We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A bit kitch and the Savoy? Not quite.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #54 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
tasmania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A bit kitch and the Savoy? Not quite.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is a rather garish hotel with an elegant but faux early twentieth century décor in the lobby and public areas.
My actual hotel room seemed too narrow for the large, heavy furniture
A clean room with good fluffy towels and quick room service. Had light meal, but salad was not freshly made and poor for the price.
The problem when you do a boutique hotel, try to be fashionable they look pretty average when the fashion moves on.
Location is near station where my work's situated, so for work it was handy. I would recommend going to stay at a hotel closer up town though as near station's never a very quiet, elegant locale.
There are very close nearby, good restaurants though, We had wonderful Japanese at Hanabishi and Korean at Hwaro is best I've had in Australia.
They also take $100 on the credit card which is kept for a few days after you leave, hmm. Not a good feeling.
On the environment front, they, like all places, like you to reuse yr towels but also have a master switch which turns off the tv and lights which is a win win for hotel's bottom line and environment. I think soap dispensers in rooms etc would be another thing would improve their green image if they are serious. No window openings at all.
Friendly and really helpful but unobtrusive staff,thanx! All 'newish' Australians so not slack on the service front like many of us and a real asset to the hotel.
An interesting place to stay as was a unique place.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We will take on your comments regarding the hotels fixtures and furniture. We do not consider ourselves a boutique hotel, and more a good 4.5 star hotel that is conveniently located, offers clean rooms, great service and consistently strives to implement sustainability plans towards the environment. The credit card authorisation on your credit card is part of the check in process & I apologise if this was not communicated to you on your arrival.
Once again thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to being able to accommodate you when next in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    1,393
    464
    131
    47
See reviews for
475
1,111
316
759
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Nice clean well appointed rooms. The location is great for business.
Well priced

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotels convenient location and great prices we have on offer.
Look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We had a great time at this, recently, renovated hotel. Very handily located beside the Southern Cross rail station (and the airport shuttle). The one thing that annoyed us was the noise from the station during the early hours of the morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dvm_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed the hotels great location and it proved convenient for you. My apology if the external noise was a concern for you, and as a result I have updated your booking profile to ensure we eliminate this with any future bookings you may have with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Hotel is very nice. It provides all services you as well. Breakfast buffet is not good enough. And beds are not very comfortable. Hotel TV does not cover enough channels. Exclude these three things everything is fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hakan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed the hotel, its service and location. I am unsure of your breakfast service concerns and would be happy to discuss with you if required.
I welcome the opportunity to have you come back to the hotel and to ensure your experience is overall positive.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We arrived midday Friday and were not expecting to be able to access our room, just wanted to drop our luggage. Staff were very helpful, giving us detailed instructions on how to get to the Melbourne Museum, though in the end we used the bikes from the Melbourne Bike Share scheme located just across the road.
Proximity to Southern Cross Station was a bonus, as we felt like we had good connections to all the parts of the city we wanted to visit.
The room was basic but clean and modern. We didn't make use of the bar or restaurant, but instead spent all of our waking hours exploring the city so from our point of view the best thing about the hotel was its location and the staff, who were all helpful, friendly and professional.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMR1267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback about the Vibe Savoy Hotel from your recent stay. I was thrilled to hear you where able to check into your room early in the morning and the Team provided a great guest experience that you enjoyed.
We hope to see you soon.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed here for a work trip. Its a very handy location, right near southern cross location.
The rooms very very pretty! not very large but very stylish and comfortable. Nice and clean bathroom facilities and a very comfortable bed and bedding. I had no problem with noise and all i would say is breakfast is confusing, i couldnt find the coffee machine and when i asked the guy couldnt be bothered to help which was a shame. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdeaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your overall stay and found the rooms quiet and comfortable. I have addressed the communication concerns you had with the breakfast buffet service to ensure we are better across this moving forward.
We do look forward to being able to welcome you back soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Really easy to get here using the airport sky bus and then just a short walk to the hotel. It's within walking distance to Flinders Square, the harbor, city shopping, Queen Victoria Market, and bus stop for the free city tour bus. We stayed 4 nights in a small but quiet room that met all our needs. After a full day of touring, we were too tired to go back out for dinner, so took advantage of the happy hour appetizers one night and ordered a pizza from the bar another night. We also bought fruit and snacks at the little grocery store half a block away. The hotel staff was very polite and helpful in arranging a wine tour for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Great feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel which the Team really appreciated. It was good to hear you enjoyed our great meal selections we have on offer in the Alexander Bar.
Look forward to seeing you again soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#62 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,063 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Property: Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Address: 630 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing