We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #59 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

A hotel that charges a reasonable room rate is often hard to find in Australian cities but this place offers very good value for money.

Location is great - opposite the train/coach station so very handy for the airport bus and there are lots of convenience stores and food options nearby. Short walk to the docklands and southbank restaurants and casino.

Room size was average. Some parts of the room are an older style of fixtures and furnishings, and I would have liked an armchair for relaxing in rather than just a desk chair, but overall it has everything you need and it's all functional and very clean.

It's the usual Australian hotel rip-off for wi-fi - I would suggest buying a pre-pay USB-modem if you're going to be staying more than a couple of nights in hotels in Australia - will work out much cheaper!

Had room service once and it was a reasonable price for what was offered and the 'fit food' idea is good, rather than just having the standard hotel food offerings.

Breakfast buffet is ok - all the usual hot & cold offerings that you would expect at a hotel of this type, and was cheaper than most. The main problem here was the staff - no staff at all for the first 10 minutes I was there!! Then when they did show up all the hot food was empty and it took a long time to re-fill it. I also heard other guests pointing out that things were empty throughout the time I was there - the staff should be noting this, not the guests!! None of them looked the least bit interested in being there and is a smile in the morning too much to ask?! By comparison, the other staff in the hotel were all friendly and efficient.

I'll definitely stay here next time I'm in Melbourne as long as the price/quality ratio stays as good as it currently is.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from you recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I have passed on your comments about the servicing in the breakfast area to ensure we are providing the attention needed to our guests in this area.
We look forward to seeing you again soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    1,538
    516
    144
    52
See reviews for
521
1,245
347
854
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The counter-staff were very friendly and so was the cleaning lady. Apart from that, the staff looked disinterested and in their own world. The decor of the lobby is cold, poorly designed and tacky. The king-sized bed in our room was great but the television remote wasn't working properly. The bathroom was also dimly lit and didn't have an exhaust fan. The windows were also very dusty. The devil is in the details and it's these little things that ruin the illusion of being in a pristine room you paid a few hundred dollars to stay in. We're from Melbourne but if we were from out of town, staying at this place would really leave a bad taste in our mouths and make us feel unwelcomed by the city.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing spencer street where the tram lines (and noise) are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryJohal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. As part of the hotel soft refurbishment, we will be washing down the exterior of the building. This will be in conjuction with the usual routine window cleaning that the hotel has scheduled twice yearly.
Look forward to being able to welcome you back to see the changes.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFM
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not a nice place to stay in. The southern cross station is right in front so very noisy. Not too clean. Bad smell in rooms, changed room 3 times so I know. Furniture not modern everything quite tired. bed uncomfortable. City is a 20 min walk. Not a nice area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manuelamaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. The hotel has recently changed our beds, and is in the process of updating some soft furniture in the rooms. I welcome the opportunity to welcome you back in the coming months so you can experience the difference
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Perfect location after arriving from the airport. Right across from Southern Cross we had a very friendly check-in and they were very helpful when checking out the next morning. Room was fine, but to be honest after a flight from Europe, we would have fallen asleep anywhere. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was the second time my wife and I visited Melbourne and we stayed at Vibe Savoy 4 nights in December. The Hotel is located in front the Southern Cross station. The first impression when we arrived was not bad and the girl (sorry I don't remember the name probably she was Indian or Pakistani) at check-in was very kind. The room was comfortable and large enough. The view from our windows was quite pleasant looking out beyond the roof of the station. So far so good but... The bathroom seemed ok at first look but we've noted evident stains on the bath-towel, considering the hotel category it should not happen. The bathroom cleaning was very poor in the days following. The bath-tub was very slippery inside and I hurt my leg slipping when I exited, but I decided not to complain about this.
Also considering we were close to Christmas we would have expected a greater joy by the staff, no hello, no smile when we entered/went out the hotel (excepting for the same girl we already met at the check-in) and we felt a bit aliens. The departure has been very formal, no questions about the stay and not more than a hello has been received. Surely these are not the Vibe standards.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianfi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. Please accept my apology that the cleaning of the bathroom was not to standard, and I have since provided your feedback to the housekeeping department to ensure more attention is done in this area. If you would like to contact me at the hotel to discuss your stay in more detail, please feel free to do so.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuttack
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel is centeally located.The southern coss station is very nearby to the hotel.tram stoppage is also very near to the hotel.But the disadvantage is that the room size is very small.The hotel staffs are courtius.The breakfast buffet is nice one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mani-1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your "amazing" review from your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We look forward to being able to accommodate you again when next in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location - directly across from Southern Cross station and public transport available everywhere close by and not able to be heard in the room.
The room and bathroom was very clean, the bed very comfortable and plenty of tea and coffee provided.
The only down side was I had asked specifically for a room without an adjoining room because I had read on tripadvisor that there was a problem with noise from an adjoining room. I did have an adjoining room regardless of my request and had the 'pleasure' of hearing the people in the adjoining room having sex.
I would stay here next time I am in Melbourne, however I will not stay in aroom with an adjoining room again and would bring it to reception attention immediately and request a room change.

Room Tip: make sure you request a room WITHOUT an adjoining room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed the hotels location. My apology for not allocating the room of your request, and have since updated your hotel profile to ensure you are allocated into your preferred room location.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 159 in Melbourne
4,693 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#88 of 159 in Melbourne
915 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Property: Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Address: 630 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Toga Hotels, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing