we needed for a great stay. It faced the station but we didn't have any problem with street noise.
Would be more than happy to stay here again and would recommend for exploring Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wardystravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

As others have said, this hotel is very well situated in Melbourne but we were pleased with the whole experience. The reception staff were always most helpful and efficient. Our room was a good size, clean, had all basic amenities and nice hot shower. We absolutely loved the $10 lunch meals offered - well done to the chef/s.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rimala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here Boxing Day Holiday in 2012.
It was a last minute booking and worked out perfect.
The Hotel is located perfectly if you wanted to go into the city or to the casino. It was walking distance to almost everything if not the free melbourne tram out the front took you there.
You pay for location, not so much for hotel facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eloise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
185 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed for 1 night and selected the hotel for it's location and previous reviews. This hotel provided good service from check in, happy to secure my bags when I arrived early. My room was warm and comfortable, with a great layout so my suitcase was right by the bathroom. The towels were fluffy and the bathroom products nice. My room overlooked the train station but I was not disturbed by any noise. Everything was clean and well maintained. I did use the gym which is small but functional with great basic equipment (pity I couldn't find the TV remote!). Would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business during July. It is opposite Spencer Street Station and has a supermarket nearby by no kitchenette in the rooms to self cater. Walking into the hotel the first thing I saw was the receptionist walking back to her desk with a full hot packet of 2minute noodles... Not a good sign.

The lobby is pleasant, and there is a nice atrium built above the lobby. The hallways to the floors were nice but that's where it ended. The rooms were small, the covers were thin, the TV, the Internet and the hotwaterkettle didn't work. Like another reviewer, I Also found the walls were paper thin which meant that one could hear what was going on next door. The decor in the rooms is cheap and cheerful, almost motel style, the Beds were uncomfortable, the duvets way too thin for a mid winter night, so all up a very poor night's sleep.
I didn't bother to try the room service or breakfast, but won't be back. It's important to get a good night's rest when away for work.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#66 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 3,551 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#84 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Property: Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Address: 630 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#50 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing