We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Last Minute Dream Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #57 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Last Minute Dream Stay”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

After what was a very long & hot train journey from Sydney to Melbourne (12hours, no air con, lots of unscheduled stops) with my 5-year old daughter on one of the hottest days so far in 2013, we just couldnt go any further, which meant home (another 2hours away) was out of the question, but a close-to-train station hotel that was comfy and had air con was desperately needed!
What we got at Vibe Savoy in Melbourne was that and so much more than we had expected!
From the moment I called Vibe Savoy and made the small walk across the road from the train station to the time we left the next day we received amazing service from each staff member we encountered, the room we booked was upgarded for us to ensure we had plenty of space and comfort (and it was delightful and obviously very comfy as it was the first time my daughter has slept in till 9am in years!), a late dinner order was not a problem, the value for money was terrific and seeing I was struggling with 2 large bags and a very tired 5-year old doors were opened & bags carried for me from staff - they were brilliant!
The staff and the stay at Vibe Savoy saved the day - thankyou!
I am now looking forward to tagging on an overnight stay after each train journey

Room Tip: the sixth floor was perfect! not a sound from either inside or out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleR1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for providing some great feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I was very pleased the entire experience for you and your family was delightful and we too look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next journey thru Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    1,482
    496
    136
    51
See reviews for
507
1,191
331
809
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sollentuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
396 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The name Savoy promise much more than you get. This is an average business hotel with rooms that could use a face lift adn staff that could be less arrogant. I have stayed several times here but I have now stayed last time, just isn't worth the money.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't a room towards any of the two streets. Quite nosy late into the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LG4KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback about your stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I was disappointed you did not appear to enjoy your stay on this occassion, and I apologise if the room allocated to you was noisy.
I would be happy to discuss your feedback in more detail if you would like to contact me at the hotel, as we would certainly like to win back your loyality and have you continue to stay with us.
I look forward to the opportunity to talk to you.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We booked into the Vibe Savoy, New Years Day. Checking in was smooth and our room was great. However we did mention to staff the mattress was uncomfortable the first night, no problems we were upgraded the next day and slept very well the next three nights. Location was excellent! As mentioned by many the Hotel is across the road from the Southern Cross Station. Not only do you have a choice of trains and busses, but trams also. Skybus to the airport is located in the station building. We were walking distance to Docklands, Etihad Stadium numerous food outlets and the list goes on. So refreshing to step into the Vibe Savoy after a day of shopping or sight seeing, you are greeted by the friendly staff and your room is so inviting. Staff are to be commended on a job well done.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smiley6a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide some great feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I have personally passed on your praise to the team, which they where thrilled to hear.
We look forward to hearing from you when you are next requiring accommodation in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed in a twin room with a friend. The location is fabulous - right across from Southern Cross station, so no lugging bags around.

We stayed here because of the great value for money, compared to other hotels that were looked at. The rooms were large, nicely presented and clean. The service of the staff at the desk and at breakfast was very helpful and friendly.

Breakfast had a range of hot and cold foods, cereals, toasts etc. The hot chocolate was delicious.

The only downside was that the room didn't have an outside view - rooms looked into the centre space which was open and light-filled. But this wasn't a problem at all. The curtains were so great we could barely wake up in the morning!

Will definitely stay again when in the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleK1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
It was good to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We do offer very competitive prices for what is a great product and we do appreciate your feedback about your recent stay.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stay here if you like to sleep on dirty sheets that someone else has slept on. The bedding wasn't changed in our room, although the beds were made. There were multiple black hairs on the sheets and in the bath tub. It was absolutely gross. We called the reception and were moved to another room, which also had hair on the sheets. The third room was ok.

The staff was apologetic and gave us complimentary breakfast tickets, which was useless since we were leaving before the restaurant opens up in the morning. “No problem,” they said, “we’ll have boxed breakfast and sent it to your room at 5:30 am in the morning.” Guess what: they never did!

If arriving by car at this hotel, it is unclear where to park. We had to circle around the hotel and ended up leaving the car in front of the entrance to go and check in. Lack of signage, porters, or doormen makes it confusing and unwelcoming. Valet parking is $30 a day. The hotel runs a very lean operation with very limited stuff (1-2 people at reception and a concierge who does everything else, from tour recommendations to carrying bags to parking cars).

We booked this hotel because we though Savoy was a reputable brand. I no longer think so.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tor2008_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. Allow me to personally apologise for the experience you had at the hotel, and assure you this is not a true reflection of our service standards and quality of cleaning. I have addressed your concerns with the relevant hotel departments at this month team meeting, which will allow us to ensure we provide service excellence in all areas of our business moving forward.
If you would like to discuss your stay with me in more detail, please feel free to contact me at the hotel.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed overnight at the Vibe in December. This was my third visit. I find it to be great value for money, rooms are clean and comfortable, check in staff friendly and helpful and the Art deco decor a refreshing change from blander offerings at some other hotels. We arrived early and were fortunate to be offered early check in at no extra charge. Front desk staff were also happy to accommodate a special request. The hotel has some internal rooms with windows to an atrium and I have stayed in these. However, this time I went for a standard room with a window facing Little Collins Street. Room was a bit tight for two people to work in but was clean, comfortable and quiet and did have plenty of storage space. Desk was OK. Bathroom and bath small but adequate and well lit and stocked. Had dinner elsewhere but ate breakfast at the hotel. The breakfast room is delightful and there is plenty to choose from. Concierge was helpful - advised on travel times and booked cabs as required.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzMum21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. It was good to hear you enjoyed your stay once again and we look forward to being able to accommodate you when next in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney traveller
Level Contributor
204 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice old art deco touches remain, but otherwise brought up to modern standards and very good ones at that. Spacious room with everything needed- excellent bed.
Central location- perhaps not as suitable for exploring on foot as say Southbank, or the "Paris "end of Collins street, but train station across the road. My usual complaint that wifi should be free but isn't (I use my phone as a hub in these situations)

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nathanwaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahadfield, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Vibe Savoy Melbourne. I was delighted to hear you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We have recently upgraded many of our beds, which had been deemed tired, due to guest feedback, so am very pleased to hear you you loved the bed!!

I am excited to let you know that we will be able to offer free wifi in our lobby area soon, as we are aware it is an expected service in this day of age. I don't have an exact date of when this will happen as yet, but will be in the coming months.

I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Angela Hadfield
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#66 of 158 in Melbourne
4,394 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 158 in Melbourne
1,463 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Property: Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Address: 630 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing