We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Location - Ideal for Business” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #54 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Convenient Location - Ideal for Business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2008

I went to Melbourne on business and booked the Vibe Savoy off wotif - the retail price was over $320 per night but I paid $165. The room was good value for $165 but I think $320 is a bit steep.

The room was medium size and immaculately clean and more important to me - the bed was very comfortable. The TV was a bit on the small side but it was enough for me - there were lots of channels (for a fee) but I was there to work so the wired internet was of far more use.

There was a full size bath and complimentary bath robe and slippers - normal for 4 star I'm told but from my experience not always - anyway it was a nice touch.

I stayed twice - the first room had views of a wall and the second one had great views but all I saw was fog! Not the hotel's fault of-course but I thought it was mildly amusing. I left for work early and came back late but I'm sure the view was lovely...

I had the light continental breakfast for $18 which is standard in Melbourne hotels and the dining room was very pleasant and stylish.

Location was terrific for business travellers - across the road from Southern Cross station. You can get the air conditioned skybus from the airport and walk across the road to the hotel - very convenient.

All in all, a good place to stay - I'd stay again but I would book through wotif to get the discounted rate.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — nothing - it was very nice
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pancina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,136
    1,455
    489
    134
    48
See reviews for
497
1,173
323
790
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2008

Stayed here for a week in February with a girl friend to explore Melbourne for the first time. We're both uni students on a budget so initially we booked our stay at Kingsgate Hotel, which is dirt cheap from all the online booking sites. However, after reading negative reviews about Kingsgate on Tripadvisor, we quickly cancelled our booking and were relieved when we were able to get very good rates for Vibe Savoy instead.

Its location is probably the best thing it has to offer. It was great to be across the road from DFO Spencer and the airport shuttlebus station. It was convenient to drop off our shopping bags in our room before heading out again. Trams are close by which made it easy to get to the CBD everyday.

The room we stayed in was dark, the window faced the atrium and the blinds were black - consequently we overslept on several occasions as it created the illusion that it was still something like 5am. The bedside alarm is very faint so if you're a heavy sleeper and have something important to attend in the morning, don't rely on the alarm! The bathroom is very small and quite aged but clean. The single beds are small but reasonably comfy. There was a big black moth perched on our head board for the whole duration of our stay and did not budge, which was a bit gross and creepy. The air-con takes a while to take effect so you might turn it up just before you go to bed thinking it's a little warm, but then wake up shivering in the middle of the night.

The gym was small, with only one of each type of equipment but it was always empty so we had it all to ourselves. Water and fresh towels were provided inside.

The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We enquired about a day trip to the Great Ocean Road to see the Twelve Apostles and the lady (I think her name was Renee) was more than happy to provide us with brochures and book the trip for us. She was also helpful in giving us directions and travel tips.

The breakfast is nothing to get excited about, especially if you have to eat the same thing for a whole week. But it was included in the price so we made the most of it. Towards the end of the week we'd figured out what our favourites were: the mini crossiants and the greek yoghurt. The front desk is mostly unattended, but don't think for a moment that the fact that you just got out of bed and are probably really hungry is going to make the restaurant staff attend to you faster. If you get impatient and decide to seat yourselves (like we did on the first day) you'll get told off by the staff later on. The tip is to get there early (before 9am) before the food runs out and all the staff disappear.

Vibe Savoy is definitely not luxurious but considering the price we paid, we had nothing to complain about. It's a convenient place to stay in Melbourne if you're on a budget but would also like to keep your dignity and not resort to places with shared bathroom facilities. The only reason I wouldn't come back is if I'm able to afford an expensive hotel by the time I visit Melbourne again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katie_cakes88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

I stayed here for business.

Good Points:
* The foyer is lovely, and the bar downstairs looks like a great place to have a drink.
* Across the road from the Spencer St factory outlets.
* Room Service was good.

Bad Points:
* My room was quite old (stained carpets, old furnishings).
* Small, old TV.
* One of the phones in the room was broken.
* Gym only has one treadmill.

Overall, I thought this was a good budget stay at only $A138 a night. I wouldn't be prepared to spend over $A160 here.

It really needs a good renovation done on the rooms.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Old furnishings, stained carpet, small old TV
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chelle007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2008

We stayed here (self, wife and grown up daughter) during the F1 Grand Prix. One reason that the hotel was chosen was its close location (over the road) from the free trams to Albert Park. These worked really well, even after the GP finished.

Hotel was modern and well looked after, but lacked the personal feel of an owner operated establishment. The breakfast was OK, but overpriced. Room service quick.

We stayed in a 'mezzanine' room, with a double bed upstairs and roll away downstairs. Not much room downstairs when rollaway opened up. There was a heatwave during our stay and although the room had air-conditioning, it didn't reach upstairs, leaving me and wife sweating and daughter freezing.

As it was GP time, prices were hiked up and had to pay in advance, although the request for payment was made some weeks after we booked. I would suspect they either had financial problems or had bad experiences from cancellations.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fatherfigure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2008

We stayed at Vibe Savoy Hotel over a long weekend about a year ago.

The location of this hotel is great - tram right at the doorstep and right across the road from Southern Cross Station, making interstate and state-wide train travel so easy. It's also just a few minutes walk from the DFO where there are so many bargains. The Telstra Dome is also walking distance, so if you're visiting for a footy game, this is definitely the place to stay!

The hotel itself is wonderful for the price: great little reception with fast and friendly check in, little lifts that zip you up to tastefully decorated hallways with funky little black and white framed photos throughout.

The room itself was amazing for the price - great sized bathroom, fantastic little kitchen and everything you'd need if you were travelling around Australia and you wanted a nice, clean self-catering room. The room is small, but efficiently set out and is kept spotlessly clean.

The continental buffet breakfast in the morning was also good. It's served in a tiny breakfast bar (which also serves lunch and dinner) and includes cereals, yoghurt, fruit, bread, tea, coffee and juice and you can also order from the menu if you prefer. It's not plentiful and the service is pretty shocking with our waiter (there was only one for the whole room) neglecting to refill the food that had run-out on the buffet table and often disappearing for 10 minutes at a time, which was incredibly frustrating when all you want to ask for is some extra butter or something equally as trivial. The breakfast may not have been the most amazing offering in the world, but considering the price it's all you can really expect and it will easily tie you over until lunch time.

The only major issue we had was that we could hear every word that was said by the people in the room next to us. And unfortunately for us they decided to have friends over for pizza until 3am (yep, we heard the pizza delivery guy and everything!). The walls are so paper-thin there is simply no way you could get a decent nights' sleep at this hotel unless there were no other guests staying on either side of you. It was a real shame because we thought we had found our 'traditional' city hotel stay until this happened.

All-in-all, I'd love to say that we'd stay here again - the location, check-in, rooms and facilities were great, but if you can't sleep in a hotel or get service at breakfast time, then there really isn't any point staying at all.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank robynab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2008

The Vibe Savoy is in a historic building right across from to Southern Cross train station. Once you step inside, everything is completely renovated, with a fun, funky vibe. Reminds me of the Kimpton brand hotels (USA) - tasteful and modern. Public spaces are well kept and furnished.

Room layout was a bit awkward (no closet, weird hallways to bathroom, small TV) but the stay was still quite nice. Great workspace and good lighting.

Room service is OK although not as good as one might think based on the way it's hyped in the hotel and on its website. I would not recommend it if you have other options. The gym is small (~5 machines) but very well lit and maintained with a tv available.

  • Liked — Fresh, fun, funky vibe
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfromheretother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere in the great unknown
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights over Easter. Location is great for Southern Cross Station (Skybus and trains) and it is good for about 3 different tram lines. Room was clean and a good size. Breakfast was also included and had enough choice to satisfy. Room was near Spencer St but couldn't here any traffic noise. Also really close to Telsra Stadium (AFL) and Docklands. Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babsjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,294 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Property: Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Address: 630 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing